Scripture and a Snapshot #33 Deuteronomy 11:19

The little girl in the picture is my husband’s Aunt Dolly. She was born March 3, 1913. Which means she is 99 years old TODAY. Aunt Dolly is the last living child of Albert and Kate Solt. This picture of Aunt Dolly and her older sister, Esther (now deceased), was taken with their father, Albert. It was September 28, 1914 and he had just bought the milk route which he had already been operating from FA Pandergraft. Aunt Dolly was 18 months old in this picture.

The Scripture is from The Message, The Bible in Contemporary Language: contemporary language for an antique photo, but the command is as timely today as it was almost 100 years ago, “Teach My word to your children.”

Have a great weekend,

Dawn

21 comments on “Scripture and a Snapshot #33 Deuteronomy 11:19

    • Dear Andrea Dawn,

      I love the old photo and the Scripture and thought they would go great together (if the “lookers on” didn’t know the personalities).

      All is grace,
      Dawn

    • Dear Susan,

      He was a real rascal, but these children had Suzanna Rebecca as their maternal grandmother and Lydia Kate as their mother. They KNEW God. Albert’s story I may share here some day. Interesting that you should ask…

      but not surprising,
      Dawn

  1. Pingback: Resources for Deuteronomy 33:6 - 7

  2. God’s word should be on our minds and tongues all day…but I wonder how many of us really do that day in and day out.

    This photo is such a treasure! I’m always intrigued by very old photos…thanks for sharing this one with us!

  3. Oh my goodness, what an amazing photo. I love it! And I feel a certain connection to it since my birthday is September 28th. The way you connected the past to that verse is just fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing it, and happy birthday to Dolly! Can’t imagine what she has witnessed and learned in those 99 years. What a treasure.

    • Dear Courtney,

      What a treasure you are to appreciate an old picture like this and think about the people in the picture and what life must have been like for them. It’s a real pleasure to meet you!

      Dawn

  4. I love old photos. Have been looking at old photos of our families. The scripture verse is such a great reminder of the importance of sharing God’s Word with our children! A reminder that scripture is a part of our everyday life. Thanks for posting!

    • I am also reminded that what we do in this generation impacts many generations to come. That the little girl in this picture is my husband’s Aunt Dolly who is 99, my husband is 61, our son is 39, and his son is 5. It is a humbling concept.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Oh my goodness, how perfectly awesome that you have that picture. In a throw away society we toss things out and don’t even think about it, so I love that you have this. I love the verse as well, it is one we use to lead us in homeschooling.

    • It is quite awesome, Lisa. My husband’s family kept many valuable pieces and now they have come to my house. I LOVE it. Thanks for your sweet comments.

      Dawn

Leave a Reply

