“He would lie down on the floor next to me.”

For the past week, I have been writing about intercessory prayer as a call to action as well as a heart-felt plea to God on behalf of another. This morning I read in Called to Controversy: The Unlikely Story of Moishe Rosen and the Founding of Jews for Jesus about the compassion of Moishe Rosen. Richard Harvey, head of Moishe’s London branch of Jews for Jesus, tells the story of how one day when he was suffering so badly from a bad back that all he could do was lie down on the floor at the International meeting that Moishe would lie down on the floor next to him.

That about sums up what I have been trying to say. When we pray and ask God to help someone, we should get a vision of how we can step out to fulfill that “help,” how to “be with” that person in some way. There was a story circulating on the internet about a man who came into the church and went to the front of the church and sat cross-legged in front of the altar. As the service began, the usher took his place beside him for the service. In Belize, Central America, one of my students took her place in the sand by the village “idiot” every morning and shared her Skittles before going to teach at the school.

I am on my way out the door this morning to prepare health posters, pamphlets and cards, at least, my Friends, I think that is what I am going to be doing. This morning I prayed with the Puritan Prayer Book Valley of Vision

Lord God Almighty

They understanding is unsearchable and infinite

Thy arm cannot be stayed,

They agency extends through limitless space,

All works hang on Thy care,

With Thee time is a present now

My God is so BIG. He sees beyond my computer, beyond my paper, pen and printer ink. He sees the people I will pass and who needs me to stop to “be with” them today. The prayer ends

Teach me in health to think of sickness,

in the brightest hours to be ready for darkness;

in life prepare me for death.

Praying for holy consciousness,

Dawn

7 comments on ““He would lie down on the floor next to me.”

  1. Dawn, nothing has meant more to me than following you all this time — from when you were asking for prayer for the administrative staff at your hospital, the unfair decisions they were making, etc., all the way to . . . . .this. Who knew what the Lord was REALLY setting up? We all encouraged you about new directions, new jobs, new people, new faces. . . . and that He would take care of you, no matter yet. Who knew that He was creating a whole NEW YOU! It brings tears to my eyes, as it’s changed us, too!
    Last night, Pastor told us that he met with his hard-core biker friends out at a reststop on the interstate. These are the “One-percenters” as they are called — the unreachables, etc. He said there were six there waiting for him. 5 he already knew and had been saved, the 6th he did not know. As they talked, an elderly couple came towards them, stopped and looked. The man said, “Do any of you really know what you are reading?” Pastor said, “Yes, it’s the Bible, God’s Word.” And the lady said, “Well! I hope you all know that NONE of you are going to go to Heaven as you all have tattoos!” Pastor did not respond, and one of the bikers poked him and said “Tell them who you are!” He said under his breath, just leave it be! The older couple walked away in a huff. The new biker turned and said, “See that??? THAT is what I’ve gotten all my life! Condemnation!” Pastor knew this was the perfect set up for him, and he opened his Bible to Romans 8:1, and as simply as he could, explained how there was no condemnation in Christ. The guy accepted Christ as His Savior right there. Now there are 6. Pastor said he wondered if this was real, or was it just for the other guys’ sake, but later this biker called him and said, “The other guys were telling me that Jesus is coming back again and will take us to Heaven, is that true?” Pastor explained it all to him and he said, “Oh how I wish He would come today!” A sign of a true believer, wouldn’t you say?

    All I could think of when I read your post, Dawn, about the guy sitting crossed legged at the altar, was my pastor, with all his degrees and college teaching background, sitting at a reststop with these biker buddies teaching and mentoring them in the Word.Who knows where He will take US when we are willing to walk out our doors and follow in His footsteps?! “Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in thy sight, oh Lord, my strength and my redeemer!”

    • Cora…what a beautiful story you shared about your Pastor!! He truly is being conformed to the image of Jesus Christ by seeing others with compassion! I am thankful my husband and I are also being conformed to Jesus Christ and the story of your Pastor really made me reflect how much God has also changed the heart of my husband…he used to make $130k/yr and now he works for $13/hr as a Chaplain that counsels and disciples men at a homeless mission while he studies for his master’s in divinity–all in obedience to God and in the strength He supplies. My husband loves those men and I watched as God answered my prayers from one year ago that my husband would grow in God’s grace to others and be a vessel of grace…I watched the chains of criticism and lack of compassion come off of him to where he could only see others with compassion. All this prepared him for what he does now 🙂

      Dawn, I’m glad I found your blog…God is calling me to a deeper level of interssory prayer and what you wrote confirms…compassion and being able to mourn when others mourn and have mercy for them in their trials, being willing to walk alongside them and take them to the throne of grace is an honor. I am blessed to watch Him work and I join you in praying for holy consciousness.

    • P.S. The Scriptures that came to remembrance when I read the story about your Pastor are:
      The Lord’s bond-servant must not be quarrelsome, but be kind to all, able to teach, patient when wronged, with gentleness correcting those who are in opposition, if perhaps God may grant them repentance leading to the knowledge of the truth..”2 Timothy 2:24-25

      “But go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.” Matthew 9:13

  2. You really travel with the “faces of Christ,” don’t you, Cora?! Dorothy Day, Catholic social worker, wrote that poverty is the face of Christ and she said she always saw the face of Christ in the poor. She believed God made it a point to be with the poor. I believe you do, too. I am so honored to have you walk with me, just as I am.

  3. this ending of your prayer…
    Teach me in health to think of sickness,
    in the brightest hours to be ready for darkness;
    in life prepare me for death….

    This is all around us if we walk with Christ. This is His work and has always been… may we always be yielded tools in His loving hands as we go out into the world each day.
    The Lord is doing a good work, He always does…
    It is in reading a testimony as yours Dawn that we see it so plainly and thus can exalt His holy name! I love to see each word you will share with us and wait for them. And Cora, How God can bring us all together through a simple blog or two or three is a miracle in itself… I love you dear ladies! Please keep us in your prayers as we have so many choices and important decisions to be making and want to respond in God’s love… on our knees before our Maker waiting on Him.

  4. You, dear Susan, will receive the answers you need God promises to give us the desires of our heart if we delight in Him. I know no one who delights in the Lord more than you Susan. He is most certainly in the center of your family as you bow before Him in prayer.

    He is faithful to complete what He’s started in us, (Phil 1:6)
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

