Burned, Thank God!

Friday is family lunch day. Every Friday my mother and her husband, Terry; my sister, Debby; and my DH and I meet together for lunch. We rotate through 4 restaurants in a semi-systematic order, once every 5 weeks. My mother loves the one restaurant so much that we go there two weeks in a row before moving on. This past week we went to Wendy’s. My sister, my mother and I arranged the tables and talked, the men ordered the food. We women were chit-chatting merrily when the men came back to the table with mounds of food on trays. I vaguely remember my DH sitting our tray of food on the table and placing the food on place mats when, all of a sudden, a tiny tsunami of dark fluid came shooting out at me, soaked through my jeans and scorched my legs. My husband just kept saying “I’m so sorry. I’m so sorry. The lid just popped off.” He was holding his hand. He had put his hand in the middle of the stream to try to stop the steaming coffee from reaching me. He got most of it.

What happened next is still a mystery to me. It was so bizarre that I still can’t believe it really happened. One of the women working there came rushing over to help. While we were mopping up the table and floor drippings with napkins, she stood there and made light conversation with my sister and mother. My husband tried to tell her he burned his hand, but then she spied the Godiva chocolates that were sitting on the table that my sister brought with her for each of us. The cellophane bag of chocolates was easily the size of a small bag of sugar and it contained chocolate “to die for” in 5 different flavors. Once she saw the “shiny thing” she could not focus. She had to select her piece of chocolate. I took my DH to the rest room to run his hand under cold water.

I am not telling you this to disparage the lady, but to tell you, in a parable-like way, that this is exactly what I was like before my work termination. People all around me were really hurting and I didn’t see it. People didn’t just begin having problems in the past couple of weeks, but all I could see was Godiva chocolate, what would meet my needs. All I could see was the 32 hours of work plus on call and mandation I had to do so I could have medical insurance. At the hospital I took care of my patients as best I could, but, in order to do that, I had put on blinders to the world outside the hospital so I would have the energy to function inside the hospital. I thank God that has changed. Now, I can actually offer people a cup of cold water–in His name!

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

Just His lamb,

Dawn

2 comments on “Burned, Thank God!

  1. This is just a perfect object lesson! I would also love to be there to offer help for the burned victims and to offer a glass of cold water… I was just wondering though,,, could I also have chocolate, perhaps! A purple one would be just fine 🙂 Our spirit is so willing but our flesh is weak!
    I think it is marvelous that you do this musical restaurant time together! Such great memories together!

Leave a Reply

