Incandescent light bulbs and slavery: The right of ownership

So today South Carolina vows to produce their own  incandescent light bulbs for their own South Carolina citizenry because the federal government made said light bulbs illegal as of January 2012 beginning with the 100 watt-version. When I read that headline in my online news, I thought, “How ironic!” Old South Carolina is seceding from the Union, in a sense, over light bulbs! This is the same South Carolina that 150 years ago lead the succession of the southern states over the issue of slavery. They are the ones who shot the first shots that began the Civil War.  On April 12, 1861, the battle of Fort Sumter (South Carolina) marked the beginning of the bloodiest war our nation has ever known.

The Incandescent Light Bulb Freedom Act, which unanimously passed South Carolina’s Senate panel, would allow South Carolina manufacturers to continue to sell incandescent bulbs so long as they have “Made in South Carolina” on them and are sold only within the state. It’s really not about the light bulbs, says Rep. Bill Sandifer of Seneca, S.C., it is a matter of rights. The same logic was used on December 20th, 1860, when South Carolina held a secession convention in Charleston. The debate was quick and short. Representatives voted unanimously, 169 to 0 for secession. The Federal government had no right to tell a state whether they could or could not have slaves. The South could see the “handwriting on the wall” when Abraham Lincoln, a clear abolitionist, was elected president 5 months earlier.

Speaking of the presidents. I find it ironic that the presidents at the time of both of these events that are objectionable to the South Carolineans, have almost identical credentials and they come from the same state!!!  Lawyer Abraham Lincoln served 8 years in the Illinois legislature and one term in the U.S. House. Lawyer Barack Obama served 8 years in the Illinois state Senate and nearly four years in the U.S. Senate. I think that is uncanny, and a bit foreshadow-y, too. Obama clearly identifies Lincoln as one of his heroes. He had a bust of Lincoln set in the Oval Office to take the place of a bust of Churchill that had been on loan to President Bush. So, I wonder just how messy this “war” of the light bulbs is going to get…

My hope is in the Lord who made heaven and earth,

Dawn

5 comments on “Incandescent light bulbs and slavery: The right of ownership

  1. Dawn, my sister has been so irritated over the whole light bulb thing that she has been stocking up for months now. I think she has enough light bulbs to last her 100 years!!!!! I need to stock up on the little lights, as most of my lighting is done with those little 40 watt bulbs. I can’t imagine how horrible it would look with those little culy-kew lights!!!! And I definitely don’t like the new laws being formulated with the fees and “how to’s” of how to get rid of the new bulbs. Leave it to South Carolina! Isn’t that where everyone goes for the cheapest of cigarettes, too????

    Candles! Maybe we all need to be like Abe Lincoln and go back to reading by candlelight!

    • Dear Cora and A.,

      I converted to those little curley lights over a year ago. My husband did the whole house room by room. We did it because we could afford it and it was “supposedly” cost-effective and environmentally friendly. I have no problem with the lights. My issue is being forced to do something, limiting my freedom of choice. Just like I dislike that my employer is legally supported to require all new employees not smoke. Although I am opposed to smoking, I dislike the discrimination. Next it will be that I have to not be a Christian! I liked being able to juxtapose the common light bulb with the whole issue of slavery because that makes people have to really think about how passionately they believe in freedom of choice. Of course, we are a democracy and some things will be left up to a vote, but light bulbs, really? Proponents will say it’s not about the light bulb, but it’s about the whole energy issue. I’d say, “OK, but how can the light bulbs’ biggest proponent have a personal home that takes as much energy to run as a factory at full production?!”

      Anyway, I used to be a big Lincoln fan, and I guess I still am in principle, but the fact that he did many things that were unconstitutional to get what he wanted bothers me. Now we have another president using the same tactics. Anyway, as I was thinking about all this I was seeing more and more similarities so I began to investigate. The more I googled, the more came to the surface. It was fascinating to uncover all this. Thanks for the comments of appreciation.

      Love you, My Friends,
      Dawn

  2. Oh dear! I love incandescent bulbs and had no idea they were nearly illegal. I had heard something once about them being phased out but illegal?! I need to go stock up on the odd little lights, too. That is uncanny about the likeness of the terms for Presidents Lincoln and Obama. Dawn, you ferret out the most interesting information and weave it so well into your lessons or thoughts for us!

  3. Hey man I just needed to say thanks for taking the time to create something really worth my time to examine. I am all over the net and I see so significantly pointless material that is just written for your sake of placing one thing new on their page. It takes devotion to make excellent stuff, thanks for caring.

    • Dear Joshua,

      I believe in freedom. I do not have any incandescent lights in my home anymore, but that was my choice. I think others should have theirs. I feel like a dinosaur that will soon be extinct with all the progressive politics and Islamo-fascism in the world. As long as I can speak or write, I will.

      Thanks for reading,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

