What do you say when people ask you, “Did God really say…?”

From the very beginning, humans, most blessed of all God’s creatures, had the audacity to question God.

You remember the story: Satan is tempting Eve. Could he possibly have approached Eve because God gave Adam the instructions of what to eat and what not to eat without Eve present (Genesis 2:15-17)? In fact, she hadn’t even been created yet when the prohibition was first given so it is likely that Eve may have gotten the word only through Adam. In which case Adam had a grave responsibility to Eve to tell her and to tell it to her straight.

1Now the serpent was more crafty than any of the wild animals the LORD God had made. He said to the woman, “Did God really say, ‘You must not eat from any tree in the garden’?”

2 The woman said to the serpent, “We may eat fruit from the trees in the garden, 3 but God did say, ‘You must not eat fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden, and you must not touch it, or you will die.’”

4 “You will not certainly die,” the serpent said to the woman.   Genesis 3:1-4

Not touching the fruit was not a part of the original prohibition. Was that Eve’s embellishment or was it the way she learned it from Adam? However the words were added we can see that very early in the history of mankind, the word of God was changed through human transmission. For whatever reason, perhaps Satan’s promise that if she ate the fruit she would be like God knowing good and evil, Eve believed the lie of Satan and ate the forbidden fruit. Ever after earthly life has unfolded in a fallen state. That was Satan’s plan and he succeeded. If we are to thwart him, we must know the Word, both the written and the living. We must hold onto it, in its minutest detail because, as John Piper so aptly says, “Satan hates us.” (fast-forward to minute 2 if you only have a little time)

Tomorrow I will share some examples from my life of how Satan’s been able to deceive by twisting the words. Please come back.

Loving you who stop by here,

Dawn

12 comments on “What do you say when people ask you, “Did God really say…?”

  1. I just loved your post today, Dawn. It was something that gets my fire burning, and I sit up and take notice. Whenever I take a look at the stumbling blocks in my life, where I’ve made bad turns, made mistakes, quit, turned back, gave up, etc., it has been because because I had a wrong understanding of Scripture. Either I was taught wrong, heard it wrong, read it wrong, or just thought of God wrong. And because of that, Satan won the round. Since having “ahah” moments when truth flooded in, I’ve made it my mission and goal in life to “get it right” and to make sure others do, too. I hate to see people struggling over things that are just down right wrong!!!! If there was one thing that came out of my childhood that was “a good thing,” it was that I came from a church that believed strongly in memorizing Scripture. And not just a verse here and there. We learned chapters, had contests, etc. And to this day, what I learned as a child is still there. I treasure and cherish those passages. Thank you for such a great post today. And I love John Piper!!!!

    • Dear Cora,

      I lost my reply to you. I do that. I type something and forget to hit “post comment”. Urgh, I hate when I do that. Let me see if I can create what I said to you. You were so blessed to have consistent training of the mind as a child through your church. I am surprised my mind didn’t starve to death.

      Your comments about things being right or wrong really resonated with me. I find the right and wrong of things vanishing from our culture. I work with nurses 25-35 years my junior and they have lost that sense of judgement. One young man came to my husband during a pastoral counseling session. He said, “Show me in the Bible where it says I can’t have sex outside of marriage.” My husband opened the Bible to Exodus 20:14, “Thou shalt not commit adultery.” This young man had been raised in church and had never heard this (or so he said). Immediately he and his wife stopped their affairs and they are rebuilding their marriage based on the word. Interesting, how they could have missed that, but they did. The word brings life, abundantly.

      The word is good solid bedrock,
      I’m building on a firm foundation,
      Dawn

  2. I appreciate all that you have written and shared here… but one thing nags at me … when John Piper says that Jesus talks to me ‘here’ (through God’s Word’) and ‘NO’ where else….
    I have to think on this…for I know His Spirit leads me and guides me and moves me …and I talk to Him and His Spirit bears witness to my spirit that I am a child of God and He gives understanding and discernment to me. As I learn of Him through His Word, He confirms more and more to me, yet I am sure that before I even understand or know something from His Word, that he speaks to my heart, audibly, with words and these things are later confirmed as I read scripture and then I am strengthened even more; and while I sleep He shows me His ways and teaches me. He asks me to go here or there and do this or that throughout my day; It is sweet fellowship and He ‘talks’ to me. That will never change the power of His written Word with which we can thwart the enemy of our souls, or have our hearts encouraged, our faith strengthened, our ways corrected, or to give it forth to those around us for their edification and growth… Still He walks with me and He ‘talks’ with me….
    just saying 🙂

    • Yes, Susan, that sentence gave me pause, too. I wonder what he meant exactly. He was SO adamant about it, too! I think as you do, but I have to think that maybe John Piper had a caveat in what he said that he didn’t have time to articulate. Perhaps if I go to Desiring God, Piper’s web site, I can ask about it.

      Keep us on our toes, Susan!
      God’s richest blessings on you today,
      Dawn

  3. “For God may speak in one way, or in another, yet man does not perceive it. In a dream, in a vision of the night, when deep sleep falls upon men, while slumbering on their beds, then He opens the ears of men and seals their instructions.” Job 33:15,16

    “Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it. Whenever you turn to the right hand or whenever you turn to the left.” Isaiah 30:15

    I guess it is pretty obvious where I stand on this issue. Don’t get me wrong . . . I am totally a woman of the Word. I grew up memorizing scripture, winning sword drills and contests, etc. and grateful for that. But the Word is more than words on the page, the Word became flesh and dwelt among us and we beheld His glory.

    The importance of scripture to me is evidenced, I think, in my devoting an entire blog to just scripture (and photos). However, my other blog is based on the premise that “every happening both great and small is a parable by which God “speaks” to us and the art of life is to get the message. Some of the most profound things I have heard or learned from the LORD started with a “happening” in my life, something I saw or heard or felt. As I began to engage the LORD at these times, it is true that ultimately what I felt He was saying was confirmed by Scripture. So I believe that knowledge of the scriptures, memorizing scripture is vital to my walk with the LORD, but I do not believe that it is the only way He speaks to me. I find the more I read scripture, the more He speaks to me in other ways, in other places.

    “The words that I speak unto you, they are spirit and they are life.”

    Thank you, Dawn, for this post, and the conversation it has inspired. Yes, to all that Susan said, as well. I am feeling a little fired up right now, can you tell?
    Hugs, Andrea Dawn

    • I LOVE it when you get fired up, Andrea Dawn. The Scriptures start flying like bats in the night or, maybe a better analogy, angels at Christmas. Anyway, tomorrow is the time we bring out the practical here at dschondog. It will be a time of telling when the parable got misinterpreted because the interpreter did not pay attention to the inspired word. I hope people come back and share a time or two when this happened to them. I know Cora has mentioned this has happened to her. What went awry and how was it discovered the race was being run the other way?

      How you doing with your Scavenger Hunt?
      Be blessed,
      Dawn

  4. first, has it been this long? I heart , heart, heart, heart your new layout – and all of those pictures – scores and scores of pictures – and even though the research says you’re not supposed to have a dark color blog with whit words – I like it! It gives your eyes a rest. And your blue is peaceful . And I read your thank you list, and I read your thoughts on the twisting of the words in the garden – so true! And about hope – and I read about your nursing day – but I don’t see anything about a garden – you told me there would be a garden post here. What’s up with that Oh – and the pictures of the mutlies on the bed with your man – full of awesome – and that picture of you – it looks like you’re scolding the mutlies – am I right? Or were you telling someone to put the camera down – that would be guess number two. All of it – ALL OF IT – I hearted it all. God bless you my friend!!

    • Craig,

      Thanks for reading and reading and reading. I had to laugh out loud however when you asked where the garden post was. Here is your sentence, Dear Man

      And I read your thank you list, and I read your thoughts on the twisting of the words in the garden – so true! And about hope – and I read about your nursing day – but I don’t see anything about a garden – you told me there would be a garden post here.

      Do you see the Garden Post? Also, you asked if I were scolding the muttlies. What picture were you looking at? I’m not in any of the pictures, but I find it interesting that you thought I was annoyed at something. Perhaps it was the picture of the waitress making our decaf coffee or the picture of my Scripture memorization pal, Sandra? Ah, well. I’m glad you are back in the neighborhood AND that you like my new “look,” even though the research says it is not optimal.

      Still smiling,
      Dawn

  5. When people say, ” Did God really say… or mean….?”
    I always remember that it is God’s Word that spoke the world into being and having His inspired Word to guide us keeps me sure in my faith. My answers or words have little power but God’s Word will not return void. I love to let it do the working out in people’s hearts… I just leave the “Word”, smile and pray, believing Him for the miracle in all our hearts.

  6. Susan,

    This is marvelous: [you] just leave the word. I will remember this. No one needs my words. Everyone needs His Word. May I learn His Word (by heart) to reach their hearts.

    Bless you, Dear Sister,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

