Little faith

“Go into town and you will see a man carrying a pitcher. Follow that man into the house he enters and ask the owner of the house to show you his guest room where the Teacher may eat the Passover with His disciples.” A man carrying a watering jar would stand out even in a city the size of Jerusalem for the job of carrying water from the pool of Siloam into the city was the work of women. Peter and John went and…found things just as Jesus had told them.

A week before this, two disciples (perhaps the same two, Peter and John) had been sent into the city for an untamed colt to be used for the triumphal entry into Jerusalem. I initially thought that perhaps they might be getting used to the premonitions and authority of their Master because they seemed to simply do what He said. After all, He was always right — 100% of the time! Even when it didn’t make sense. But then Passion Week began to intensify.

After the Passover meal, Jesus went to the Mount of Olives to pray for release from what He knew was to come next, His death on the cross. I wonder why the disciples weren’t more passionate about this. Jesus had just spent the whole evening telling them what was going to happen. Why did they sleep instead of pray? Why did they try to fight those who arrested Him? Why did they disbelieve the women when they said they saw Him alive again that Sunday morning?

I began to ask myself if I only have faith for “little things”. Sure I will pray for God to heal me of a cold, but if I have leukemia, no way. It seems that the disciples had faith for an errand, but not for the event that would bring salvation to the world. Or could it be that I have faith for comfortable events (like a meal with the Master), but I won’t be there for the crucifixion, thank you very much! I really do wonder if I have the staying power.

A short story from Corrie ten Boom who endured the concentration camps of Nazi Germany when she was about my age helped me with this story from her wise father.

“When I was a little girl, ” I said, “I went to my father and said, “Daddy, I am afraid that I will never be strong enough to be a martyr for Jesus Christ.”

“Tell me,” said Father, “When you take a train trip to Amsterdam, when do I give you the money for the ticket? Three weeks before?”

“No, Daddy, you give me the money for the ticket just before we get on the train.”

“That is right,” my father said, “and so it is with God’s strength. Our Father in Heaven knows when you will need the strength to be a martyr for Jesus Christ. He will supply all you need—just in time…”
Corrie ten Boom – from a letter she wrote in 1974

Because I am surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, I am headed for the ticket counter,

Dawn

3 comments on “Little faith

  1. Love the Corrie ten Boom story. It quite fits with where I am at right now. I have been without work for some time as I wait for knee replacement surgery and have been consistently amazed at God’s provision . . . just when I need it.

  2. Andrea Dawn,

    This little story from Corrie ten Boom’s rich life has been such an encouragement to me over the years. I am glad it has meaning for you today.

    God is good,
    Dawn

  3. Dawn this is also one of my favourite accounts from Corrie … I love how you wove it all together. Here in Africa there is ‘so much one could be worried over’… Watching my daughter take it all one day at a time with amazing trust in our Abba Father is a great comfort to my heart. Tonight at the church’s worship team practice, they sang makanaka Jesu… Jesus you are so good… my heart just filled over with a tremendous peace to hear this truth in an African tongue through these precious people….

Leave a Reply

