Thankful for diamonds

“Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful.” Colossians 3:15

There is just so much to be thankful for this Multitudes on Monday–the diamonds and the coal (diamonds in the rough)–

# 251 I am thankful for this quote that I found after another sleepless night waking up worrying about the management and staffing issues at the hospital where I work.

“Dream is not something you see in sleep. It is something that does not let you sleep.” Awami Bharat

# 252 I dream of a peaceful, healing place where patients can be truly cared for and caregivers care for one another. I am thankful there are others who share my dream and that together  we may forge a solution.

# 252 I am thankful for the incredible diamond in the sky (Venus) that guided me home after work last night. It caused me to remember God was with me and was in control.

# 253 I am thankful that hurricane Irene missed all I hold dear, even though some were directly in its path, they had no damage.

# 254 I am thankful that my grandchildren want to talk to my husband and I on the phone since all 5 of them live about a 4-hour drive away from us. They make us laugh out loud. Yesterday 5-year-old Harry called Pop Pop because he wanted to know what dinosaurs were like and he was sure Pop Pop was old enough to have seen one.

# 255 I am thankful that my husband is so witty. I married him because he is the funniest man I know. He balances my intensity and gives me perspective.

# 256 I am thankful for prayer and the book of Puritan prayers entitled The Valley of Vision. This morning the prayer on page 42 was especially meaningful to me.

Help me to adore thee by lips and life. O that my every breath might be ecstatic praise, my every step delight…

# 257 I was thankful for sparkling diamonds all over the morning grass when I ran the dogs this morning.

# 258 I am thankful for support hose that keep my veins from aching as I stand for 8 – 12 hours at work.

# 259 I am thankful for productive work and for co-workers who are team players.

# 260 I am thankful for this community that challenges me to consciously name what I am thankful for. For every gratitude placed here in this post, I thought of at least 5 more. God is good!

Always,

Dawn

One comment on “Thankful for diamonds

  1. I especially loved the top artwork, and #254 because it is so funny, and # 258 because it is so ‘here and now’ human and true!!

Leave a Reply

