Thankful Because He’s Faithful – Part I (Simply Sisters)

It is Monday again. Monday means I meet with the multitudes at Ann’s to share a thank you list to God. It has been a week of super-funny highs and soul-wrenching lows–just the kind of week that demands a thank-you list because, you know, we are to be thankful to God whatever happens. If we believe God is supreme then we also believe that anything that happens He is allowing to happen.  All things, Paul says to the Romans, are working together for good to them who love God and are called according to His purpose. If every single thing is working together for my good, then “thank-you” is a natural response. I assure you that it takes a lot of faith to believe some things are working together for my good, but I have that kind of faith. I turned 60 years old yesterday and I accepted Jesus as my Savior at a Christian youth camp when I was 12 years old. If you do the math, I have walked with Him 48 years. When you’ve been with someone that long, you know Him. I know He is faithful.

So this Multitudes on Monday, I thank my God for:

#382 keeping my whistle-blowing sister alive while those who embezzled the money where she worked looked like they were winning. It has been a long year and a half for her, believing that others thought she was a thief and a liar and worse because powerful people said so. Now, as the truth comes out, many are coming to her with their problems because they know she knows what it’s like to be treated unfairly and has successfully regained her footing. She says she now sees why she had to go through what she did, but she wouldn’t wish what she went through on her worst enemies. God bless you, Deb!

#383 preparing a job for my other sister who does not have a resume. She spent all her years raising 5 children and helping her first husband with his lumber business from their home until he died at age 44. At age 52 she’s been looking for work for over a year. Finally, she went to Dunkin’ Donuts to be a server until she could get something that was full-time and would have benefits. She thought she lost a job she interviewed for when they did not hire her, but 2 months later, the same company called her for another part of the business. The personnel person did not throw her application away because she saw real leadership potential. She hired her for dispatch coordination and logistics and they love her! It is the exact thing she did for her husband’s business for over 20 years! She gives all the glory to God! She and her husband believed it was God’s will for her to be in the home when she was raising their children and now He is rewarding her for it.

#384 sisters that are examples to me and that we are knit together for His purposes. I am facing a lot of deception and name-calling by powerful people at my place of employment. Everywhere I turn people are praised who compromise safety, steal from the institution and patients, and vilify those who want to abide by Joint Commission standards and PA Department of Health codes. When I am left go, I pray I can stand the way my sisters have.

#385 a time to laugh. My sisters put a BIG 60 crown on my head and a 60 necklace around my neck and took me for a nice dinner Friday for my birthday. We then went to the movies to see Adam Sandler in Jack and Jill. We laughed and laughed and laughed. Even after the movie was over, we just looked at one another and laughed ourselves silly. Do you need a good laugh? I highly recommend the movie, but you can’t have my sisters!

The rest of the list will be posted tomorrow. I just have so very much to be thanful for,

Dawn

6 comments on “Thankful Because He’s Faithful – Part I (Simply Sisters)

  1. Great reminder, Dawn . . . to be thankful in all things. I have to admit I am struggling a bit with this right now . . . the ALL things part. The pain, the physio, the difficulty sleeping and weeping part. (*) And yet, like you, I know Him to be faithful.
    There is nothing quite like a sister, is there? I am so glad you have a couple of them who inspire you and encourage you and take you for birthday dinners and funny movies.

    • Oh, my dear Andrea Dawn,

      I have been there. Pain makes it so difficult to do ANYTHING. I thank Him every day, every moment that my back is healed. Now…on to your knee. It will heal, too, but do what they tell you in physiotherapy because that makes all the difference in how useful your repair is when all is said and done. I am praying you leap like a deer and are able to kneel to garden (and, of course, pray).
      Distract yourself when you are doing your repetitive exercises. My husband does a Nordic Trak for 30 minutes every day while he watches Judge Judy on tv. I don’t think he would be able to walk today if he weren’t faithful in doing this.

      Some great Christian choruses and hymns may transport you to heave while you exercise, too, or Scripture memorization (You may as well torture yourself really good!) Just kidding.

      He will make a way for you,
      Dawn

  2. I also am so grateful for this blessing in your life, Dawn…How fun that you could pass that time together with so much laughter! And a very wonderful new year to you! Continue strong in the Lord and the power of His might. As Psalm 1 says, Blessed is the one who walketh not in the council of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful.
    But his delight is in the law of the Lord; and in His law doth he meditate day and night.
    And He shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.

    I can see that in the Lord you are prospering mightily as are your sisters… because the Lord your God is a great God! And He will be your help all along the way…Continue believing dear friend.

    continuing in prayer for you all… that is for you too dear Andrea Dawn…that God will do a great work for you!

  3. Wow! What a lot you and your sisters have all been going through! It’s evident God’s been at work, even through all the hard stuff. I will keep praying. And yes, this certainly does mesh with my post for today! I am still waiting patiently for the truth to come out someday about some difficulties my husband and I went through when we tried to get some wrongdoing undone and peace made. (Vilify was exactly the word husband used for what he knew we’d experience, too.) But the truth will out eventually – even if not in this world! And God has blessed us so much since in brand new ways.

    Really enjoyed hearing about your birthday with your sisters and seeing your big bright cute smile!

    Hey! It’s snowing on your website! How cool! It’s getting me in the mood to make Christmas cookies or something tonight!

    God bless!

    BTW, did you do that knitting? Beautiful!
    And, hey, I live in PA, too! Email me and let me know where you live, if you feel okay with that.

    • Dear Sylvia,

      Just to be sure you don’t get too excited. I don’t knit. That was a picture off the internet to illustrate being woven together. I have a wonderful friend who knits and would really like to teach me, but I’d rather type, I guess. There are only so many hours in a day. Don’t you wish sometimes you had two lives. One could be up while the other slept!!! Ha!

      Thanks for sharing with me,
      Dawn

  4. Dawn, what a heartwarming post! And Happy Birthday, too! I am glad you are blessed with sisters, too! What fun reading about the laughter and happiness you all had on your birthday! I smile just thinking of it,

    A.

Leave a Reply

