Rx: Jesus

The woman I am talking to on the phone is calling me about a job I applied for yesterday. She and I chat on and on for about an hour. She wants me to meet three other people on her team. “Can I come Thursday or Friday?” She is using phrases like correlate, ethnography, grounded theory and phenomenology. I haven’t heard those words in conversation for almost a decade. They are music to my ears.

Penn State University is researching health care for disparate populations. They need a qualitative researcher. I am one. I am thinking to myself, “Will someone really pay me to do this?” She assures me they will. I tell her I am interested. Are you kidding? I am ecstatic! Just a month ago I wrote a grant to begin a Parish Nursing program in my church denomination’s district. The outcome of that proposal will be determined in early April. If I am funded, I will take the Foundations of Parish Nursing course. This is a way to provide health care for the disparate populations where I live. I think it is THE way.  I am already invested. Could it be that someone will invest in me, the invested one?

My friend Cherie and I had coffee and oatmeal at Starbuck’s (yeah, I know, who eats oatmeal at Starbuck’s?). We were there talking about Parish Nursing. It is a program of mobilizing nurses in Christian congregations to voluntarily care for church members in the name of Christ. Help can be in the form of putting eye drops in eyes, providing lactation support to breastfeeding families, phoning for prescription renewals–whatever is needed. I wonder how Parish Nursing and qualitative research are going to fit together. I can see how it could, but I wonder how it would. It is exciting to watch these things unfold. Cherie said today, “Jesus is the answer to everyone’s need. We’ve had a suicide on my church’s lawn this past week. You entertained two people who were fired from their jobs. Someone at clinic couldn’t afford his insulin. I could go on and on. We, the church, can meet those needs–every single one of them! Is it any wonder she is my friend? She is brilliant and faithful and so in love with Jesus and nursing. I might also add that she was a high school cheerleader who continues to cheer for Christ! Rah! Rah!

I don’t exactly know where all this is heading, but I am heading into the wind. I can feel the wind picking up. Holy Spirit, I’m holding onto You. I think I am about to leave the eye of the hurricane that I wrote about at https://dschondog.wordpress.com/2012/03/09/the-eye-of-the-hurricane/. My consolation is that He will go with me and His people will lend a hand every step of the way. Some will even walk alongside me. If that’s you, I thank you in advance. Get your rain slicker or parka on! It’s going to be quite a ride!

Showers of blessing,

Dawn

15 comments on “Rx: Jesus

  1. Sounds like the One who knows you intimately is unfolding His plan for this leg of the journey. Ever faithful, leading you into the very things that delight your heart. I’m smiling.

    • Dear Andrea Dawn,

      Oh my goodness, yes! He is doing this. I hadn’t even really thought about the promise, but, yes! this is happening. That is why the Lord happens you by here. He’s still teaching me the Art of Life and when I miss the meaning, He has you spell.it.out.

      Psalm 37:4 Delight yourself in the LORD
      and he will give you the desires of your heart.

      I saw this delight fulfillment yesterday over at Cristal’s for her post and I missed it in my own…so typical! Thanks, too, for saying “this leg of the journey” for truly as the storm whips up the visibility becomes less clear and trust is necessary. He’s allowed me to see a bit, enough to encourage (with the help of my friend, Andrea Dawn), but I must keep going forward even in zero visibility. I have been duly warned…

      Love you,
      Dawn

  2. I have my outback and umbrella ready though really I am quite like a duck and enjoy the rain… I ‘ve learned to dance in the showers of blessings! Praising God with you and waiting to see His miracles unfold….anticipation is such a beauty when trusting God!

    • Dear Susan,

      I go from the intensity of introspection on the supreme intimacy of my Creator in the affairs of humankind to dancing in the rain. It is the transition from Andrea Dawn to Mother Duck. I am quite reminded of all the visual images of the Holy Spirit in the book “The Shack” by Paul Young.

      Young’s depiction of the Holy Spirit is as an Asian woman named Sarayu who moves like the wind based on John 3:8. Young does an incredible job of capturing an air of mystery in this character.

      “As she stepped back, Mack found himself involuntarily squinting in her direction, as if doing so would allow his eyes to see her better. But strangely, he still had a difficult time focusing on her; she seemed almost to shimmer in the light and her hair blew in all directions even though there was hardly a breeze. It was almost easier to see her out of the corner of his eye than it was to look at her directly.” (The Shack, pg.84)

      This is the same sense I get knowing you will be by me on this journey. Yes, it will be quite a ride and maybe, just maybe, we may get to stop by a warm pool for a swim. I know what you would do with that! Hee Hee

      Much joy in the morning,
      Dawn

  3. Forget the parka. Forget the umbrella. Ripping off my shoes, to follow you unincumbered wherever this takes you. Lord, soak our Dawn in your mercy and if we get soaked too, thank you for showing us light and hope.

    Dawn, a friend of mine works with Parish Nursing down here in Sebring In conjunction with the Sebring hospital. She is so happy… Loves it! She sets up educational programs supported by the hospital in churches all over the place. Doctors come and present ( among others.) Wonderful way to reach people. I wonder if Evangelical in Lewisburg works with Parish Nurses yet. Hmmm.

  4. Oh my goodness, Carrie! Could you connect me to Dawn? She sounds like someone I need to know. You are another of my “forget the parka, forget the umbrella, forget the boots–I’m in” people. I am incredibly grateful for your prayer this morning and your support always. I can sense His favor.

    I spent last evening looking at Atlas.ti tutorials.It is the qualitative software Penn State is using–SO excited.

    Love you, Carrie,
    Dawn

    • You are Dawn! She is Suzanne… And yes! I think I could connect you to her. She and her veterinarian husband spent many years as missionaries in Africa. She has an amazing history.

  5. Hey Dawn! That is AWESOME! I will keep you in my prayers! You can’t go wrong doing the Lord’s Work, especially if HE is included!
    God Bless,
    PJ

  6. Oh this is delightful… this Spring coming and all its many miracles unfolding… Open our eyes Lord to see Your glory in all this! You are soooo good Lord and we give You praise… Heaven will indeed be a wonderful place with all these puddle jumpers!

  7. I wanna dance in the rain with everyone above me, Dawn!!!! From start to finish, this post was worthy of the Hallalujeah Chorus!!!!! Isn’t it great how God’s plans unfold, never changing, but ever changing, to meet the needs of today’s world, today’s individual. I never heard of parish nurses until I met you, and the idea is beyond wonderful. You know, I chose to see a . . . I don’t know what she is called. . . maybe above a “nurse practioner” but below an MD. There is an MD there, but no one wants to see him. They all ask for Carrie. I’ve been seeing her now for 3 years and would die if I had to go somewhere else.

    20 years ago, we never thought of “church” as the place for these things. Now, I ask myself, Why in the world did we not do these things???? We collected boocoo amounts of money to send Dr.s and nurses to the other side of the world to do just this, yet, we did not meet the need on our own corner. God forgive us!

    I just can’t wait to puddle jump with everyone who commented above me. This just made my day —- and it was a crabby one to start with as I’m without air on a VERY hot Florida day. Thank you for changing that, Dawn!

  8. Cora,

    I think sometimes there is a glitch between blogger and wordpress. I can never get my postings to land in Liz Eberle’s comment column and she uses blogger. I know the frustration of typing and losing it. May I suggest you type into your word processing document, save it and then cut and paste. When I post to a site that has chronically given me trouble, that is what I do. I have never had trouble over at your place, praise the Lord!

    Carrie may be a physician’s assistant, perhaps? I think nurse practitioners have gotten the shaft here in PA and maybe across the whole US. Our health system s wants them to do the job of a primary physician without the proper education. A nurse practitioner goes to school 18 months after college. A primary care physician goes 7 years after college, that’s a HUGE difference. Physician’s assistants have an internship after their Master’s Degree, just a little more than a nurse practitioner. I am so glad you like your primary care provider. A good one is becoming a rarity in the States today.

    One question, Puddle Jumpers, will there be rain in heaven, just sayin’

    Dawn

  9. This title caught my eye. Every morning, when I head to CrossFit with Camden for our 5am workout, we arrive to find the WOD (workout of the day). And it will always have an RX next to each skill (meaning that’s what weight they hope you’ll use). I don’t think I will ever RX a workout. I can barely lift some of that weight off the ground and surely not over my head! It’s a bit discouraging at times, knowing I’ll never RX the WODs.

    But, this here on your blog, I can do! And I’m encouraged because this RX is exactly what I long for and live for!! 🙂

    • You know, Cristal, I was going to begin the post explaining Rx, but for some reason I didn’t. This needed to be done and you did it! Thank you.

      Rx is derived from the Latin word ‘recipe’ which means to take. It is the shortened term for a prescription meaning this is what you are supposed to do.

      You are so right, Cristal. We can do Jesus. His yoke is easy and His burden is light.

      Thanks for your very valuable contribution. Love it,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

