Powerlessness Enables Full Power

At the end of one’s rope the tendency is to look up. There is nothing on earth that is helping so perhaps there is something outside of earth that can help?!

Today I read two separate Scriptures that seemed to speak to me in the same way. The first is from Isaiah 28: 26 – 29 (New Living Translation)

26 The farmer knows just what to do,
for God has given him understanding.
27 A heavy sledge is never used to thresh black cumin;
rather, it is beaten with a light stick.
A threshing wheel is never rolled on cumin;
instead, it is beaten lightly with a flail.
28 Grain for bread is easily crushed,
so he doesn’t keep on pounding it.
He threshes it under the wheels of a cart,
but he doesn’t pulverize it.
29 The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is a wonderful teacher,
and he gives the farmer great wisdom.

The second Scripture was from Psalm 81:11 – 14 (New Living Translation)

11 “But no, Dawn wouldn’t listen.
Dawn did not want me around.
12 So I let Dawn follow her own stubborn desires,
living according to her own ideas.
13 Oh, that Dawn would listen to me!
Oh, that Dawn would follow me, walking in my paths!
14 How quickly I would then subdue her enemies!
How soon my hands would be upon her foes!

For over a year I tried to make my job at the hospital work because I knew I had to work full-time so I could have health insurance because my husband has cancer and I have periodic issues necessitating medical care. I was participating in poor care-giving, unethical delivery of  care and non-professional staffing standards, but I KNEW I had to do this. God wanted me to take care of things in my family, didn’t He? NO!

I had forgotten who the Source for my daily needs is. I did not listen to the Lord when He told me to get out. I did not listen when He said He would take care of me and my husband. I did not listen. I could hear Him, but I did not listen. For the better part of a year, He never stopped trying to nudge me out. One day He spoke through those He had placed in a position of power over me. When they told me to leave, it was permanent and it was not pretty. I pray I have learned. I pray that I am listening now. He had to break me, strip me of all I thought was needed, so that I could see that all I really need is Him.

When I came across the reading in Isaiah this morning I immediately identified with the cumin. God in His mercy pressed me with a light stick. I was not up for being rolled over with a heavy stone or pulverized under the wheel of a cart. The culinary instructions for cumin crushing state that one must press lightly with the pestle and then separate the chaff with a swirling motion. This is how God “crushed” me: lightly. I did not have to fight for unemployment benefits. I had my Human Resources file corrected and was given a copy of the rectification. I was terminated one day after I would not have been able to have my retirement funds matched for the past year. In the beginning months of unemployment when the shock was the hardest to bear,  I had the support of many colleagues across the spectrum of my career. Yes, He used a light stick. I know that. (I read Dark Night of the Soul by St John of the Cross during this time so I recognized it, thank you A and Cora for the suggestion.)

In addition, He provided someone of rich spiritual depth to partner with me in the healing process and in the rebuilding of my career. I am like a young tomato plant who needs a stick to lean against till I get strength. Cherie is my stick.

Walking with Ann and really beginning to see,

Dawn

12 comments on “Powerlessness Enables Full Power

  1. Oh, you startled me with Psalm 81 there for a moment. Woke me up! Just like God has to wake us up. I sigh, thinking of how long it took and how tough He had to let things get for me to look to Him, trust Him, and see, just as you have, how He provides just what we need, if we’ll trust and follow Him! God bless!

    • Pretty effective when you put your own name in some of these verses, isn’t it? This is a “technique” of Cherie’s, my stick. She really turned me on to this when she read me some of her Bible with her name inserted. When I did it, I was really convinced…thus, the Psalm.

      Thanks for reading, Sylvia

  2. What an excellent admonition… what a kindness of the Lord.
    This is the same page I have been on in prayer… Lord help us to hear you and obey… may we not only be hearers of the Word but doers as well.
    God, the miracle worker has moved mightily in your life… so much beauty there!

  3. Wonderful testimony of Papa’s gentle correction . . . such bountiful fruit your learning to “trust and obey” has produced. This scripture comes to mind . . .”for My yoke is easy and My burden is light”. I have watched you exchange that unbearable burden of “taking care of things for my family” and settle into the yoke with Him, where He makes the way, does the heavy pulling and you are along for the ride and reveling in the adventure. Smiling at your big smile and shining eyes.

  4. I loved your Scriptures today. I’m with Sylvia on the startling effect of the Psalm and the way it speaks! Perfect! I, too, am azazed at God’s creativity in bringing us around to see things His way. Your journey has been a teaching one for all of us, believe me. I’m so glad you have Cherie. We all need one of those sticks now and then. I remember a while back someone telling me about being a mentor to a younger nephew and how afraid she was for him as he went off on his own. I related to her how my sycamore tree came with a support stick, and stayed there for several years through a few bad storms, holding up my tree, straight and tall. But then, the tree became larger and larger and stronger, and broke away from the stick, able to now stand on it’s own. I never forgot that. Sometimes we need sticks, other times we are called to BE sticks. I’m smiling, too, with Andrea Dawn! (And I like cumin!)

  5. Cora!

    How are you doing with your card ministry? I have been thinking about you and praying for favor for you. Did you get the 25 free cards from the e-bay person? Did you get some ideas from splitcoaststampers? etc etc. My mind just runs wild with all the things happening to you. I would love to have you up here with me, but, then again, I don’t know if any community could stand the kind of dust we would raise together! Ha!

    Thank you for your wonderful comments here. You always bless me.
    Dawn

    • Dawn, I got the ones I had bought from the gal on ebay, and she said she is about done making the 25 and they will be coming in a few days. They are just beautiful. I did get some wonderful ideas from the splitcoaststampers, and actually downloaded some stuff I bought there that I can print out and use. AND. . . I have a bunch of ladies scrounging up cards they have received that I can cut apart and recycle, using the pictures, fronts, etc. It’s so great to use what I love doing and know I can minister somehow. A gal in church works at a nursing home and has invited me to come there to visit with the lonely ones. I’m looking forward to that, too. Meanwhile, I’m busy using my die cutter, cutting out cards and shapes to use. I used to sell the kits with all the cut stuff — now I’m making them myself. I think I’m going to do a post and show the cards this gal made. All I have to do is add a poem inside. Thank you for all your encouragement! And yes, we would raise a lot of dust, wouldn’t we?

  6. Dawn, I have a whole box of card fronts I would be happy to send to Cora if you could connect us. I can’t throw beautiful cards away and would love to know their “fronts” are being recycled to bring joy into other hearts. Let me know if you think she could use them. Oh, and by the way, you are such an encouragement to me as I read your daily blogs and see how you are trusting more and more in the Lord for EVERY DOG GONE THING!. Good lessons for me each day. Big hug this morning.

  7. Cora,

    I think you better take pics of those cards before you give them away. There is an enthusiastic bunch of women here with passionate hearts that want to see them. We may simply combust if you don’t give us a glimpse! You see the comment above. You’d better invest in a bigger mailbox!

    This comment section just gets better and better. It’s too bad one has to post something to get this good stuff, ha!

    Dawn

Leave a Reply

