John Wesley’s Prayer

For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way just as we are–yet without sin.      ~Hebrews 4:15

I am no longer my own, but yours.

Put me to what you will, place me with whom you will.

Put me to doing, put me to suffering.

Let me be put to work for you or set aside for you,

praised for you or criticized for you.

Let me be full, let me be empty.

Let me have all things, let me have nothing.

I freely and fully surrender all things to your hope and service.

And now, O glorious and blessed God, Father, Son and Holy Spirit,

you are mine, and I am yours. So be it.

And the covenant which I have made on earth,

let it be made also in heaven.

Amen.

This I pray as I Walk with Him Wednesday with Ann’s community,

Dawn

7 comments on “John Wesley’s Prayer

  1. Is there such a thing as a perfect prayer? I don’t know, but this one looks pretty close to it! This is what it’s all about, this is the way to go. I want to make a print of this and hang it up somewhere to see it often. Thank you, Dawn, for sharing this excellent modeling of really-truly sacrifice!

  2. Let me be full, Let me be empty! I thought long and hard about that today. To be filled, just so that we might be emptied into the lives of those we see around us! It’s a wonderful process, yet so many times we just want the full part. It’s risky sometimes to be emptied, and it might seem wasteful at times. But the Lord always knows what He is doing. Besides, the new filling is always a refreshing, wonderful thing, isn’t it???? I love Wesley. I love his hymns. Thank you, Dawn!

  3. Dear Cora,

    You are HERE! It is so good to “see” you. Did you do something different or did it just happen? (with the connection, I mean) Having you here is my gift of the day! Hugs and hugs. The part about filling and emptying hit me the other day as I was reading this. Today it was

    Let me be put to work for you or set aside for you,

    This prayer speaks to me differently on different days. I am wondering what you mean by “sometimes it might seem wasteful at times.” Hmmmmm. When were you thinking it might be being wasteful?

    I love the Wesley brothers. How great for a preacher to have a musical brother!
    How great for me to have a you, a gifted poet, for a sister!
    Dawn

    • Dawn, it seems that sometimes I can reply, only if I use my facebook account. I can’t seem to use my blogger address and avatar. This is the second time I’m typing this, as it didn’t even accept the facebook one the first time.

      When I said “wasted,” I was thinking more of my human way of thinking: That I poured a lot of myself, my time, energy, resources into a life and then have that person turn away and reject the Lord and His invitation, etc. My first inclination is that I misread God’s leading and wasted my time and His. I always know that is not truth, but rather a lie. God wants us to give everyone a chance to meet Him, and I’m not responsible for another’s response or what they do with the offer of the Gift.

      Hope this goes through!!!!

Leave a Reply

