After the flood…”treading on my high places”

This morning the waters are back within their banks. We can sit down beside Jesus as he sits by the water to think and reflect. We are exhausted after days of cleaning and hauling and stripping, but we are not defeated. Outside, the waters have created chaos. Inside, we are treading on our high places. We are solid as a rock and shout with Habakkuk:

17 Though the fig tree should not blossom,

nor fruit be on the vines,

the produce of the olive fail

and the fields yield no food,

the flock be cut off from the fold

and there be no herd in the stalls,

18 yet I will rejoice in the Lord;

I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

19 God, the Lord, is my strength;

he makes my feet like the deer’s;

he makes me tread on my high places.

This is a video of what has happened here the past week. The communities are labelled in the video. For those who will watch: my hometown is Montoursville. I now live 5 miles away in Williamsport. The Slabtown Bridge in the pictures so labelled were right across the road from the house I lived in from 1981 – 1991. My sons spent half their lives fishing off that bridge. It is no more. My  mother lives in Lewisburg. Many friends I work with at the hospital live in the outlying communities named here. Knoebel’s Grove is an amusement park we all go to in the summer. I just bought my new car from Murray’s Auto Sales which you see under water here. Certainly, the flood was no respecter of persons.

This Monday, I am thankful my God makes my feet as a deer’s so I can walk on my high places (Habakkuk 3:19):

#271 for faith that can see beyond what is happening.

#272 for years of experience that tell me rebuilding gives you a fresh perspective and that, quite possibly, what you end up with will be better than what you had before. I had also been through the Agnes flood in 1972 so I knew a lot about flood clean-up to share with my young women friends.

#273 for new opportunities to invest in others’ lives

#274 a listening ear and comforting words

#275 some warms beds to sleep in and food on the table for those who lost both

#276 flood buckets full of cleaning supplies from our church’s Mission Central going out into the communities in Jesus’ name

#277 that people want to start a Bible Study group using Ann Voskamp’s book 1000 Gifts to learn how to be thankful in the hard places

#278 that the dikes held around the city or the devastation would have been much worse

#279 that family matters above all else and that a flood levels the playing field so that we can all refocus

#280 that technology is such that the waters can not touch the “lines” that tie me to my friends in cyberspace.

With the wet and soggy multitudes this Monday,

Dawn

9 comments on “After the flood…”treading on my high places”

  1. Dawn, I watched the video with tears streaming down my face! So, so many people hurting, bewildered, displaced — and all so quickly. I looked at those bridges that once looked like fortressees of steel, cememt and asphalt, now looking like play toys left in the street by some kids. I have been studying the passage of Scripture in Habakkuk that you quoted here. I had always had a narrow view of God’s simple answer to Habakkuk’s question of WHY? God said, “The just shall live by faith.” So many, many sermons on how this showed the “red cord of faith woven into the Old Testament.” But looking at the book as a whole, and what the prophet was asking God, we see that the Most High God, El Elyon, is telling him that no matter what happens, those who believe in HIM live in the faith that HE is in control of all things, and that He is “the God of my salvation.” We may not know the why’s, but we surely know WHO is in control.

    I’m praying for you, Dawn. Praying that in the midst of all this, you will see His hand and that your faith and the faith of those around you will come out of the refiner’s fire purified, strengthened and shining brighter than ever!!!!

    • Dear Cora,

      This whole situaton with the weather takes me back 40 years. I was a young pregnant wife facing the flood waters after Agnes. Now I reach back into those days to help the young families in my neighborhood here. I am also a completely different person facing this storm than the first. I am a lot tough spiritually, but a lot weaker physically. I help differently than I did then. I coordinate much better and have much stronger networks so I know how to get things done for people. I am blessed to be used.

      Thanks for taking a look at the video. I need my prayer warriors engaged with us,
      Dawn

  2. Dawn… your Habbakuk verses we have in song… some of my favourite encouragements from God’s precious Word!
    When I see such devastation like this or earthquakes, tsunamis … I wonder how clean-up or rebuilding is ever possible…
    My heart is with you all.
    Here in Canada we have floods and famine… whole cities burned to the ground…
    Lord Jesus come quickly…
    May all our hearts be ready for you dear Saviour
    We pray for your mercy and grace… may your people, who are called by your Name, humble themselves and pray, seek your face…may we turn from our wicked ways, that you might hear from heaven, forgive our sins… and heal our lands…
    Praise God for deer’s feet in high places… blessings to you dear one

    • Dear Susan,

      Thanks for your prayer right here on the site. I prayed for those you left in South Africa. Their task of building probably never ends and the response must never seem like enough with all the needs. Your daughter must have to set boundaries and stay within them. Reaching out to this one young mother and her son must have clearly been a call of God.

      Seeing victory in the midst of strife and praying for speedy resolutions,
      Dawn

  3. Thank you, Dawn, for sharing the video. It really helps to personalize for me, what you have experienced and continue to deal with. Your thank-you’s are saturated with kingdom perspective and warm my heart.

    “Inside we are treading on our high places” . . . Amen!

    • Dear Andrea Dawn,

      I posted the video for just the reason you mentioned, so your prayers could be spot on. There are lots of big projects that have to be undertaken and we must have God’s wisdom. Right now there is no way for children in the northern counties to get to school unless they are on the bus a couple hours a day each way. This is not acceptable so what is plan B until the road and two bridges are replaced?

      Thinking here,
      Dawn

  4. Dawn, praying here….is there any access to the northern counties? I wonder if

    ‘school’ can be taken to them? Mobile facilities or in churches, etc.,…volunteer or paid teachers, etc.? I realize there are so many issues right now on everyone’s plates. Disaster is so disorienting. Prayer is the place I will start.

    Hugs,
    A.

Leave a Reply

