Judges reminds me to be thankful

Today, while reading Judges 2, I was reminded of many things. As the memories continue to come into my consciousness, I give thanks on this Multitudes on Mondays:

#237 that I have been given life long enough to see the next generation of my family follow Jesus. For Joshua said that when the generation died that had not seen the mighty things that the Lord had done, the Israelites began to do that which was evil in His sight.

#238 that some of the saints who mentored my husband and I in the early days of ministry are still around and we hear the old stories and know of hearts sold out for God for a lifetime.

#239 for great leaders. I don’t know many these days. It seems we are perishing for lack of leadership, but I have known some and I pray that God is raising some up as I type this. When the people of Israel began to fall away from God, He appointed judges throughout the land to guide the people.

My husband and Mickey reading the Bible

#240 for a husband who knows the Lord and helps me see what I cannot see/understand on my own. He is my true love. He has been a great example of a husband to our two sons, too. My older son just posted this on Facebook to his wife of 16 years:

#241 that all the hardships I am having at work are a refining fire and that I am seeing the Lord’s hand at work in the midst of the fire. 

#242 that the Lord is knitting me together with great servants of the Lord in these times of uncertainty in the world. Knowing such people in real time, cyberspace and through memory, I am able to run with faith the race that God has set before me.

#243 that even though there are terrorists plotting the murder of all I hold dear, He is my hope, my husband’s hope, my children’s hope and my grandchilden’s hope. We are living so that others may come to know that hope, too. This week we talked to many about the great mystery of God, “Christ in you, the hope of glory.” Colossians 1:27. As Andrea Dawn so aptly quoted on her new blogsite http://theartoflifeistogetthemessage.blogspot.com/2011/08/sometimes-with-words.html

We are called to be witnesses,
always with our lives,
and sometimes with words,
to the great things God has done for us
~  Henri J. M. Nouwen
Hoping with the faithful,
Dawn
8 comments on “Judges reminds me to be thankful

  1. Such great reasons to be thankful, Dawn. “Happy is he who has the God of Jacob for his help, whose hope is in the LORD his God.” Psam 1446:5
    Just yesterday I was at youtube and watched Andrew Peterson’s “Silence of God” clip . . . beautiful. I was intrigued by the titles of his other clips, especially “Dancing in the Mine Fields” but didn’t have time to watch it then. And here you have posted it and I have listened and been blessed.

    P.S. Thanks for the mention, dear lady.

    • Dear Andrea Dawn,

      The scripture you placed here for me is perfect: from “the God of Jacob” right through to “hope is in the Lord his God”. Only you could do this! I am glad I could bless you with the video. I loved it, almost as much as the quote from Henri Nouwen. Great exchange!

      Be blessed today,
      Dawn

      PS You’re welcome!

  2. I’m over from Ann’s place today. So good…this sharing the grace-filled life together…always more counting. I loved how your son posted the AP video for his wife. It’s one of my favorites. And I loved your theme of “from generation to generation.” Oh, He’s blessed us so much….that He might just give those blessings to our children after us and He’s promised to do it! May the Lord graciously raise up another godly generation of those who love Him and keep His commandments!

    • I wish I’d have had the gereration worldview when I was much younger, but God used what I was able to give Him anyway considering my limited vision. Talk about planting a mustard seed…

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Kindness surround you,
      Dawn

  3. You words are wise and healing today, Dawn…. but somehow the heart of this old woman reader sees a certain hope that all is not lost as I gaze as the photo of your husband reading God’s word, wearing a tie. I feel a reverance, a peace, a sureness and I smile.

  4. I also loved this picture of your husband… He has such a gentle calming ‘youthfulness’ about him. I loved the whole setting and have a tremendous feeling that I know him from my own youth…I will be thinking long and hard about who he reminds me of and then will lift a prayer for them both…
    And My dear friend, Andrea Dawn… I love that we can visit here together!
    Heaven will be a place of such fullness!
    Thank you for all that you all share… sleep will come peacefully tonight… my burdens are lifted, and I know in whom I have believed…

  5. Susan,

    I love your stories from South Africa. I can just imagine all the words and pictures to come!

    I married my husband because he is the funniest man I know, but it is a dry sense of humor that sometimes people misunderstand. He has a super tender heart. That surprises most people who don’t know him well. He is a mysterious treasure.

    Good night from across the world,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

