The Magnificat Monday

The Preacher preached from Luke 1 yesterday. It is midway between Easter and Pentecost and the Preacher is preaching about the time just-pregnant Mary goes to visit third-trimester-pregnant Aunt Elizabeth! Ah, a glorious time it was, but it is not Advent, Dear Husband. He persists. He tells the congregation that Mary praised God no matter what He asked of her. When she was called upon to walk around pregnant “having known no man” she said to the messenger, “Be it onto me as you have said.” When told to go visit her Aunt

Elizabeth, she makes the journey and finds Elizabeth is waiting for her. You can see by the picture that the two women have a good laugh when Elizabeth’s fetus leaps in the presence of Mary’s fetus. Then there is the issue of getting Joseph to believe her and then the new family making the trip to Bethlehem near her due date. After giving birth in a stable far from home amongst shepherds, animals and angels, the Scriptures say, “Mary treasured these things in her heart.”

At the newborn’s circumcision at 8 days of age Simeon told her that “a sword would pierce her heart” and then she went to Egypt to live. The Wise Men overheard Herod’s plan to kill all the newborn males 2 years of age and under to snuff out the one the stars had signaled had been born in the land of the Hebrews. Herod was scared and jealous so he killed the babies. When Joseph deemed it safe, she returned to her hometown of (can-anything-good-come-out-of ) Nazareth. In Nazareth she raised the Son of God. And once she had him raised? He told her he had to die, and then he was beaten and crucified in front of her eyes.

The Preacher tells about seeing the Pieta at the World’s Fair in 1965. He was 14.

I have had the enviable experience of seeing the statuary called the Pieta. Today you must travel to Rome and go to St. Peter’s to view it. In 1965 the piece was brought to New York City to the World’s Fair where I was one of several million to pass by it on a conveyor belt so I could view it for a few moments. It was carved in 1498 and is the first and only piece ever signed with the name Michelangelo. The carving in gorgeous Carrara marble is nearly perfect and can only be described as being beyond beautiful.

The irony is that it depicts one of the most un-beautiful events in human history… the moment in time frozen forever of the Virgin holding the ravaged and lifeless body of her son. A moment no one can understand except for one who has endured such a thing… as she had… and providentially few of us ever will.

The Preacher went on to say that very little is known about the end of Mary’s life, but I think I know one thing for sure. She knew he raised from the dead and was thankful she had been faithful to her part in the plan.

Today my soul magnifies the Lord and I am thankful for

#619 His plans. He has one for each of us. I marvel at that. The God of the universe has a plan for me; it’s so incredible it seems unreal!

#620 connections from unlikely places that become a piece in the mosaic that will be Parish Nursing in my church.

#621 my friend, Ashley, who will begin a new job tomorrow and I have had opportunities to speak truth to those who matter.

#622 my daughter being willing to come up when my son graduates this Friday evening. She and Dad (who is too weak to travel and then sit through a 2-hour graduation ceremony) will watch 3 Stooges movies together and laugh their heads off.

#623 a much-needed time of rest and refocus. I have applied for 48 jobs and posted countless resumes since my unemployment began in January. I am required to apply for three jobs per week as a part of the unemployment compensation program. I have only been interviewed twice. I have still not heard from those jobs, but others tell me via e-mail that my qualifications do not match their needs. I truly don’t know what I would do if I was offered a job. I know what I am supposed to do and it would be too much to add to what I am already preparing.

#624 the news that a young friend has a new home with a yard and enough room for her three children to grow.

#625 a chance to watch the movie 13 Going on 30 this week with my husband. It encapsulated for me what life is really all about. Of course, it was not a Christian film so the relationship with Christ was not in it, but everything else was there. My favorite part was near the end when the lead character’s partner told the lead character’s best friend what his best friend had done with all his hard work. I knew he didn’t believe her because he could read people very well. Later when the lead character asked why he didn’t believe her he said, “Oh, I stopped believing her in third grade when she stole my pop rocks.” I LOVED it! Such wisdom. We must be wise as serpents and gentle as doves.

 

#626 the arrival of a promised check to cover my room and board at my parish nursing class next week with EXTRA money for gas. My Father owns the cattle on a thousand hills.

#627 the ministry of First Place 4 Health. I wrote about it last week at https://dschondog.wordpress.com/2012/04/25/losing-weight/

#628 the therapeutic help of support hose for me and my sister. She refused to wear them for years and finally she relented. She is amazed that her ankles aren’t swollen anymore.

The varicose veins on my legs

Tsk, tsk, listen to thy sister. These bad boys run in our family and they are becoming a nusience. If you have them, get the stockings!

#629 the name of a good surgeon so that my sister can get relief from the pain of the varicose veins. (She has to wear the stockings 90 days before the powers that be will reimburse for the operation.)

#630 the experiences of life that position me to help the young. What a gift from the Lord in old age.

#631 the Virgin Mary’s example.

The Magnificat

My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord,
my spirit rejoices in God my Savior
for he has looked with favor on his lowly servant.
From this day all generations will call me blessed:
the Almighty has done great things for me,
and holy is his Name.

He has mercy on those who fear him
in every generation.
He has shown the strength of his arm,
he has scattered the proud in their conceit.

He has cast down the mighty from their thrones,
and has lifted up the lowly.
He has filled the hungry with good things,
and the rich he has sent away empty.

He has come to the help of his servant Israel
for he remembered his promise of mercy,
the promise he made to our fathers,
to Abraham and his children forever.

(Luke 1:46-55)

May He multiply our thanks as we gather here on Multitudes on Monday,

Dawn

9 comments on “The Magnificat Monday

  1. #630 the experiences of life that position me to help the young. What a gift from the Lord in old age… Thank you for being a faithful “older woman” You are a blessing even if this one visit on the internet!

  2. I’m usually a fast reader, but today I drank slowly from this well. Dawn, I don’t know where to begin to make a comment. The first big, glowing highlight for me was the quote you had that says, “Mary treasured these things in her heart.” The word, treasured, jumped out at me. I have a few things I treasure, and the older I get, the more I realize that these “things” aren’t really treasures. It’s what I hold deep within my heart that I treasure most. “The Preacher” is a wise man. I would have loved to hear that sermon!

    I smiled at #626! I loved that story, and I love that He brought to pass the promise given. Can’t wait to hear more about this Parish Nursing. There is a gal in my church who is a nurse, fed up with the system, and really perked up when I told her about you.

    I liked the stocking thing. My ankles used to swell a lot. But for some reason, chemo did something to my feet. No swelling, and the bones don’t hurt anymore. One good side effect of chemo!!!!

    This was so beautiful today, Dawn. Maybe because I came with a heart prepared to read this. The Lord has a way of doing that, you know. Thank you!!!

    • Dear Cora,

      I smiled when you spoke of treasure. It does mean a lot to you. The very name of your blog has treasure in it. Bruce Olson who is a missionary to the Motilone Indians in Columbia/Venezuela tells a story of one of the Indians tellling him that one difference between their culture and Bruce’s was what they did with what was important. Motilones tell everyone when something is important. Americans don’t talk about things they think are important. Bruce was confused until the Motilone said, “Well, Americans never talk about how much money they make or about their faith.”

      Our actions reveal what our treasures are and Mary had a steady consistency that I admire.

      Your story of your ankles after chemo is fascinating. I wonder what your docs say about that. You just don’t throw something like this in the comment section and expect a nurse to just move right along. It just makes me wonder.

      You know, when my husband preached the sermon I got an image of him as a skinny young teen (he matured late in his adolescence) standing in front of this mammoth, sparkling pieta and the angels smiling from ear to ear with a choir singing in the heavenlies. What a moment!

      Thanks for following along my journey and leaving such wonderful encouragement in my path. Much love,
      Dawn

      • When I mentioned the feet thing to my oncologist, he said, “Huh!!!” and that was the end of that. Another nurse said that the steroids and something else in the cocktail mix is the same thing they used to use for arthiritic patients??? Am I right on that? It’s been a while since that conversation took place. Anyways, it worked!

  3. Love the picture at the beginning, such joy radiates from them both. I was so blessed by the account of the Preacher and the Pieta . . . when I was in my late teens I read an historical novel about Michelangelo and found it tremendously moving. I would love to read it again.

    Your # 619 and 620 seem to go hand in hand to me and they are what stood out to me . . . I guess that’s because I am about to start looking for work again and am trusting that He has a plan and will see that I make the connections to what He’s prepared and who I will work with/for.

    P.S. I would love for you to visit . . . I have several posts that you may have missed.

  4. the empty tomb and testimony of the angels would have been the ‘hope restorer’ to a mother, who, I am not sure how she could have endured the pain, of all she witnessed concerning her beloved Son. Preacher going back to the pondering moments of joy and hope shared with her dear cousin Elizabeth is probably how her mind would have wandered, going back over every detail, searching for answers, looking for ‘hope restored’ … waiting…

    your ministry in parish nursing will help restore hope in some who have lost all hope, and maybe help those who have endured great pain and loss and look to have their hope restored… So many have gone before us to show us the way… it is always Jesus… just give me Jesus

    I also loved the overflowing that came with your room and board! God is indeed all that we could ever hope for…
    blessings dear one!
    love you… praying for strength for dear preacher…give him a hug from us, and one for you too!

  5. Dawn,
    In 1971 Paul and I actually stood before the Pieta in Rome. We were on a tour that took us to several countries, many churches, lots of “photo ops”, but I distinctly remember stopping in front of the Pieta and catching my breath. It was so lovely and one of those images that has stayed with me these many years. Lots of the other sights we saw I cannot recall, nor can I recall how I felt about them. However, the Pieta cannot be forgotten. At that time I had recently given birth to Matt….and had 2 other sons…and I could “feel” the heart of a mother that this image of Mary holding her son elicited. I’m so blessed to have had the opportunity to see it first hand.
    Looking forward to Thursday. Hugs, Nancy

    • That would be a very special moment, indeed, Nancy. How fortunate you wee and to have that image as a young mother would certainly have cemented the imprint, probably even more so that to the 14 year old boy my husband was, and he was awestruck.

Leave a Reply

