Journeying on – a prayer for a very heavy heart

So many things have been happening in my life lately, monumental, life-altering things bear down hard. This morning’s prayer from The Valley of Vision rained living water. This prayer is entitled Journeying On.

Lord of the cloud and fire,

I am a stranger, with a stranger’s indifference;

My hands hold a pilgrim’s staff, My march is Zionward,

My eyes are toward the coming of the Lord,

My heart is in thy hands without reserve.

Thou hast created it,

redeemed it,

renewed it,

captured it,

conquered it.

Keep from it every opposing foe,

crush in it every rebel lust,

mortif;y every treacherous passion,

annihilate every earthborn desire.

All faculties of my being vibrate to they touch;

I love thee with soul, mind, body, strength,

might, spirit, affection, will,

desire, intellect, understanding.

Thou art the very perfection of all perfections;

All intellect derived from thee;

My scanty rivulets flow from they unfathomable fountain.

Compared with thee the sun is darkness,

all beauty deformity,

all wisdom folly,

the best goodness faulty.

Thou art worthy of an adoration greater than my dull heart can yield;

Invigorate my love that it may rise worthily to thee,

tightly entwine itself round thee,

be allured by thee.

Then shall my walk be endless praise.

6 comments on “Journeying on – a prayer for a very heavy heart

  1. Oh, Dawn! Though I don’t know what or who or how, somehow, I know I’ve been there —- the place where the heart is heavier than we have ever known. I love that book of prayers so much, and this one is dog-eared. I always sigh a little to thing that all of . . . . that. . . comes before the “walk of endless praise.” I used to have a very primitive type, handpainted sign hanging on my wall that said, “For this, I have Jesus.” I don’t know what happened to it. But please know, no matter what it is that is weighing you down, you have HIM for even this. I’m praying for you, friend!

  2. Cora, your “For this, I have Jesus…” is timely
    Dawn, you are such an encouragement in your dark hours… they are actually full of light … and grace.
    May you sense the blessed presence of Jesus who is always with us.
    My friend shared a thought I always remember when I am heavy hearted or afraid; If something bothers us then we have taken our eyes off Jesus and are looking directly at our fear,or worry or burden. We need only turn around, away from the things ‘that bear down hard on us’, and look into the face of Jesus, set our gaze directly on Him, take His embrace that is awaiting us. He is always there!
    Dawn thank you for sharing that beautiful prayer verse…
    then shall my walk be endless praise !

  3. Dear Dawn:

    While praying for you, this scripture came to mind:

    “O my God, my soul is cast down within me; therefore I will remember You from the land of the Jordan, and from the heights of Hermon, from the Hill Mizar.
    Deep calls unto deep at the noise of Your waterfalls, all Your waves and billows have gone over me.
    The LORD will command His lovingkindness in the daytime, and in the night His song will be with me – a prayer to the God of my life. Psalm 42:6-8 NKJV

    I also would like to share the same passage from The Message version:

    When my soul is in the dumps, I rehearse everything I know of You.
    From Jordan depths to Herman heights, including Mount Mizar.
    Chaos calls to chaos, to the tune of whitewater rapids.
    Your breaking surf, your thundering breakers crash and crush me.
    Then God promises to love me all day, sing songs all through the night!
    My life is God’s prayer.

    I pray this ministers to you, dear friend, as I entrust you and all that concerns you, into the Savior’s good hands.

  4. Dawn, praying for you, too. My words are shallow but my heart is deep with prayerful love and concern for you, precious one of His that you are!

  5. Who was more misunderstood than Jesus? He llved unabashedly for the good of others and that brought out that old devil, jealousy and with it came the wrath of His distractors who were threatened by His goodness. He took the sides of those who didn’t fit and, joining them, made Himself an outcast.

    He was cast out of the circles where those who have it all gather. His was not the right pedigree, the right social status, the right privilege. Right people uncover what the rewarders want and they give it to them, rightly or wrongly. Ah! No matter, for this I have Jesus. I will turn away from the world’s right people when they are not Jesus right, when their total life is an investment in self and survival of self. If I would be like Jesus, I must focus on Jesus. I must rehearse everything I know of Him because He IS good.

    Cora, Susan, Andrea Dawn and A.,

    I take these words of yours as rehma. Thank you for meeting me at the Throne of Grace.

    Dawn

  6. Andrea Dawn…Thank you for those verses dear friend!
    The Lord will command His Lovingkindness,,,He promises to love me all day long…
    In the night, His song will be with me…
    How I needed that as my heart is full with the burdens of many and the load needs to be lifted to His shoulders that I might find rest this night.
    Thank you my friend

Leave a Reply

