You’re never too old, but you might be too young

My DH and I were on our way to the local delicatessen to buy potatoes for in a pot of Mamie Klinger’s Homemade Chicken Pot Pie that I was making today. My sister had her gall bladder removed yesterday and I made enough pot pie for her family and mine for this evening’s meal. I plan to steam some broccoli to give us all a bit of green to round out the meal. Anyway, I’m walking with my DH and Mickey, our shih-tzu, to buy potatoes at the delicatessen.

As we were walking along the cemetary side of the street, my husband looked across the street where there is a bus stop. He noticed an older woman bent over a walker. He was just about to hand me Mickey’s leash and run across the street when I said, “Oh, my goodness, Russ, even the elderly are texting!” She was so slumped over that he thought she was having a heart attack or stroke or something and needed help when I saw her iPad and her thumbs moving. I was struggling to get my camera out of my down coat pocket cause this was just too good to pass up. My husband just shook his head. By the time I was able to get a good focus on the woman (I was hiding behind a tree) she had finished her text and was standing upright. I was so bummed I missed that shot. It was a classic.

Anyway, we proceeded to the deli where I picked up my potatoes at the bargain price of 3 for $1.00. I asked the sweet young woman at the cash register if they had any fausnaughts. She stared at me blank. A woman about my age who was next in line rescued her by saying, “Oh, my Dear, fausnaughts are a type of donut some of us like to have the Tuesday before Lent begins.” The clerk continued to stare. It was beyond her, but the woman and I talked about our traditions together, bringing the young cashier along as we shared our experiences. The woman behind me was going to buy cookies, but because I was looking for fausnaughts, she became inspired and raced ahead of me to the bakery next door to check it out. From the store window I could see her shaking her head “no” as we passed the bakery on our walk back home. It’s good to have helpers in the hunt.

My husband went to the big grocery store about a half hour ago. Someone told us they sold fausnaughts there every Lenten season. He’s going to get a whole box of  them for dessert for my sister and her family with a note about their significance–just in case she doesn’t know. She is 8 years younger than I. Who knows when such valuable information gets lost in the course of family events? The story behind the fausnaught is that German households would make the rich pastries to use up the rich ingredients they would not be needing during the fasting season called Lent, which begins tomorrow: Ash Wednesday.

Fausnaughts

  • In the German-American version of Shrove Tuesday, the traditional food is the fausnaught, a fried round donut dusted with powdered sugar. Fausnaughts are typically made out of potato dough and served with dark corn syrup. For many German-Americans, Shrove Tuesday is also referred to as “Fausnaught Day.” The fausnaughts in Germany are more likely to be savory and take the form of a pastry triangle made from milk, lard and mashed potatoes.

I will eat my fausnaughts tonight. Mine have powdered sugar on them. I will, also, set up my Cradle to the Cross wreath for Lent. I have decided to put a dab of play dough in each candle well and place a bird for each Wednesday of Lent. I don’t know what I will place in the wells in-between the birds to mark off the days. Please come back to see what develops.
On the eve of the beginning of our walk to Calvary and the ultimate victory dance,
Dawn
This is Danielle. She has cancer. She has decided to give her all in the fight. These are her ninja moves against cancer. I pray victory! You can follow her journey on Facebook at NewLife – A New Beginning Community
9 comments on “You’re never too old, but you might be too young

    • Sylvia,

      I can see, but I can’t make my thumbs move like that! There was a commercial on tv some time ago with a teen boy texting with his thumbs and his father (I think) trying to talk to him and he can see he’s not “getting through” and he stops and says something like, “Are you really communicating like that?” The boy looks up and says, “Totally!”

      I think I have the facts a bit messed up above, but that is the gist of it. Suffice it to say, “I don’t get it.” I’m much like the young cashier when I mentioned fausnaught: Clueless, totally!

  1. Do you know that if it hadn’t been for my Pennsylvania friends, I might have actually bypassed thinking about this tradition this year. Oh my! Have I been so long gone and laid so much aside? I still make my pork and sauerkraut on New Years, and I am surrounded by black eyed peas. Traditions are wonderful fuzzies. We always got the glazed doughnuts, made with yeast. Oh, my! II can well remember my sister’s MIL rolling out her dough and making those from scratch…. Oh, the smell of the kitchen! Yum, yummy yum, yum! Now we’re trying to eat healthier and I don’t think of them that much. Thanks for the visceral pleasure! Life seemed so …safe… then…didn’t it?

    I love seeing my Protestant friends and family including fasting in their Lenten and prayer lives. Throughout my childhood, it was a {{{Catholic}}} tradition and heaven forbid they might actually have a wonderful truth there. Thank you God, for teaching us, especially during this most significant season. If you haven’t watched “The Passion” take that journey. It pains me to see it. I always cry. How must his mother have felt!

    Keep reminding us, Dawn, to be thankful in all…all things! {{{hugs}}}

    • You know, Carrie, my husband said the other day (as we passed Father Kovalak’s Greek Orthodox Church with its cupolas) that if he were not a Methodist, he’d be Orthodox. Who knew?

      Yes, the Catholics have many wonderful truths. I praise God that many of our finest in Protestantism came from their ranks AND, I might add, didn’t want to leave their raith, they just wanted to give a new understanding of the Word. Old World Politics would not allow it. Now doesn’t this sound familiar? Some even died a martyr’s death because those protecting their power could not hear God. Anyway, yes, I love the traditions and today (after free clinic) I will put my first bird in my cradle to cross wreath and post a link to http://www.aholyexperience.com.

      Love you, Carrie!

Leave a Reply

