Reality…is found in Christ

16 Therefore do not let anyone judge you by what you eat or drink, or with regard to a religious festival, a New Moon celebration or a Sabbath day. 17 These are a shadow of the things that were to come; the reality, however, is found in Christ.

These verses from Colossians 2 are so needed today. What is right? What is wrong? Who can be trusted? What is the standard by which I am judged? I was over at (in)courage this week where Ann Voskamp asked people to share a lie that they confront and their response to that lie.

Hundreds of women responded about how inadequate they felt. How they hated their bodies and bemoaned the fact that no man would ever want them. They talked about their weight, their attitudes, their cutting tongues and their lack of ______ (fill in the blank). My heart ached for these Christian women. My memory verses from Colossians tell me that reality is found in Christ! What does He say? Ann Voskamp made a list so perfect that I am just going to lift it and put it here, in case you missed it over at (in)courage:

When the lies hiss loud — I come back to this, steep again in this:

Who I am in Christ

Because you are in Christ, every one of these statements is true of you.

I am loved 1John 3:3

I am accepted Ephesians 1:6

I am a child of God John 1:12

I am Jesus’ friend John 15:14

I am a joint heir with Jesus, sharing His inheritance with Him Romans 8:17

I am united with God and one spirit with Him 1Corinthians 6:17

I am a temple of God. His spirit and his life live in me 1 Corinthians 6:19

I am a member of Christ’s body. 1 Corinthians 12:27

I am a Saint Ephesians 1:1

I am redeemed and forgiven Colossians 1:14

I am complete in Jesus Christ Colossians 2:10

I am free from condemnation Romans 8:1

I am a new creation because I am in Christ 2Corinthians 5:17

I am chosen of God, holy and dearly loved Colossians 3:12

I am established, anointed, and sealed by God 2Corinthians 1:21

I do not have a spirit of fear, but of love, power, and a sound mind 2Timothy 1:7

I am God’s co-worker 2Corinthians 6:1

I am seated in heavenly places with Christ Eph 2:6

I have direct access to God Ephesians 2:18

I am chosen to bear fruit John 15:16

I am one of God’s living stones, being built up in Christ as a spiritual house 1 Peter 2:5

I have been given exceedingly great and precious promises by God by which I share His nature 2 Peter 1:4

I can always know the presence of God because He never leaves me Hebrews 13:5

God works in me to help me do the things He wants me to do Philippians 2:13

I can ask God for wisdom and He will give me what I need James 1:5

——–http://www.incourage.me/2011/06/when-you-take-the-scraps-of-lies-make-a-truth-quilt.html

I pray you get alone with Him, away from everything that would distract so that you can hear His evaluation. You will be amazed at who you are in Him. I praise Him for the freedom He gives me as a gift. I did not earn it. He gave it to me. I just needed to pick it up. Perhaps you need to pick yours up, too, or, at least, locate it again.

Have a blessed weekend,

Dawn

4 comments on “Reality…is found in Christ

    • Dear Andrea,

      Thanks so much for leaving your comment that you appreciated this. I think it is so needed in our worlds of stress. He is our strength and our refuge, our lover and redeemer.

      All is grace,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

