Arthur Blessitt – 71 years old today

As a fresh-faced, hopelessly conservative young man, Blessitt heard about the burgeoning hippie movement and headed straight to Southern California to win hearts for Christ. He began passing out tracts and preaching the gospel in Griffith Park, where his sincerity led him to be dubbed “The Minister of Sunset Strip.”

Blessitt built a vibrant ministry reaching out to the poor, the disenfranchised, and the criminal, but in 1968 everything changed, when he says God told him to pick up a cross—a physical cross—and carry it to the ends of the earth. Puzzled but amazed, he accepted the call, only to suffer a near-fatal aneurysm shortly thereafter. In the hospital, he was told that he should refrain from physical activity, so he figured he would have to give up his task. But then he had a profound realization: “The circumstances don’t alter the call.” Off he went. (article in Christianity Today reviewing movie of Arthur’s life: http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/movies/reviews/2009/crossarthurblessittstory.html)

The man who carried the cross around the world in every nation and is listed in the Guinness World Records for the world’s longest walk over 39,227 miles, through 318 countries & major island groups for 42 years. First carried the cross 1968. Story & photos of the cross in every nation.

 “Jesus did it. All Glory to God!”

(From the official Arthur Blessitt web site)

I was a Senior in high school when Arthur Blessitt began carrying the cross. I was a fairly conservative hippie type and was amazed at what Mr. Blessitt was doing. Today I wish him the happiest of birthdays. He has changed the world for many, many people.


God bless you for your obedience, Arthur Blessitt,

Dawn

6 comments on “Arthur Blessitt – 71 years old today

  1. This is all new to me… how incredible this path he chose…
    What opportunity to share the gospel! Happy are the feet that bring the Good News of Jesus Christ!
    One step at a time, that is all God asks any of us to do…
    Happy Birthday indeed, Arthur Blessitt

    • Dear Susan,

      I have a dear sister in the Lord who has been in Belize all her adult life. She and her husband, Larry raised their 3 children there as YWAM missionaries and then supervisors. One day Arthur Blessitt came to Belize and he stayed with the Smiths. He is such a gentle man, soft-spoken, but with a vision that compels him to “complete the task God has given him to do.” His last country was Zanzibar in 2009 ending 40 years of carrying the cross. When I learned his birthday was October 27, I knew today had to be a day of honor on my blog site.

      Thanks for your comments all over my past pages. I must run the dogs, but I will be back to “talk” with you later.

      Hugs this crisp fall morning,
      Dawn

      PS I’m taking my camera on the dog run. I must get my scavenger hunt pictures (obsessed, I know!).

  2. Wow, Dawn, that is quite an inspiring story. I, like Susan, had not heard of Arthur before. That would have been quite a sight to see and obviously elicited some strong reactions in some places since he was arrested 24 times and even brought before a firing squad.

    “He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justly, to love mercy and walk humbly with your God. (Micah 6:8)

    So unique the paths he has chosen for each of us to walk.

  3. Dawn, I read his book years ago, when, like you, I was a conservative hippie type, living in California. I spoke with him on the phone about ten years ago or so and he was filled with a humble exuberance and vitality. Thank you for this wonderful reminder of this man of tremendous faith! Very inspiring!

    • Dear A.,

      You truly were a California conservative hippie. That you actually spoke with him is a validation of both your station in life, your heart for the Lord and your concern for right direction. I am so proud to know you (and a bit envious, too!)

      May your weekend be full of peace,
      Dawn

  4. I wish I had a heart like that. I am so logistical in my thinking, always weighing the cost with the results anticipated, etc., etc. I am a dreamer, but most of my dreams remain just that and I never act upon them. I was amazed when someone did a series on how God spoke through dreams throughout the Bible and how we have dismissed that nowadays. He pointed out that any of our creative thoughts and desires that are original and different are the “dreams” God gives us for a reason and for a ministry. For a long time, I used my own poetry in creative ways and sold many of them in my business. I did know of this man, but did not know about his life and all that he did. I always learn something when I come here, Dawn. I love that about you. I always go away enriched!

Leave a Reply

