Easter People Boot Camp – Preparing to be the Church

My husband and I are plodding, yes, plodding, through Leviticus. It seems like such a chore at times: all those rules and commands and threats for disobedience. It seems so “not necessary” but we’ve kept on and today something happened. I was reading Leviticus 22:14 (NLT) “Anyone who eats the sacred offerings without realizing it must pay the priest for the amount eaten, plus an added penalty of 20 percent.” I looked up from my Bible and said to my husband, who was sitting across the breakfast table from me holding our shih-tzu, “Today, I’d simply tell the priest that ‘My Father has qualified me to share in the inheritance with His holy people in the kingdom of light. (Col. 1:12)’ and maybe I’d leave a free-will offering to keep the church going, but I would not pay a penalty. That’s been paid.

I’ve been memorizing the book of Colossians with the Colossians in a Year group on Facebook. The verse from Colossians 1:12 just “came to me” as the Old Testament law was meting out its punishment for a transgression. Jesus took on that punishment for me. I can give Satan the snub sign because of Calvary. He qualified me.

BUT not only that, there is the promise Jesus gave before He was crucified that “The Counselor, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in My name, will teach you all things and will remind you of everything I have said to you.”(John 14:26) and “When you are brought before synagogues, rulers and authorities do not worry about how you will defend yourselves or what you will say, for the Holy Spirit will teach you at that time what you should say.” (Luke 12:12) As I am going about my everyday life, God’s answers to the oppression of sin just come flowing out. He is the fulfillment of the law and it is VERY clear because I am being instructed by the Holy Spirit.

Ann Voskamp writes about this very thing in her blog today. That now, post-Easter till the Ascension of our Lord, is an incredible time. The disciples only had Jesus 40 more days. It was a time of intense instruction, discipleship and focus. It was Easter People Boot Camp!

I’m in for eternity,
Dawn

6 comments on “Easter People Boot Camp – Preparing to be the Church

  1. Loved your post today. It took me back to childhood when we did the old Scripture Press Sunday School lessons. Genesis and Exodus were ok as a child, but Leviticus and Numbers were near impossible to get through. Every week was a struggle to do those fill-in-the-blank answers. And now I even wonder how a teacher could teach us unruly, bored kids these things. I loved your ah-ha moment, linking Colossians to this. The song, “Jesus Paid it all” was going through my mind at the same time. Boot camp. I’m in for the long haul, too. I only wish I had started much, much sooner!

  2. Oh my goodness, Cora, Scripture Press fill-in-the-blank Sunday School lessons… I thought I dreamed about those. You are living proof that they actually existed. I’m laughing out loud! Just think about passing something like that out today to a room full of kids. They wouldn’t know what to do with it because it isn’t on a hand-held computer screen.

    “Jesus Paid It All” would have been a good title for this post. Yes, He did. Thanks for sharing your thoughts as you read this. I think of you every time I say the parts of Colossians 1 that speak of “the glorious riches of this mystery” and “the mystery kept hidden for ages and generations” because of the title of your blog.

    God’s richest blessings on you, Cora,
    Dawn

  3. Dawn, I would love to know what Jesus shared with them during those last 40 days! For that matter, I would love to know what He shared with them all the times His interactions weren’t recorded…and not just the words, but the tone, the body language, everything. What, on earth, was He like? I take some of my cues now from movies about Jesus, in addition to the bible, and what others have written, but to have walked with Him in person…wow.

  4. A.,

    That is the question of questions…What was He like? I wonder what people picture when they think of Christ in their minds. Is He very similar in all our minds or very different? That would make a great research study, We certainly know a lot about how He dealt with problems, treated His familly, his love life or not, and who He associated with socially. Yet, I think we all have differing ideas as to what that looks like for us. For example, some Christians are pacifists, some just war advocates and some do not make their faith a part of political decisions at all (render unto Cesar….). You know, that would be quite an exercise for each of us–writing out what we think Jesus was like.

    I think Jesus’ most impressive words to the disciples came during these 40 days after the resurrection because all of them then KNEW He was the Christ. He had risen from the dead. I think that caught their attention. It empowered them. Peter, the disciple who denied Him before Calvary, was crucified upside-down because He believed He was not worthy to be crucified in the same way His Lord was crucified. This brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it.

    What, on earth, was He like? What was God, the man, like?
    Something to ponder today and every day,
    Dawn

  5. “Today, I’d simply tell the priest that ‘My Father has qualified me to share in the inheritance with His holy people in the kingdom of light. (Col. 1:12)’ and maybe I’d leave a free-will offering to keep the church going, but I would not pay a penalty. That’s been paid.

    loved this!!!!
    and I’m in for eternity too

Leave a Reply

