Wash Day

Debbie Steinbacher shared a blog site on her Facebook page today from http://www.aquinasandmore.com entitled It’s Wash Day. Yes, Maunday Thursday of Holy Week is Wash Day. It is the day that the disciples were told to get an Upper Room ready for the Last Supper where they would eat, He would say His good-byes and wash their feet. Sylvia over at http://www.sylvrpen.com said this morning that Jesus had 24 hours to live and her blog was about what He did with his last day.

Sylvia said that He connected with His closest friends, said His good-byes and gave them instructions on what to do after He died. It was really important that they understood His instructions so He set up an experiential learning exercise which also served as His last gift to them: He washed their feet. I would have been very much like Peter and not have wanted the Lord of the Universe to wash my feet (besides, I am so ticklish that it would have turned a beautiful, solemn moment into a laugh fest, but I think Jesus was up to the challenge. I can see Him smile in my mind’s eye.) A simple reprimand from Jesus, “If I do not wash you, you have no part with me.” settles the issue for Peter and, in true Simon Peter fashion, he replies, “Lord, not my feet only, but also my hands and my head.” John 13:8,9

Yes, it was Wash Day. Jesus washed the feet of each one of His disciples and then He began the debriefing, “Do you know what I have done to you?”

“You call me Lord and Master, and ye say well, for I am. If I, then, your Lord and Master, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I have given you an example, that ye should do as I have done to you.” John 13:13-15

Carrie posted verse 15 today on her Facebook page. Now I know why. “You should do as I have done to you” is the quintessential lesson of Wash Day. For those who do the wash in your family, you know how unrelenting it is. There is always something that needs washed. Jesus knew that. He could see the mess and He set out to take care of it. He didn’t hire the job out. He couldn’t. He was the only one who could do it and He did.

Who will we pass today who needs to know what Jesus is going to do tomorrow and why? We can keep it to ourselves in a small group in an upper room and feel special because we got our feet washed or we can spread it around. He left us instructions.

May I be faithful,

Dawn

6 comments on “Wash Day

  1. I leave here today with a lifetime of things to ponder, Dawn. Here we all are, counting the gifts that come our way — the thousands of graces that the Lord has bestowed on us. And after reading this today, I wonder how many of these I have passed on to others around me. It’s one thing to say “thank you” —– and it’s been hard enough to learn to SEE them, write them down, and have a thankful heart for each and every one —- but now, we see a commandment that we are to do for others as has been done for us. I wonder how it would change our day if we took our lists in our hand and made a conscious effort to give each one away to someone else????? Thank you!!! And by the way, I’m am deathly ticklish, too. And somehow, I can just see Peter with a cocked smile and some bravado and false humility telling our Lord to wash the whole thing!!!! Now that’s something I’d do, too.

  2. I left the house just after completing this post. I was going to meet a young friend who had just fought an ugly custody battle for her daughter and a friend who just returned from a Caribbean cruise–quite a mix, no? On my way, I talked to a friend whose son just had surgery to take teeth out of his palate. The surgeon told her that they sent what he removed from the palate for analysis since it looked like a rare cancer and he wanted to make sure it wasn’t. (No comment on this kind of bedside manner.) Anyway, she was telling me that God answered her prayers by bringing Mason through the surgery so well. I told her that God always answers. Sometimes we just don’t recognize it. I reminded her that she was terminated from the hospital a mere 3 weeks ago (for the alleged same reason I was) and how the initial evil turned out to be wonderful when it was all said and done. She is still watching it all unfold.

    I then picked up a friend who is deathly afraid of the dentist and took her for a root canal. We prayed and sang worship songs on the ride to the dentist’s office. Praise, worship and 10 mg of Valium enabled her to face the chair. Two hours later she was walking out of the dentist’s feeling no pain or anxiety! While waiting for her, however, I got to talk to the wife of the physician in charge of the Community Health Center in town and got the inside “scoop” on the health needs of the poor in our city and what needs to be done.

    I’m home now with a roast in the oven and rice and carrots steaming on the top of the stove. It was so good to “talk” to you as I wait for the food to get done. Thanks for passing by…tickle, tickle!

    • So you spent the day passing on your gifts???!!!! How truly wonderful is that! Here I am, one of those who is deathly afraid of the dentist. I was tortured by one as a kid. He delighted in bringing pain to others. So here I am, with a mouth full of rotten teeth. It seemed that after chemo, etc., they just caved in and crumbled. I know I have to go and get them all pulled — what’s left to pull, that is. I get knots in my stomach just thinking about it. If given the choice, I’d take the cancer treatments over the dentist visit!!!!!

      The roast sounds sooooo good!

      • Dear Cora,

        You need to get a dentist who uses gas. They now have teeth that they implant in the gums. They are expensive, but they are better than false teeth that come in and out. The worst part is deciding to do it. I will pray you can contemplate this clearly and with peace and get it behind you.

        The roast was sooooo good, soooo tender. It melted in our mouths. I used Ann Voskamp’s recipe on her site.

        Have a Good Friday,
        Dawn

  3. You dear ladies are precious… I smiled as I watched your visit…
    Cora I agree with you about going to the dentist and will pray you find a comforting way to get your mouth looked after. It will feel so much better in the end. I had to have my jaw broken and wired shut for 6 weeks to correct a life long problem… I am sooo happy to have it all behind me and a mouth in great working order. Blessings to you.

    In pioneer club, 22 years ago, as an example of what Christ had done on this Maundy Thursday, I washed the feet of a dear friend who was my helper in this very wonderful class of 25 grade ones. She came in dressed in a tunic as Jesus would have worn and in clumpy dusty sandals. With the bowl of warm water I washed her feet free from the summer dust and dried them. We had not practiced this nor gone over what we would say and the spontaneity of her humble pleasure over it gave such great joy to me… it made the verse so much more real that says it is more blessed to give than to receive. Bent low over her dusty feet, doing this simple servitude, held a simple glory I cannot explain, only that I have never forgotten the sensation. Love one another as I have loved you… each time we do this there is a simple glory shone down upon us that is unexplainable but completely life renewing.
    Jesus knew this would happen even in His own love poured out for us.

    love your post Dawn!

Leave a Reply

