World Missions, Work and Wal-Mart

York Hospital Patient Tower Entrance, York, Pennsylvania

I usually do not make a point of mentioning what denomination of Christian I am since it doesn’t seem to matter much to me. As long as people are “washed in the blood of the Lamb,” I am not so concerned with their denominational affiliation. HOWEVER, today I am so glad I am a United Methodist in the Susquehanna Conference of the United Methodist Church in Pennsylvania, USA. I am also proud to have been one of the first baccalaureate nursing graduates from York College of Pennsylvania and York Hospital. Here is why I tell you this:

My Alma Mater, York Hospital had 42 hospital beds they were going to scrapbut first they contacted Mission Central in Mechanicsburg, the Susquehanna UM Conference Mission Supply House to see if they knew of any hospitals in the world who needed beds. Mission Central houses many missions, one of them being Project CURE, a non-profit organization that collects donated medical equipment/supplies from this country and ships to 120 countries throughout the developing world.

After verifying that Project CURE was in dire need of beds to complete shipments, this seemed like the perfect opportunity to fulfill that need. The challenge was the abbreviated time-frame constraints, and the fact that these beds needed to be shipped down to the Nashville warehouse to be loaded on ocean-going containers that would head to the nation in need. Greg from Project CURE told Mission Central to go ahead and contact Wal-Mart, and see if they could help. Wal-Mart has partnered with Project CURE and deserves much of the credit for moving collected medical equipment up and down the east coast; free of charge, getting much-needed supplies into Project CURE warehouses to be staged and shipped.

Mission Central called Jon Gaupp at the local Wal-Mart. It was the 4th of July weekend, no less. Well, Jon chuckled as he heard the request but said, “I’ll see what we can do.” Twenty minutes later Jon called back. He had lined up 2 Wal-Mart 53′ semi-trailers that would be in York the following Wednesday at noon. The following Wednesday at noon it became a reality as volunteers from Project CURE helped Mission Central personnel and York Hospital employees load the hospital beds into the Wal-Mart trucks.

Having been on the mission field for short stints, I am well aware of the great need for such supplies. I am also aware that getting supplies to the people can be a challenge with dock workers wanting to be paid to let supplies come in and custom and duty fees making mission supplies very expensive in the long run, not to mention black marketers stealing what they may. I know that my church’s mission supplies are in good hands, however. These people are wise as serpents though they may seem gentle as doves. They know how to get the supplies through, with God’s help.

So today, I want you to know I am a United Methodist Christian who graduated from York College and Hospital and who shops, proudly, at Wal-Mart!

Have a blessed weekend in the Lord,

Dawn

8 comments on “World Missions, Work and Wal-Mart

  1. This is so wonderful Dawn. I am going to have to start shopping at Walmart now too. It seems they get a lot of bad press, but I rarely believe the press on most occasions anyway.
    Have a beautiful weekend.

    • Yes, Danelle, Wal-Mart does get a lot of bad press. They buy cheaply from places in the world where people work for next to nothing and they buy in huge quantities so prices are kept low for their customers. They make these deals with legitimate business people all over the world. If the business people do not do right by their employees is that Wal-Mart’s fault? I guess that is the question everyone has to answer for themselves.

      I know the Walton brothers do what they feel their customers want. They have gone into the organic and sustainable market big time, not because of their commitment to the earth, but because their customers kept asking for it. They have stocked their shelves with the requested food stuffs and have seen them fly off the shelves so they invested more heavily in that market. I’d say the American consumer dictates to Wal-Mart what they must stock to bring them a profit and, thereby, it is the consumer’s moral compass that is uncovered rather than the corporation’s.

      Thanks for allowing me to talk about this, Danelle, because, Wal-Mart does indeed get a lot of bad press and they do a lot of good. They have a lot of business saavy, but they also have a lot of heart. I wanted to show their heart. This reminds me of the movie “You’ve Got Mail” where Tom Hanks’ company is driving Meg Ryan’s little bookstore out of business. It’s business!

      Have a great weekend,
      Dawn

  2. So glad to hear this, Dawn! It’s a shame that the “good things” don’t make the news. You know, I shop Walmart. It’s such a confusing decision sometimes when you know you can save so much money there all the time, and I need to save all I can. Even if it’s just my groceries, it is a big savings. If I go somewhere else, I feel like I’m flushing my dollars away. Not a good feeling at all. I’m sure if every company was checked into carefully, it would be found out that there are “bad” things everywhere. But as you said, who is ultimately responsible???? We are. I want cheap joggers. I want cheap clothing. I want cheap everything. My brother-in-law went back to work after his retirement and chose Walmart. He loves his job, and has seen how much they do that no one knows about. We need to pass on the word!!!!

  3. I needed to hear this…and specifically about Walmart. I know one person who seriously bashes Walmart to me, often, with sinister alarmist theories about the store’s intentions. Was nice to hear a balancing good story about them! I have shopped there several times this week, getting set up with basic basics.

  4. I am so apprecialtive of this post… it shows me all the more how careful we must be not to judge… God looks at the heart and he has shown us the heart in this matter! Praise God and thank you, Dawn for showing us this info on your post. I am sharing it!

  5. Dear Susan,

    I site this post when I read a Wal-Mart-bashing blog and there is a comment section. There are evil people in the world, but we must see the whole picture and then make the decision. Hitler’s daughter thought he was a good man.

Leave a Reply

