The whole world changed one Sunday morning

I plan to get up about 5 am tomorrow morning. I don’t want to miss celebrating the most significant event in world history. Everything and everyone was dying. There was no hope. The world was spinning out of control. Evil wrapped its dirty tentacles around the creation and it died. Beyond the grave there was no assurance of a better world. There was no way to get cleaned up, no way to get rid of the filth. Men studied the stars looking for a sign that would point the way out, but somehow the celestrial bodies never lined up quite right until one day…

they pointed to a manger in a cave-stable on the outskirts of a little town called Bethlehem. Hmmm…just like the prophets said would happen. Some people realized who this baby was and the story began. God had come to earth to talk to us up close and personal about Who He was and what it was He wanted. He came to Israel so He was Jewish and spoke Aramaic. We learn about God through this cultural lens until the day the powerful Jews got tired of having Him around, and crucified Him on trumped up charges. Well, so they thought. Actually, God gave Him(self) up to them as the blood sacrifice needed to save the world. His death happened on Friday.

Friday at lunch my mother’s husband, Terry, asked where Jesus went from Friday after his death till Sunday morning. My husband, the Preacher, said the Scriptures and church tradition have Him going to the dead to preach to them before He showed Himself again to His followers. I hadn’t thought much about it before, but Jesus was busy during his grave days. He wasn’t just lying around in grave clothes. Could it be that behind the stone that blocked the entrance to His tomb no one was there? Was Jesus somewhere else?

At what point was Jesus risen? Joseph of Arimathea, to his own peril, went to Pilate and asked for Jesus’ dead body. He wrapped the body in a linen shroud and placed it in a tomb chiseled from rock that had never been used. (Luke 23:50-56). The same Scripture says the women followed Joseph and then they went back to prepare burial spices and perfumes. I remember when I was a kid I would think that my toys and stuffed animals would come alive after I left my room. I would run back quickly to try to “catch” them at it. I would love to have been a mouse along the wall of this hand-hewn tomb after the stone had sealed it shut, to have seen what went on in the tomb from Friday after Joseph and the women left until Sunday morning! Jack, over at http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/does-the-bible-tell-us-where-jesus-was-the-three-days-between-his-death-and-resurrection/ goes through a thorough exegesis of what Christ might have been up to on Saturday, but wouldn’t it be marvelous to know?!

I DO know that He came to earth to die for the sins of the whole world and He did die. I DO know that He came out of the tomb on Sunday morning, and when He did that, He showed us that He had conquered death. The whole world changed that Sunday morning. My whole world changed that Sunday morning! I want to celebrate!

Happy Easter!

He is risen!

Dawn

8 comments on “The whole world changed one Sunday morning

  1. It really gives life perspective, doesn’t it? Time seems endless to us, but it is just the “blink of an eye” to God. Nothing today should really suck my strength because in the scheme of things it’s but a moment and He is with me through the moments.He can see where those moments are leading, too. I may think I know, but I really don’t. One of those moments may change our whole destination and who am I to dispute it?

    It makes me think of a scene from the movie Longitude, the biography of John Harrison, the man who spent his life figuring out how to know where a ship was in the vast ocean. John was a man with knowledge in his head, but no sea experience, who had to convince people in charge of ships, captains, that he really knew where they were based on mathematical calculations rather than on evidence they were seeing in the water around them. The captain was a seasoned sailor with leadership qualities that set him apart from the average sailor. He was quite capable of reading the signs of the weather. He knew his men and he knew his ship. What he didn’t know was exactly where he was in the water…until John Harrison. John figured it out without spending a single day at sea. He did it arithmetically. He then spent days at sea in order to learn how to package his chronometer to withstand long days at sea. Depending on the circumstances, a captain may be able to “get by” for a long while without knowing his exact location, but sometimes not knowing could spell death. Knowing what we know today, you’d think any captain worth his salt would have loved to travel with John Harrison. In those days, however, John Harrison was belittled and scoffed at. Many men died needlessly before captains trusted what John told them. Today no one would sail without knowing their latitude AND their longitude exactly.

    Rethinking the movie Longitude made me think how foolish I would be to travel without God. He knows where I am, even when I think I’m running my own ship. He lives and will gladly be my navigator if I just let him.

    Thanks for your comments, Cristal.

  2. Your hubs is a preacher? a year of knowing you and I still didn’t know that. Anyway… That passage is in one of the Peters (1st I think) it’s about Jesus preaching to the souls from the days of Noah – the worst generation that has ever lived on this planet – we think ours is bad – but theirs was so bad that God wiped the whole thing out and start all over. If you’re going to pick a bad lot to preach to – preach to the people from Sodom and Gomorrah – preach to the people from Noah’s day. I wrote a paper about this in seminary – I have all sorts of conclusions about it – and what Our Lord r did in those three days, it answers one of the biggest questions I’ve ever had, about what happens to the people who never heard him preach, or have never heard his gospel before they died. The bottom line, guaranteed answer is that our Lord is just – so he will make the most just way. But hidden in these little verses written by Peter – there’s another answer – a future blog series maybe – or just e-mail me sometime if you’re curious. I’ve taken too much of your comment space already. Anyway, happy Easter my friend, and God bless and keep you and yours.

  3. Craig,

    It’s been a long time since you visited. I’m glad you came on this most holy of weekends. It is such a marvelous time without which nothing would mean much of anything. I’d like to see a series on your blog about where Jesus was when we thought He was in the grave. There is a lot of territory to cover and you are just the one to do it. I think there are places throughout the whole Bible that make me think a lot of different things. A nice synthesis of your in-depth study would be a joy.

    Never think you are taking up too much of my comment space. It is absolutely, hands down, the best part of the blog. You modeled that over at your sites.

    Thanks for passing by. Tomorrow is going to be glorious,
    Dawn

  4. I also rejoice with you!
    Our Sun is glorious today; yesterday I helped deliver some little goat kids into this sunshiny season of hope and rejoicing. Today they leap and bound together as if they have always been friends and always known rejoicing. We had six baptisms at church today (Yay) and Eduardo came to the special service I have been preparing with the choir for. With the orchestra playing alongside us it was a truly celebrating time! Jesus has Risen indeed!!!!

    I rejoice with you.( I also enjoyed the blog you sent us to)

  5. Susan,

    I have longed for someone who loves to dig into details like you do. So many people I know simply aren’t interested in research. I do so enjoy our discussions and the new worlds you open up for me, like goat midwifery!

    Hoppy Easter (and I’m not talking bunnies), dear friend,
    Dawn

  6. Dear Friend Dawn, One phrase in this blog stood out to me “what Jesus was doing during his grave days.” That really left me thinking and equating it to us, still living, and sometimes going through “grave days”…those times when the cares of the world and of our own small spheres seem “grave.” Perhaps we should give a lot of thought to what Jesus expects US to do during those dark, separated times. If HE was not idle, then maybe the best way out of our personal “grave days” is to become active, involved, forward looking and confident that soon the stone will be rolled away and the light will again shine. Just wanted to share these thoughts with you. Hugs, as always, Nancy

    • This comment deserves its own post. This was magnificent in its breadth and depth and makes me think so much more broadly about this “time” in Jesus’ life. I AM going to run with this for Multitudes on Mondays tomorrow. See you there!

      Dawn

Leave a Reply

