How can anyone understand their own way?

Proverbs 20:24: A person’s steps are directed by the LORD. How then can anyone understand their own way? (NIV)

Jonah Gregory sends me the above verse along with a message from his heart about God’s hand in my life and urges me to just keep trusting because He is leading and good will come from it all. He tells me not to worry for those who know me, know me. I am caught up short by a young father of two, half my age, exhorting me to trust in the Lord because how can anyone understand their own way?

How could I be so presumptuous to think that there has been some mistake? How could I be so presumptuous to think I do not need refined, molded, shaped? What lesson do I need to learn here? Jesus didn’t live His life in ease. Why should I expect to live mine in ease? I can’t know what’s around this curve, but Jonah has reminded me that it will work together for my good because I love God and I am called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28). Understanding is not promised, goodness is.

I am reading Dark Night of the Soul right now. It is helping me understand why the darkness comes. More on that later as I come to new understandings of His goodness. Thank you, Jonah!

Growing in grace,

Dawn

7 comments on “How can anyone understand their own way?

  1. Two comments today, but I can’t help it. 🙂
    I was reading this verse with the sons in our treehouse just a few moments ago and thought of you:
    “Even in darkness, light dawns for the upright, for the gracious and compassionate and righteous man.” Psalm 112:4
    Love that light “dawns” 🙂
    And I know that in your darkness, Light is all around you. . you are upright, gracious, compassionate and righteous.
    Hold on to these truths. Blessings to you sweet friend.

  2. Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on the Dark Night. Love how encouragement and exhortation comes from so many members of the body and that age and experience is not a barrier to God’s Spirit speaking truth. Blessings today and always.

  3. My friend Danielle has been rediagnosed with stage three and perhaps stage four breast cancer… in her words … she is numb….
    I know that when darkness seems to overtake us, emotionally , numbness is common, even among those not of just little faith.
    It is times like these where the body of Christ steps in and like the hands that held up those of Moses’ in the prevailing against Amalek, we will be the hands and hearts in prayer for those hurting and numb… we will hold them up to the throne of Grace from whence our help cometh. We uphold you Dawn, and Andrea Dawn, and Cora, and Craig and our dear Danielle. To God be the glory in these battles He is fighting for us. May we be strong in Him alone!
    We can not possibly see clearly enough to know the way before us, but we know the One who has made the way… and walks with us.
    blessings dear friend

  4. Dear Friends of the Cross,

    Like the man who helped Jesus get His cross up the to the hill of the skull (Golgotha), you are helping me and we help each other bear the crosses assigned to us. Sometimes I can literally feel your hands holding up my arms, at other times there is just no-thing. You are still there. I just can’t see you or feel you. My dog, Sebastian, loses touch with all around him at times and even attacks the hands that try to calm him because he’s so confused and disoriented. In the dark, things are very difficult to figure out. It takes extreme focus and intention to regain stability and restore peace.

    Ann Voskamp began her post yesterday with how fear was gripping her and what she did to regain her peace was quote Scripture.

    Fears pushing me into the pit.

    And it comes while I struggle to get out of bed, comes early as the light pries back the dark, words we’ve been committing to heart — and I murmur them, hold onto them like a lifeline tossed:

    “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are the… ”

    And I smooth out the bedsheets and everything calms, His Word stilling my storm…
    http://www.aholyexperience.com/2012/01/the-1-habit-more-important-than-quiet-time-memorize-the-mount-free-memory-booklet/

    I did this same thing the first week after I was terminated from my job. I would awake about 3-4 times a night and I would go to Scripture Typer and type Colossians till my hands ached. Inhaling, gulping, thrusting all of me into the Word and I would get so tired and I would go back to sleep, It was like magic, His healing presence through His Word. Even in the darkness I could speak His Word and I could enter His presence and magnify His holy name with ancient words, ever true, holding me and holding you.

    Good-night, Susan, Andrea Dawn, Danelle, Cora, Craig and Danielle,
    Immanuel,
    Dawn

  5. Very timely challenge for me, Dawn. To presume there’s been a sovereign mistake because what’s before my eyes doesn’t delight my senses and draw me into a warm-n-fuzzy feeling. Wow. Thank you for the reminder that we serve a mighty God.

Leave a Reply

