Different – not Less

Temple Grandin HBO DVD

I am still awe-struck after watching the HBO movie “Temple Grandin” last evening at home. It is the true story of an autistic woman who became the “Voice of Autism” in the 1980’s.  She was most certainly different from all the other children growing up, but as her science teacher at boarding school said, “Different – not less.” Oh, how I needed to be reminded of this truth.

Thomas a Kempis once said, “Be not angry that you cannot make others as you wish them to be, since you cannot make yourself as you wish to be.” That is so very true. Only Jesus can transform. We simply need to hear His call and obey (become like putty in the potter’s hand). The way I am listening to Him this year that is new to me is through Scripture memorization. I am a part of Colossians in a Year which has a support group on Facebook if you are interested in joining in. This morning I said all 6 opening verses of the book of Colossians to my husband after breakfast. It has taken all 21 of the days of January to accomplish this, but the verses are in my mind now for instant recall.

I am finding out that as I dwell in Scripture I am a whole lot less judgmental. God is so big and His mercy so far beyond what I can even imagine, that for me to even think I can know what is going on with another is laughable. Seeing Temple Grandin really brought that home to me. So many laughed at her and pointed at her improprieties throughout the movie. It made me cringe to realize that I would have been one of them, and it might have been my cringe or my point that would have kept Temple from getting her PhD in animal behavior.  I want new eyes; I want His eyes to be my eyes. I’m sure the view would be quite different if I could allow Him to make the transformation. People around me would still be different, but they would not be deemed less… if only my vision in the Spirit were 20-20.

Dawn

Leave a Reply

