Scripture and a Snapshot – Week #1

Study to be quiet... I Thess 4:11

4 comments on “Scripture and a Snapshot – Week #1

  1. Thank you, Dawn. One entire year the only thing I felt I ‘heard’ from God was ‘Be still and know that I am God.” It was the year my health crashed-the first time-and I had to stop my job, and things were serious in several respects. There is power and rejuvenation in His stillness.

  2. A.,

    Sometimes the only way He can get us to be still is to make us be still. Some of the greatest prayer warriors and intercessors I know are very ill physically. I don’t want to say God makes us ill, but He can use our frailness to bring us to Him. I’m not sure what I’m saying, but I agree with you “There is power and rejuvenation in His stillness.” I’m just about to go run my dogs in the stillness of the morning. I memorize my Scripture then. It is a powerful time: nature, the Word and my muttlies!

    Thanks for your presence here, A.,
    Dawn

  3. Stillness! I’m still trying to figure out how to do that. I seem to have this kind of thought process thing that just never stops. People have told me many times that they just “turn off” their thoughts. I don’t know how to do that. It’s like a faucet that is always on full force. It makes me fully aware of the need for stillness and to listen for His voice. Memorizing Scripture is such a good way to focus and to hear Him and nothing else. I trust your run today was a powerful one!

  4. Cora,

    This was one of the more powerful times I’ve had in my morning stillness. The verse in Colossians 2 I am working on says, 16 Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink, or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day. 17 These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ.

    You know, Cora, how we are finding all over the web people struggling with negative voices and
    feelings of insufficiency. This verse just leaped out at me that when people judge us by the things mentioned in verse 16: what you are eating and drinking (in modern terms, your weight/beauty/sveltness), religious festivals (what you do for recreation), New Moon celebrations (your worldview) and Sabbath day (what kind of Christian you are) they are grasping at shadows. The only one whose judgement is important is Christ. He is the one who tells you who you are, based on what you decide about Him for your life. Others cannot see past the shadows.

    My rally cry for today: “Reality…is found in Christ.” I think I will post this tomorrow with Ann’s list of who Christ is to each and every one of us.

    Love you, my quilting friend,
    Dawn

    PS Turning the voices off seems to be very difficult for some. I think some of it is neurophysiological. My sister had the same experience you are describing. She takes a medication so she can shut down at night. We are very complicated creations. Some of us need medicinals and some of us, like Craig, have no answers yet.

Leave a Reply

