Go Tell About the Mountain

Panorama of temple mount (Mount Moriah) taken from Mount of Olives, Jerusalem

I’ve been polling my friends since I made the discovery on Wednesday that the place where Isaac was taken by Abraham to be sacrificed and the place where Solomon built the temple and the place where Jesus was crucified were all the same place: Mount Moriah. I have not found a single Christian friend that did not already know that. I have really smart friends! So now that I am up to speed on this, I want to highlight Mount Moriah on this Friday, the 10th day of Advent. It is undisputably the most sought-after piece of real estate in the world as Christians, Jews and Muslims call it sacred. The Muslim mosque, the Dome of the Rock, sits on the spot where the sacrifice of Isaac supposedly occurred and is located near Golgotha where Jesus was crucified.

Directly under the dome is the shrine of the mosque and of the entire Haram. It is a bare rock, the natural crown of Moriah, about sixty feet across, and rising some six feet above the floor.

Going to work now,

Dawn

8 comments on “Go Tell About the Mountain

  1. I did not know this, Dawn! (I’m apparently the dumb one — a few fries short of a Happy Meal). Thank you for sharing. I can’t wait to get time to research this more. I appreciate you opening my eyes.

  2. Dear Cristal and Danelle,

    I consider both of you well-versed in our faith. Thank you for making me feel a bit better. The more I know, the more incredible His plan and the more I love Him.

    He’s coming,
    Dawn

  3. I didn’t know this either… silly me, I somehow thought Isaac’s mount was a steeper climb through more brush… and the picture of Jesus on Calvary is usually bereft of anything but three crosses and those with them…. Now you have me off to study it all… you are good aren’t you… awakening the learning desire!
    love you Dawn!

  4. Dawn, I also heard, not sure about the source, that this is also where Adam is buried.
    It is said that Jesus chose that place, so that when His blood drips on the ground, it would reach Adam, and by that His blood would save Adam and all his offsprings.

    I also would like to take this chance to tell you that I nominated you for the Liebster Blog Award! Congratulations and Good luck!
    Check my blog, in case, like me, you don’t know what it is!

    • Dear Mike,

      I, like some of my other readers, will have to explore this a bit more. You always broaden my worldview. Thank you for dropping by and for the award. I left a note on your blog about the Liebster!

      Kindest regards,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

