Funny preacher

I have to tell you my husband is a preacher in being, as well as a preacher by profession. We go to the bank to roll-over my retirement funds. I meet Jason, the grandson of one of my father’s best friends. He is a replica of his grandfather: jovial, smart, energetic. I liked Jason instantly. He begins to ask me what I want my money to do for me and then he places the options before me based on my answers. Now about 15 minutes has passed and my husband is still not in on the session. Jason looks at me and says, “Does your husband want to hear this? You are making decisions for the future of your money.” I said, “Yes, I’ll get him caught up to where we are when he gets in here. He is a preacher. Preachers have to talk. He’s working the tellers of the bank. He’ll be in when he’s done.”

Preacher trait #1 talks, talks, talks, talks, talks

This morning we were doing devotions and I was struck by the verse in I Chronicles 16:41 “David also appointed Heman, Jeduthun and the others chosen by name to give thanks to the Lord…” I remarked, “David appointed people to give thanks to the Lord. Isn’t that something?” Preacher  husband says, “That’s what I do!”

Preacher trait #2 is in charge of getting people to praise the Lord

This next one may be unique to my particular preacher, but I don’t think so. Tell me what you think. After reading I Chronicles 17:4-6 where Nathan tells David what God told him concerning a temple being built for Him, my preacher husband says, “My, you can tell God was Jewish!” I must have had that blank stare. Here is the passage

4 “Go and tell my servant David, ‘This is what the LORD says: You are not the one to build me a house to dwell in. 5 I have not dwelt in a house from the day I brought Israel up out of Egypt to this day. I have moved from one tent site to another, from one dwelling place to another. 6 Wherever I have moved with all the Israelites, did I ever say to any of their leaders whom I commanded to shepherd my people, “Why have you not built me a house of cedar?”’

My husband elaborated, “Have I ever commanded you to build me a house of cedar? with gold overlay? using precious stones wielded by skilled craftsmen? Have I ever told you to …” In spite of the stereotypical nuances, I was laughing out loud. He truly is the funniest man I know and it is one of the reasons I married him. He is my spice of life. Meanwhile, Jason and I talk about investing…

Preacher trait #3 tells preacher jokes

Walking with Him (and the preacher) Wednesday,

Dawn

11 comments on “Funny preacher

  1. My husband because of his many languages and mix of meanings tells the most corny jokes or gets a real good one all backwards. However he always laughs at his own jokes which sets everyone else a laughing too…
    A merry heart is good medicine… gotta love our husbands

    Thanks for sharing about your dear man… I know we would have so much fun with him! Praying for all those other matters with Jason!

    • Dear Susan,

      I can’t imagine my husband in bilingual mode. He just couldn’t bridge the chasm. However, if you ever need advice about plastic surgery, he’s the one you want to ask. He is a wanna be plastic surgeon for Christ.

      I really appreciate your continued prayers for my situation. There are LOTS of aspects to all this,
      Dawn

  2. Dawn, I am late and will be reading backwards over the next few hours and day to catch up, but just loved this! It was a heart-warmer!.

    I am praying fresh prayers for you, still. I drove on the interstate right through Somerset as I began my journey away for a while, and prayed for you, and for your husband.

    Blessings your way, in abundance!

    A.

    • Dear A,

      Catch me up on what is going on: the wedding, your trip, yourself…

      I’m reading Dark Night of the Soul and am getting a lot out of it…finally. I didn’t understand it at all when I first began.

      Dawn

  3. This brought a smile to my face (and I need it today)! My husband also make me laugh. I tend to be too serious. I am thankful God spiced up our lives with humorous husbands!

  4. Dawn, I love that little laughy guy! He is great! Back to cleaning, quick break, and saw him as I was scrolling down to older posts, so I really got sidetracked by the ‘oooh shiny’ of that little guy. 🙂

  5. And, Dawn, you’ve done it again.. brought a smile and a hope to this weary, wordless and OLD heart of mine. 🙂 My only grandson will move to the big city this summer to begin studies to become a United Methodist minister. I wish he could sit awhile at the feet of your sweetheart. I wish I could protect him from…. well, that’s the grandmother speaking who knows people/humans so well. And this VERY humble servant must go on to say, “Oh Father…. I don’t know how to pray, may the Holy Spirit take over.” I’m grateful God has led me to precious servants like you and your “preacher” husband. God bless. 🙂

Leave a Reply

