Two little birds showed me

This morning I was out running the dogs and I saw many birds in flight. There were a pair of birds, however, that stood out above the others and I began to watch them exclusively. They spun and swirled and glided and swooped together in what looked like choreographed flight. It was like watching a highly competitive dance competition. They imitated one another perfectly and stayed in sync with one another flawlessly. I was captivated by these two small yellow finches in the wild! As I walked along the trail with my dogs, trying to get my scripture memory verses in my mind, I was thinking how I would like to follow Jesus the same way these birds followed one another. I would like to know Him so well that His next move would be mine. This is one of the reasons I joined the Colossians in a Year Bible memorization group on Facebook. If I can know Him in such a way that I begin to move like Him perhaps others will be drawn to Him and get to know Him, too. This is my prayer as I begin the weekend.

Moving in His grace, DawnTwo Birds

4 comments on “Two little birds showed me

    • I went back through about a year’s worth of your poems and by doing so got little glimpses into your life. It was a wonderful adventure. I also selected a poem for my daughter’s birthday card. I used it as a template to create a card inscription suited just for her. I will send you a picture of what I have done via your e-mail.

      I really am not fond of many poems, but I LOVE all of yours. You speak right to me as if we were across a kitchen table sipping tea together. Thanks for your support of my blog. I consider it an honor that you pass by here.

      The Lord bless you and keep you, (I know he does)
      Dawn

  1. I couldn’t help but think of Phil 3:10: [For my determined purpose is] that I may know Him [that I may progressively become more deeply and intimately acquainted with Him, perceiving and recognizing and understanding the wonders of His Person more strongly and more clearly], and that I may in that same way come to know the power outflowing from His resurrection [[a]which it exerts over believers], and that I may so share His sufferings as to be continually transformed [in spirit into His likeness even] to His death, [in the hope]

    A little lengthy, but the Amplified Version really brings out the power of what it really means to know Him.

    I love the example you used of two birds who have learned the choreography so perfectly and just “know” the other’s moves and move with it. After today, I will have a whole new appreciation for dance. . . and for birds who know their partners so well. My prayer is to learn these skills, too. Thank you, Dawn!

    • One of my favorite verses in all of Scripture is Phil. 3:10 and I cherish the Amplified Bible. It brings out the richness of each phrase. Thank you for taking the time to type this all out. What a blessing it is. I must work at the hospital beginning at 3 pm. This is my send-off. Hallelujah!

      Oh, and about the “appreciation of dance”…my second son is an excellent dancer. When he is your partner, you don’t even have to know how to dance he just “brings you along”. I want to be like that with Jesus, allow Him to completely lead. After all, I don’t really know what I am doing!

      God bless you, Cora,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

