Choosing gratitude with the multitudes on Monday

#319 This week I received a book in the mail from a nurse colleague that I worked with 8 years ago. I was a clinical instructor for maternal-child health at the local college and she was a staff nurse at the hospital that I used for clinical sites for students. She always helped me find suitable patients for my students and she became a good friend. She has been reading my blog really liked that I was focusing on gratitude. She wanted me to have a book that she found helpful on the subject. I am thankful for Monique, her friendship and her deep faith that I can always count on when I need a check on my faith.

#320 I am thankful that I had the time and energy to be with two of my children over the weekend. They had time to catch up with one another and I had time to catch up with both of them. They both made the commitment to travel many miles to come together and it was good.

#321 I am thankful that I had a week’s vacation. It is SO good being home for 9 days in a row just doing what I want to do and catching up with things that I never could find time to complete. I was very tired after a fun two days with my children and grandchildren, but I easily got rested up since I didn’t have to go back to work today. Yeah!

*322 I am thankful for the challenge of memorizing Colossians in a Year with my Facebook buddies. I said my verses to my accountability partner in church this morning. We began Chapter 4 right on schedule. The difficult part for both of us is keeping the other 3 chapters current, but I am blessed to have Sandy keeping me on task. She is as determined as I am. I am blessed by her faithfulness.

#323 I am also blessed to have the vision, brilliance and faithfulness of Ann Voskamp and the community of believers that meet here every Monday and Wednesday. I became aware of Ann’s blog at the end of last year. From Colossians in a Year to 1000 Gifts to starting my own blog and naming 2011 the Year of Now, I entered cyberspace with a template that enabled me to grow in grace systematically, while, at the same time, being able to choose many side trails to explore that made the journey a personal one. Those who meet me here daily speak into my life in ways that I could never have predicted a year ago. My boundaries have been enlarged and I am truly grateful to all of you. You know who you are.

#324 I am thankful that there are jobs out there that look interesting to me. It is a difficult spot to be in if one needs to make a job change, but there are some interesting positions out there that I am attempting to get. I do not interview well, especially on the phone. I sound like a second grader on the phone. Second grade voices are cute, but not on a grown person. May the Lord help the people see past the interview and give me a chance to do the job. Also, I am overqualified for most jobs. May their eyes be blinded about the education and about my age!

#325 I am thankful that the herniated discs in my back seem to be healed. It has been 2 -1/2 years. I can do so much more now that I am not in chronic pain. I have also become more merciful to those who have constant pain because I know from experience what they are going through.

#326 I am thankful that my sister got a job she loves after a year of looking. She is the quintessential secretary and she has a team of secretaries who run a tight ship for the gas compancy.

#327 I am thankful my husband got a day of rest while I was running around the park with the children and grandchildren. He was greatly missed by his son who wanted to spend the day with him, but I am thankful he made the most of the day in spite of not having his dad present.

#328 I am thankful for fall. It is my favorite season. This morning the golden sun made the leaves’ colors radiant in the crisp, clean air. The stage was set for worship long before we got to the church building.

#329 I am thankful for chicken and bisquits twice in one day. We had it together at the church covered-dish luncheon and then took some home for this evening. So good!

#330 I am thankful for great hymns of the church. I was singing Immortal, Invisible all the way to church in the car. The first hymn we sand was Immortal, Invisible. I was really on the same page as the pianist this morning. Thank you, Nan!

Immortal, Invisible, God Only Wise
Words: Walter Chalmers Smith
Music:JOANNA

Immortal, invisible,
God only wise,
In light inaccessible
hid from our eyes,
Most blessèd, most glorious,
the Ancient of Days,
Almighty, victorious,
Thy great Name we praise.

Unresting, unhasting,
and silent as light,
Nor wanting, nor wasting,
Thou rulest in might;
Thy justice, like mountains,
high soaring above
Thy clouds, which are fountains
of goodness and love.

To all, life Thou givest,
to both great and small;
In all life Thou livest,
the true life of all;
We blossom and flourish
as leaves on the tree,
And wither and perish–
but naught changeth Thee.

Great Father of glory,
pure Father of light,
Thine angels adore Thee,
all veiling their sight;
All laud we would render;
O help us to see
‘Tis only the splendor
of light hideth Thee,

http://www.worshipmap.com

Multitudes on Monday with Ann Voskamp and community,

Dawn

5 comments on “Choosing gratitude with the multitudes on Monday

  1. So glad you got some extended time off, Dawn. I love the old hymns too, but I don’t recall the one you posted . . . had to go check it out on youtube. Beautiful! Chicken and biscuits sounds so yummy. Have a lovely day, dear lady.

    • Dear Andrea Dawn,

      Immortal, Invisible is a most wonderful hymn. I thought it was Beethovan musically, but I was incorrect. The writer of the lyrics is Walter Chalmers Smith and the tune a traditional Welsh ballad. Perhaps the reason I thought the hymn was from Beethovan was because the title of the movie about his life was Immortal Beloved. When things are so alike they tend to get scrambled in my brain. This is a case in point.

      Still, ’tis a wonderful hymn,
      Dawn

    • Dear T,

      The chicken and biscuits really got a lot of people salivating. I am SO glad I had a double portion on Sunday!

      Thanks again for your pebble prayer story,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

