When Someone Needs Help

He comes alongside us when we go through hard times, and before you know it, He brings us alongside someone else who is going through hard times so that we can be there for that person just as God was there for us. ” 2 Corinthians 1:3,4 (The Message Bible)

I remember well the movie Pay It Forward where people did something nice for someone and then that someone did something nice for another. The movie involved following the pathway forged by good deeds. I think the title of this movie has become an idiom in our culture. I have heard it said more than once these past couple of weeks in flood-worn PA after a flood victim thanks their benefactors the helper will say, “That’s ok,  just pay it forward.” It is so Biblical!

People are going through such hardships. Here is an excerpt from a computer message I got from someone I work with:

They say that God doesn’t give you more than you can handle. I hope he sees that I am nearing my breaking point! have never been so stressed. I honestly thought I was having a severe panic attack the other day-I am sore and I do not feel well.

I also got a call last night from someone I work with who is overwhelmed with the flood clean-up and asked for some cleaning supplies from the Red Cross disaster van where I am a volunteer. She was really embarrassed to ask, but her finances are really being stretched with all the things she’s having to buy to get her house back in order. I really understand since I had gone through this and I had needed help. I can truly say to these women, “I am able to help you because someone before you helped me. When you’re on your feet again pay it forward.

Does not nature herself teach us the cyclical nature of life? Sometimes you are the statue, sometimes you are the pidgeon. Sometimes the moon is full, sometimes the moon is invisible. Sometimes the rain falls on us, sometimes we walk on it. Sometimes the vegetation is food for our table, sometimes it is compost for the ground. Nature never sees things as good and bad in her cycles, though. All phases are necessary and therefore “good”. Perhaps that is a lesson for us to consider the good in all things. As she was planting flower bulbs deep into dark holes in the ground for a friend who was hurting Ann Voskamp said, “God will resurrect good things out of this [her friend’s hurt], too…” We simply must wait for the cycle to complete itself.

 18 Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you;
therefore he will rise up to show you compassion.
For the LORD is a God of justice.
Blessed are all who wait for him!

                             Isaiah 30:18 (NIV)

Waiting for Him,

Dawn

2 comments on “When Someone Needs Help

  1. Dawn… I also enjoyed Ann’s post of the bulb having to go deep in the dark…
    God will bring life … that is just what He does
    blessings to you all… I enjoyed your words of encouragement! And, yes, God is SO gracious!..So very, very true!

  2. I cried openly as I watched that movie! I still love it. I have found it amazing how people react differently when they receive help in time of need. Some become habitual takers. Not many, but enough to quench the spirit of giving in some. But for most, it awakens that “pay it forward” desire — the overwhelming desire to give and to help others until there is no more to give.

    Like you, Dawn, I was in that place of need at a very low time in my life. I was so used to being independent, always having a job, making my own way. I can feel those feelings you describe here of people who are ready to have anxiety attacks, who are at the end of themselves and just cry out for help — if only just for cleaning supplies! It’s gut wrenching, and a fierce lesson in humility to have to ask. But it seems to be these that turn into the givers, the workers, those that seek out needs and fill them. There are times I go to bed telling the Lord that I wish I had so much more to give!!!! I wish I could go back and retrieve all the wasted resources I had at one time that I squandered on . . . . WHAT????? Nothing to show for it. Oh, that I learn even more clearly to have eternity’s values in view at all times!!!!!

    Thank you again, Dawn, for a reminder and a reality check here!!!!

Leave a Reply

