Scavenger Hunt Sunday #9

This week at Scavenger Hunt Sunday the prompts are: 1 all one color, 2 around the home, 3 reflection, 4  writing and 5 water. The rules can be found over at Ashley Sisk’s Ramblings and Photos. Click on the Scavenger Hunt Sunday icon in the right column here to get there quickly if you’d like to know more so you can make your own post next Sunday or just to see what others have done this week. It’s an inspiring (and friendly) group.

1. all one color

I went to a nursing conference this past Wednesday and heard a wonderful 70-something woman who had cared for intensive care babies her whole working life. She is no longer in clinical practice, but she publishes and her Handbook of Neonatal Intensive Care is in its 7th edition. It was a wonderful conference. Anyway, the reason I mention this is because the conference was held in a place called the Country Cupboard and it was absolutely lovely. I took my camera to get scavenger hunt pictures during the break. There was so much eye candy that I was immobilized. Here is the shot for “all one color”.

2. around the home

American Thanksgiving is coming up this week. You know, it just came to me why Canadians celebrate so early. The harvest is much earlier than ours. I’m so self-centered! Well, suffice it to say that my dining area is getting decorated little by little. I have lots of plants in the dining area and I placed a scarecrow in the center of the cacti. If you look closely you can see the buds on the Christmas cactus beginning to come out over the scarecrow. Is Christmas is trying to pre-empt Thanksgiving? In another week, if the cacti blossum, the scarecrow orange will be a blaze of red. We’ll see…

3. reflection

I stopped at this fountain fixture for the water prompt, but when I downloaded the picture I realized it was a reflection, too. So, I’m using this picture for reflection.

4. writing

This next picture is from the days of the floods here in PA in September. I was working with my friend, Barb, manning the Red Cross trailer of supplies. Here is Barb’s daily schedule of workers and the pen she wrote with and her LOVE reminder. This is so very Barb.

If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love. I Corinthians 13:3-7

Barb would say that nothing on this schedule matters, not all the hours of coordination, not the setting up of the truck trailer, not the delivering of supplies, nothing – if we do.not.love.

5. water

I used the same scene for water that I did for reflection, except that the emphasis this time is on the water. You can see the smooth streams that drop into ever-increasing foamy pools. There are some ripples and glistening as the light reflects from the smooth streams of water like fiber optics.

Appreciating anew the calla lily and Godly friends,

Dawn

7 comments on “Scavenger Hunt Sunday #9

  1. Dear Dawn . . . I love the golden glow of your mostly one colour. What a delightful smile on your little scarecrow fella. You will have to get some shots of your Christmas cactus when it blossoms. Is the calla lily sculpture/fountain from the Country Cupboard as well? As always, I enjoy the narrative that goes with each photo. Great job!
    On the mend, Andrea Dawn

    • Dear Susan,

      Barb is quite unconventional. She says what she sees and lets the chips fall as they may. Her compassionate, caring heart gains her entrance where others may never even get an invitation. Once in, she gets right to work, however difficult it may be, to build the Kingdom. She is a reminder to me that God works in mysterious ways.

      It was good having you here,
      Dawn

  2. Dear Andrea Dawn,

    I’m so happy you felt well enough to come by and leave a bit of a note. Yes, the calla lily sculpture fountain was from the Country Cupboard. There were so many shots there. I just needed different prompts for the others, but it was quite a bountiful cupboard.

    Praying for a good night’s sleep for you and your knee,
    Dawn

  3. I also am always blessed at the time you take to describe your photo choices… It is always a treat to come by and see all the fun you have had preparing this for us! Water and reflections are always my favourites to find…. always so many surprises with it! My kids would be playing with the flowing water flowers !
    As our Thanksgiving comes sooner than yours, so does the blooming of our cacti which are radiant in colour right now… you will so enjoy yours when they open.
    I also agree with Barb that it is all about love!
    and oooo so many of those one colour birds and deer would be so happy on my table 🙂
    happy ‘everything’ to you my friend

Leave a Reply

