Crying Inside

I spent most of the morning with the kind of sore throat you get when you want to cry, but are trying to hold it back. It worsened as I tried to keep my voice from quivering while talking on the phone. Why so sad, you may ask? There are unethical things at my work; there is tragedy in Japan, Lybia, the Sudan, Haiti; one of my dogs is vomiting; and my husband is moving our daughter away. I could list many other sadnesses, but we all have a story to tell.

I was also caught off-guard this morning when I read the new verses  I am memorizing with the Colossians in a Year group on Facebook. The words  of Colossians 1: 21-22 made tears well up inside me, but they weren’t tears of sadness.

Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behavior. But now He has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in His sight, without blemish and free from accusation-

I am without blemish and free from accusation, not because I worked hard or tried to be good or lived in a bubble, but because HE RECONCILED ME. Tears were streaming down my face in gratitude…too many to hold back. Oh, the deepness and genuineness of my Savior’s love.

I think it rather peculiar that the body gives off tears for both extreme sadness and extreme joy. It’s only noon and I have stretched the borders of my emotions and I am thankful in both extremes.

#45 UMCOR – my church’s committee on relief who are in Japan, Haiti,     Sudan, Lybia…wherever people are hurting

#46 Amy, my veterinarian

#47 Abby, my daughter, who is finding her way with that determined spirit of hers

#48 friends who listen and guide

#49 my sister, Debby, who feels my pain with me because she’s lived her own

#50 the Scriptures

#51 for Ann and Craig who challenge me every day by their writing

#52 for thoughtful coworkers

#53 for basic necessities like water, food, shelter and warmth

May the Lord bless you wherever you are,

Dawn

Leave a Reply

