With Haste

I was reading in Luke 2 and came upon verse 16 which says

16And they came with haste, and found Mary, and Joseph, and the babe lying in a manger.

An angel of the Lord had just visited the shepherds on the hillside outside of Bethlehem telling them that God the Savior was born and that they would find Him wrapped in swaddling clothes lying in a manger. The shepherds were trembling with fear at the sight of the angel and the glory of the Lord shining about them. All of a sudden a “multitude of the heavenly host” lit up the sky singing “Glory to God in the highest!”

When the angels left the shepherds discussed with one another what they would do. Oh, how I love their decision. I wish it were more often mine. They said, “Let’s go see this thing which has come to pass that the Lord has made known to us.” Ah, yes, let’s go, let’s do it. There is a compulsion when the Lord speaks to you. For me, it is an urgency that makes me tremble. It is the trembling that gives me the assurance that it is God. If it were me, I would do something comfortable. When He speaks to me, it is usually because He has to give me a push. And so, God sends His heavenly messengers to push the shepherds, but unlike me at times, they go at His bidding.

This could not have been convenient for them. It was night. They had sheep to care for. They had no idea what they were going to see or where they were going to see it. They simply went to Bethlehem. All the great people of faith had a bit of that “Just Do It” spirit. Abraham left Ur for a land he did not know. Peter left his fishing nets. Moses left his position in Egypt. The widow gave all that she had. And I think of Mother Teresa, Bruce Olson, John Wesley, Arthur Blessitt, Heidi Baker and Joan of Arc.

Today I am thankful for:

#333 the giants in the faith.

#334 the mercy of God because there are so many time I have hesitated.

#335 the miracles happening where I work.

#336 healing of a co-worker.

#337 notes from sermons of Christmases past in the margins of my Bible that make my reflection richer.

#338 the Jesse tree that points me to Jesus.

#339 many mini-Christmases this week: with sisters, with friends, with church family, with family family.

#340 for good friends who share great ideas. Thanks Andrea Dawn for the link to the envelope tutorial.

#341 for a husband who leaves love surprises all over for me to find them.

#342 for you who read this: May God bless you. You are my mini Christmas in cyberspace.

With the multitudes today at Ann’s,

Dawn

4 comments on “With Haste

  1. Oh boy, do I identify with this, with the trembling that tells me it’s God’s directive and not my own. How I struggle to just go do sometimes, hampered by foolish fears. But He does with me like with Ezekiel and stands me on my feet and takes me there, makes it happen.
    My focus in the same nativity event has been on those who did not go… at all! Good for those shepherds who just went “with haste”!

  2. Reminds me of the carol . . . “Haste, haste to bring Him laud, the babe, the son of Mary”. Lovely list of thank-you’s . . . ah, the mercy of God. Love the love note from hubby. You are a blessed woman, dear Dawn.

  3. I have often wondered if this praising God and saying… was in reality singing… I would really love to hear the hosts of heaven singing…What do you think Dawn… could they ‘not’ sing? I’ve tried to be just praising God and it always ends in song… Do we find it anywhere that the angels actually sing? Maybe we are the choir! ……………just thinking
    I love your chocolate sheep… so like my grandbabies!
    Like Andra Dawn, I also smile at your hubby’s note… gifts that keep us smiling 🙂

Leave a Reply

