Simple

11 “This command I am giving you today is not too difficult for you to understand, and it is not beyond your reach. 12 It is not kept in heaven, so distant that you must ask, ‘Who will go up to heaven and bring it down so we can hear it and obey?’ 13 It is not kept beyond the sea, so far away that you must ask, ‘Who will cross the sea to bring it to us so we can hear it and obey?’ 14 No, the message is very close at hand; it is on your lips and in your heart so that you can obey it.” ~ Deuteronomy 30

My Bible study guide alluded to the fact that the words of Moses in Deuteronomy 30:11-14 affirm that God’s instructions to us are simple. It asked me to look up the word “simple”. I didn’t know it would be so enlightening. (Right now, Cora, my word-loving blogger friend, is getting excited!) Here are the meanings I found for simple:

  • composed of one thing
  • not complicated
  • foolish
  • having little or no ornamentation
  • unassuming
  • not guileful or deceitful
  • humble or lowly in rank
  • ordinary or common
  • basic, with nothing added or subtracted
  • any herbaceous plant having medicinal properties

I got the message that God’s instructions are concise, basic, common, truthful, understandable, straight-forward and could even be considered foolish (if read by those who do not know their Author). Now here is the cool part, at least for an old nurse like me. Moses says in Deuteronomy 32:47

47 They are not just idle words for you—they are your life. By them you will live long in the land you are crossing the Jordan to possess.”

God’s instructions are a medicinal plant! If you obey them, you will live long. THEY ARE YOUR LIFE!

If I go through my day not obeying the Word of God, it is like going through my day breathless. Every move is a struggle. That’s not really living. And so…I wonder what I am not realizing. I wonder how many areas of my life are not yielded to Him. I wonder how much of my daily struggle is the result of simple disobedience. The memory verse for this week is

Why do you call me “Lord, Lord,” and do not do what I say? ~ Luke 6:46

I wrote this prayer in my journal today: Jesus, this verse concerns me. I do call You “Lord,” but I do not always do what You say. Lord, (see, I do call You that) You are talking to me about obedience. Give me heart ears to hear what You are pointing out to me through Your simple Word. Amen

Sometimes hard of hearing,

Dawn

10 comments on “Simple

  1. You were right, Dawn. I did look it up. And simple is just plain. . . .simple! I remember as a teenager stressing over “finding God’s will” for my life. It seemed that preachers all made it sound like a coded map of some kind to find hidden treasure! A complicated thing found only by a very few pious, spiritual, solitary people who walked very very close to God! If only I had known the simplicity of “Hear God and Do What He Says!” That is the theme of our church. I’m praying your prayer with you tonight, Dawn. I call Him Lord, yet. … at the end of the day, I’m frustrated, tired, and wondering why I still have pieces to the puzzle in my hands and can’t find where they fit. If only I had stopped and simply listened with a hearing heart!!!!

  2. simple… not complex
    yet it is the complexities in life that often own us… I am trying to make ‘simple’ my lifestyle. It is so difficult to change but in letting go of complexity there is true freedom. A simple faith, a simple trust, a simple walk. a simple explanation to those around us of the hope that is in us… Jesus died in the place of sinners and made a way for all to come unto the Father. I don’t know about the many in the world but my heart breaks if I fall short… over and over I lay broken and he always takes me up and breathes life into me; He gives His hope and then comes joy.
    I love how Jesus says come unto me all ye who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn of me for my yoke is easy and my burden is light. I wonder why we so often yoke ourselves instead to the world and then wonder why we are crushed under the burden. Lord I ask for a simple faith, enough to rest under your yoke and walk in Your path, with You.

    Dawn I so enjoyed your thoughts through this post. May he cause us to both ‘will’ and ‘to do” of His good pleasure. ( Including all my beloveds in on this prayer)
    love you friend.
    (if I arrive there it is because the mosquitoes carried me away from here. They are alive and well in Willow River and gosh but the birds are pleased)

    • Susan,

      Did you get over to Cora’s today? Her post reminded me of an old one of yours from April 13, 2011 entitled True Love. It sure did take me awhile to find it, but I put the address over at Cora’s so others could find it. You write so very very well. I reread it while I was there and it struck me that you were writing about Granny Ruth and now she is gone. You also wrote about telling Granny that your Bethany had gotten engaged to a Mexican prince. Now they are building their home across from yours.

      I met you late in our lives and feel so privileged to have been able to walk with you for even this short span of time.

      I hope the birds got their fill of mosquitoes,
      Dawn

      • I did visit Cora! Such beauty there! Amazing!
        the photo of the face in the hands will never leave me… her words so very powerful…God’s love is simple…Love Me He says and love one another !
        What can get simpler than that! His yoke is easy… it is a yoke of love

  3. You make me realize we make a lot of our own difficulties. What’s hard is obeying when you’ve got a resistant heart. What’s simple is just obeying with a yielded, trusting heart. Pray for ever-growing trust? Sounds like a good thing for me to do!

  4. “What is simple is just obeying with a yielded, trusting heart.”. Thanks for that, Sylvia. Dawn, wonderful post. Why DO we call him “Lord” and not do what he says! Oh, my… It should be so ” simple.”.

    • Carrie,

      Deb’s Ed had cervical spine surgery. He had to stay overnight because he had trouble with nausea and vomiting from the anesthesia and was unable to void (boy, does that sound clinical), but everything is working now and he’s home. His arm is no longer numb and he is very hopeful that what was needed was done. He has to be still 2 weeks. I told Deb I would bring a sledge hammer and hit him over the head if she needed me to help keep him down. Just trying to be a good friend and help, you know. (lol) One of my former students was their case manager at Mt Nittany. She told Deb I was her favorite instructor. That made me feel really good.

      Thanks for dropping by. I always appreciate your “visits”. How are your daughter-in-law, son and the new baby doing?

      Love you,
      Dawn

  5. Things are going very well! They took him to Philly for an eval by the doc Genny recommended, and she did not feel the tongue or chin was the problem. My DIL has stuck with it though, and he is gaining at appropriate levels. She is returning part time to her dental hygiene job soon and they have to leave him in daycare. Found a Place they like. Grammy is too far away. That will mean a bottle and that might cause issues. But she plans to persevere! I have very much loved seeing her determination in all of this. Going to get some hands on in a couple of weeks. Can’t wait to kiss his little feetsies. Thanks for your wonderful resource!! I’m so glad I mentioned it to you. I love seeing how God is using your huge knowledge base and experience! When we step up on the platform of our llife’s work and reach up, he will certainly turn us toward his destination for us. Wow!

    • At this stage of life all I have is experience and what a lifetime of it has taught me. The speed is gone, the physical stamina is waning, the mind is certainly not working up to its synaptical potential. Praise Jesus for His precious gifts at all stages of life. Chi-ching!

      Wonderful to hear about your DIL, my two are fabulous, also. The sons chose well,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

