Programmed for Heaven

Yesterday my husband’s mother went to the emergency room for the third time in two weeks. When my husband met her there, she told him she was tired and just wanted this “all to be over.” When asked by the doctor what she wanted him to put on the chart for resuscitation measures, to my husband’s surprise she said, “I want everything possible done.” I wondered why.

When we got home from the hospital, I said to my husband. If there is ever a choice to treat me or not to treat me should my life be slipping away, I want you to know that you can let me go. I am really ready to enter the next life. I have done all I want to do here and I am looking forward to heaven. This morning during our devotions, we were reading of the burial of Jesus and how the women were waiting to anoint Jesus’ body after He was laid in the tomb. I felt like I was there. I would have wanted to be among the ones who prepared the body. He suffered so greatly for me, but, mostly (having the beauty of 20-20 hindsight) I wanted to be there when He arose. Colossians reads, “he was the firstborn from the dead so that in all things He might have the supremacy.” Doesn’t that make you want to SHOUT! Glory!

Mark Buchanan in his wonderful book Spiritual Rhythm says we were made with heaven in our hearts. He says we are restless

My Reading "Pile"

for heaven. “God stuck a homing device right in the middle of you, so that every pulse triggers it…he left a gaping hole inside you that only He can fill, and only fully when you see Him face-to-face.” “[Some] actually think a new spouse or house or SUV or month-long cruise will subdue this deep restlessness, when only God, face-to-face, can do that.” Ah, yes! I understand that completely, and I also understand that we can’t fully be with God this side of heaven. For a rich treatise on why this is so, go to Craig’s blog of yesterday at http://www.deepintolove.com. It is very insightful and right in line with the thoughts of some forward thinking physicists’ ideas on antimatter and matter that I am reading in little bites as I have the time.

As I was downloading the last picture for this blog the phone rang. It seems that the doctors at the hospital want to put a pacemaker in Mother’s heart. I think I need to leave cyberspace and prepare for  re-entry into earth’s atmosphere.

Live today to bring Him glory. I hope to,

Dawn

6 comments on “Programmed for Heaven

  1. Sometimes, earth’s atmosphere gets tedious but with your roots, you SHALL overcome.
    THANK YOU for your vision of being at the tomb. I had never looked at the death and burial of my Lord in just that way and OF COURSE being at the tomb would be the only (apparently) comfort there was. I see all of Waiting Saturday and daybreak Sunday in a completely different light. You are a blessing! Prayers for mom-in-law.

  2. Lovely Loving Liz,

    I used to think burying people and having a memorial head stone in a cemetery was pointless. I mean, really, the person isn’t there, don’t ya know? THEN I lost my dad and I found myself going to his headstone over and over and over. I knew I could talk to him anywhere, but somehow, at the cemetery, by his stone, by his body, I felt closer to him. “Isn’t that odd?” I thought. Intellectually, I knew better, but emotionally I connected better…at the tomb. Perhaps that is why I thought I’d like to be with the women at Jesus’ tomb on Waiting Saturday through daybreak Sunday? Hmmm. You know, you bless me right back.

    Thanks for your continuing walk by my side,
    Dawn

  3. I prayed for you hubs’ mom – and for you – and reading matter and anti matter books – theoretical physics? That’ll make your head spin. No? Thank you for mentioning me – God bless.

  4. Your prayers may have made the difference yesterday, Craig. Russ’ mother coded during the insertion of the pacemaker, but she was brought back. It was a rough evening in the intensive care unit, but she’s off the ventilator now so I think she’s recovering. My husband’s brother is coming today. I think that will be very helpful. Fraternal agreement on the issues at hand will lighten the load considerably.

    Being on the other side in the hospital setting is always enlightening. I will take what I learned with me if I get called in to work this evening.
    “Just remember, Dawn, family
    are not furniture. Acknowledge them. Find out who they are. Include them in your conversation. Oh, and while I am at it, may I remind you, Nurse Dawn, that the patient is not an extension of the ventilator, attend to the non-verbals!” Sometimes I think nurses find this more difficult than theoretical physics.

    Thanks for your prayers to the Great Physician who always listens,
    Dawn

  5. Your mom-in-law…the struggles of twilight years. Prayers for her, then. I can’t imagine what it is like to know one is nearer to the exit, though none of us knows the number of our days for sure.

    So true that only God can fill those deep places that get restless. Sometimes it takes me a while to realize what my true need is in a situation.

  6. A.,

    Once again you have put into one sentence the point of it all–to recognize our need in the situation (What is making us restless?). What is it that God would have ME learn here? The situation may look like it’s critical for this person, but He knows all the players, so what is MY part? Is there a lesson for ME here? I think if I’d attend more to my own weaknesses that surface during life’s situations, I’d have less time to judge. Hmmm, that really is something to ponder.

    Thank you, A., and God bless you,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

