Colossians teaches me my way with others

Courage is the state or quality of mind or spirit that enables one to face danger, fear, or vicissitudes with self-possession, confidence, and resolution; bravery. To dis-courage is to rob someone of that confidence by expressing disapproval or raising objections. Colossians 3:21 says, Fathers, do not embitter your children, or they will become discouraged.” To embitter is to cause one to look on everything negatively or with cynicism. Cynicism is scornful or jaded negativity, especially a general distrust of the integrity or professed motives of others. Cynics were those in 4th century BC Greece who espoused self-control and individual freedom as bedrocks of virtue and believed that surrender to any external influence was beneath the dignity of man.
Wow! How we parent can really determine a child’s future way of being in the world. Constant complaining and nit-picking sends the message that the child can never do anything right. Through such negativity, they are robbed of gaining confidence in themselves. Hearing us question the motives of others, they are robbed of having confidence in others. If they can’t trust themselves or others, what is there?  Trust, says Erik Erikson, is the foundation of the psychosocial development of a person. Without it, the child is handicapped. In lieu of the basic attributes needed to have courage: self-possession, confidence, and resolution, the child is given fear, self-loathing and doubt.
Colossians 3:21 is a short verse, but it is packed with meaningful advice, which, if taken to heart, could change the world. Today I choose to praise, encourage, trust and forgive.
Thank you, Jesus (and Paul),
Dawn
5 comments on “Colossians teaches me my way with others

  1. The heartbreaking truth is that when fathers (especially) chronically criticize their children, nitpick and complain about their behaviour or their “stupidity” they grow up believing God is like that too. Not too hard to see why young people turn away or totally reject the notion of entering into a relationship with a “heavenly Father”. As parents, it is crucial that we portray the Father in a more accurate fashion . . . displaying patience, compassion, encouragement . . . demonstrating His love, availability, approachability, His desire to just be with us. Oh, how He loves us!

    I was surprised when I arrived here . . . quite the change! Now since I don’t know you “in person”, tell me . . . is this more “you” than the pink bankground with the fancy swirls. I like the shades of blue, kind of brooding and blending . . . I kind of see you in a brooding, pondering state of late, thinking deep thoughts, mining the depths. I have kind of been thinking of doing some revamping also at The Art of Life. Still toying with the idea.

    Feeling inspired,
    Andrea Dawn

    • Dear Andrea Dawn<

      I wanted a blog where the middle was transparent, like you have on both your blogs, so I looked till I found one. I loved the blues and greens here. I know it is dark, but the white text was so inviting… Thanks for leaving a comment. I was a bit nervous that I'd be losing some of my connections. None of my links to other blogs are here so I have lost some pieces. I'm glad that one was not you.

      Bless you, Dear Sister,
      Dawn

  2. Dawn… what a powerful post ! Jesus says, “Be of good courage; I have overcome the world!”
    What more encouragement do we need than that? Praise God !
    I like very much your, Today I choose to praise, encourage, trust, and forgive…
    Today, I choose to do likewise ! Jesus, may we be a blessing to those around us.

  3. Dear Susan,

    Because I made the resolution to praise, encourage, trust and forgive just before I went to the flood disaster trailer to dispense supplies, I was a much better servant as I worked. Some people are really hurting and some volunteers are a bit demeaning so I was glad I was prepared.

    I wonder if some people know how to be courageous. If every time they attempted something or risked something in an effort to make a difference, someone called them “stupid” or “not good enough” or simply ignored them as if they were invisible, would they ever develop the confidence to forge through when the going got really rough? Over time I would think the slightest hint that anyone thought what they were doing was stupid would probably shut them down. Jesus says, “Be courageous.” and leaves it to us to teach them what that means using Him as our example.

    Thanks for being here today,
    Dawn

    • You are absolutely right about people not knowing ‘how’ to be courageous… I believe that is where the Mighty Men of Valour give encouragement… all the Bible giants, David who slew the bears and lions, and of course our Lord Jesus who said that it is the Good shepherd who lays down His life for the sheep…this courage perhaps allows me to undauntedly save my herds from the bear attacks that come weekly, keeps me alert for the cougars and wolves that walk our trails daily… This is just with my goat herding. Then there is the constant danger my daughter is in in South Africa, yet by faith she believes she can save some of the least there and be a shelter for them by God’s grace… The courage she had to hold her precious animals on the farm as they gave their last breaths, she now transfers to babies that may be taking their last breath… she wants to be the hands and the heart of Jesus to those who have no other. We always believed we could do all things through Christ who strengthens us. I pray for those who have not known encouragement that we who believe may help them to press on to the prize that awaits…
      Courage is contagious!

Leave a Reply

