The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice

What is Multitudes on Mondays? It is a gathering of those in Ann Voskamp’s community at http://www.aholyexperience.com that take this day of the week to say

to God for all His gifts!

Those of you who read me regularly know that I have had a tough week. I was terminated from my work and have had to scramble to take care of my affairs in a timely fashion. While scrambling I have been made aware of some sweet fragrances in my life which had gone unnoticed in the bustle of business as usual. I have re-prioritized and today I use this space to set the record straight. My highest praise and thanksgiving go to:

#460 my husband who endures cancer treatment and constant pain to stay alive because he loves me and wants to take care of me.

# 461 my daughter, Abby, who, jobless herself, calls to say she is sorry and is praying for me.

# 462 former co-workers who send me cards, e-mails and phone calls to encourage me and tell me they are “with” me in their thoughts and prayers.

#463 old friends, church people, lifelong co-partners in the community and my sisters who are pit bulls that fortify my strength.

#464 acquaintances who are wise counselors and take their time to give me invaluable advice and connect me with necessary resources.

#465 kind people who do not know me, but take their jobs seriously, listen and guide compassionately.

#466 the cyber-community who comes here and encourages, encourages, encourages.

#467 the timeless Word of God that comes into my consciousness when I just need to hold on.

#468 Useful volunteer opportunities to keep my mind off myself

#469 my dogs who are always here no matter what

Do you have those times when you are going through something really dark and hard and long where God seems to reach out and just give you a nod to let you know He is there. That has happened to me day after day, intermittently throughout each day, through dozens of different people this past week. If you are reading this, you are quite probably one of them. Your obedience to God’s promptings help me make connections that would most likely have not been possible without you. I have named this year 2012 The Year of Grace. It is only the 16th day of the year and already I have felt His grace mightily through this termination experience.

Jan. 16 - Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

When our days become dreary with low hovering clouds of despair, and when our nights become darker than a thousand midnights, let us remember that there is a creative force in this universe, working to pull down the gigantic mountains of evil, a power that is able to make a way out of no way and transform dark yesterdays into bright tomorrows. Let us realize the arc of the moral universe is long but it bends toward justice. ~Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

http://percaritatem.com/2009/01/17/part-ii-dr-martin-luther-king-jr-on-the-way-of-love-not-hate/

With the multitudes at Ann’s this Monday,

Dawn

10 comments on “The arc of the moral universe is long, but it bends toward justice

  1. absolutely beautiful Dawn… the words by Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. finish it well!
    ~that is able to make a way out of no way and transform dark yesterdays into bright tomorrows~
    a piece of glory… your faith, your gratitudes and these words!

    • Susan, Susan,

      Was ever there so kind and loving a woman? And how to God did I ever get to first read your heartfelt poetry and become connected to your sweet, sweet spirit? He is so good to have given me a path to your door where the table is always set and the guest list is always open. He unites us on this day with a tie to the black community through our daughters and…

      His amazing grace,
      Dawn

  2. Great gratitude list as always, Dawn. I was struck by the same line in the King quote as Susan . . . “a creative force . . . our glorious way-maker and transformer of dark yesterdays”.

    • Andrea Dawn,

      I love sharing this space with you for you always see beyond me, much father up ahead. It is sometimes even necessary that you be here because many times you complete the thought that I never made because I never thought it. I don’t think I will ever ever forget the time you saw: if your not “now here”, you are “nowhere.” You paint pictures with your words and use a camera lens like a brush and the earth as your canvas.

      Marvelously mysterious,
      Dawn

  3. It was #463 that got to me today. I’m still smiling at that picture!!!! Isn’t it just the greatest thing when we have people like that in our lives???!!!! Somehow, that picture needed no explanation at all —- I just know people like that and what they can accomplish!!!! And it’s what I’d like to be, too. Dawn, I loved your list today. I know how hard it must have been to write. That made it all the more wonderful. Thank you!

  4. Cora,

    You don’t need to change a bit for me. I love your wisdom, your gifted prose and your courage. You are sorely missed when you do not come by. You are the supreme empath with a twist of Lily Tomlin. I will always be on your team!

    One ringy dingy,
    Dawn

  5. Dawn Dear Friend, You are constantly in my thoughts and prayers. It is not surprising to me, as I read your blog, that your faithfulness and gratitude is leading you out of this dark place and making even the shadows bring benefit each day. As for those who are “warring” against you….perhaps with both their left and right hands….well, my mom always said, “the chickens come home to roost.” I am sure you will see “the chickens” getting what is due them. In the meantime rest in the knowledge that all is well with your soul.
    Admireingly and Lovingly yours,
    “Bee”

  6. Dear Nancy,

    With you by my side, I have already won. Just like Jesus knew what would happen after the crucifixion and “for the joy set before Him endured the cross” Hebrews 12:2. I know what the ultimate outcome of all this will be…GOOD! I don’t wish my enemies harm, but GOOD will come, however it must rearrange things to do so.

    Love you,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

