Great White Throne Judgement? I Won’t be Attending.

Last Saturday the Preacher and I attended the funeral of a “pillar” of one of our churches. I use the word “attended” descriptively because this was the first funeral of a regular church member in which my husband was not invited to participate in his 40 years of ministry. The Son-In-Law was a celebrated United Methodist minister in a neighboring state and he presided. During the funeral message he said something that shocked me. I want to write about it today because I have readers that are very well-versed in the Scriptures and I want to get your opinion about this matter. Please read on and help…

The Son-In-Law told everyone present that they would all stand one day at the Great White Throne judgement and have to give an account of everything they have ever done. I felt like standing to my feet and shouting, “I object!” I have always believed that when I accepted Jesus as my Savior my name was written in the Lamb’s Book of Life and at the day when the books were opened only those whose names were not in the Book of Life were judged. If your name was in the Book of Life, Jesus blood covered your sin and there was no record of it. There was a record of your deeds (for reward purposes), but only those deeds that were done from a pure heart. Deeds done from impure motives even if they appear good, do not count and, of necessity, disappear.

SO, I go sleuth this out on the internet. I am going to get this theology straightened out! I find, however, that there are more ways to conceptualize the judgement than I ever dreamed imaginable, and I have quite an imagination! I’m planning on doing a whole series of posts on what I’m finding. I hope you will drop by and chime in because this is really a massive maze of “stuff”. I thought dealing with medical records and people’s rights to privacy in health care was convoluted. Well, record-keeping in heaven diminishes medical record keeping down to thimble-size very quickly.

Today I just want to lay out two Scriptures:

Revelation 20:12-15

12 I saw the dead, both great and small, standing before God’s throne. And the books were opened, including the Book of Life. And the dead were judged according to what they had done, as recorded in the books. 13 The sea gave up its dead, and death and the gravegave up their dead. And all were judged according to their deeds. 14 Then death and the grave were thrown into the lake of fire. This lake of fire is the second death. 15 And anyone whose name was not found recorded in the Book of Life was thrown into the lake of fire.

John 5:22-24

22 In addition, the Father judges no one. Instead, he has given the Son absolute authority to judge, 23 so that everyone will honor the Son, just as they honor the Father. Anyone who does not honor the Son is certainly not honoring the Father who sent him. 24 “I tell you the truth, those who listen to my message and believe in God who sent me have eternal life. They will never be condemned for their sins, but they have already passed from death into life.

With these comforting words for the believer in Christ, I will close for today, but I will be picking this up again on Thursday. Please come back again. This subject demands collective wisdom and we do that so well here in the dschondog comment section.

Thankful for His grace,

Dawn

13 comments on “Great White Throne Judgement? I Won’t be Attending.

  1. So you’re off to be pensive, are you? I’m off to be weighed. It’s First Place 4 Health night at Faith Church. At least my sin has been lifted off today! Catch you later!

  2. I am so in agreement with you, Dawn! If I have to stand in judgement of my sins and give an account of them, then what was the purpose of the cross, and how is my debt paid? And I’d have to go through my Bible and cut out a lot of verses that tell me my sins are blotted out, buried in the depth of the sea, and especially the one that says He remembers them no more. How in the world could I give an accounting of something and be judged for something He cannot remember? I understand where this guy is coming from. I was brought up with these verses thrown at me in attempt to scare me into good behavior. I never knew a loving God, a forgiving God, as I grew up. He was a judge, a tormentor, a scarey God to be feared. When I learned the truth about the cross, that I stand before Him clothed in white, and that He sees me as perfect. . . that was the day my life changed. Yes, I had been saved much earlier than that. But my relationship became a loving, intimate one when I discovered Him for Who He really was. How in the world could He see me as perfect if there was still all this . . . . filth . . . . that I would have to give an account of? Sorry! It just can’t be. I do believe that the Christian will stand before Him and receive rewards for their deeds, crowns! And we might shed a few tears and be sorry that we didn’t do more, or see what we did do go up in flames as hay, wood, and stubble because it was all done in selfish motives. But to give an accounting for sin???? Put me down for a “Nay” vote on that one!

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Cora. Our beautiful, merciful, patient, loving and magnificent Lord lives in you, Dear Friend. I lean heavily on your Prairie Bible Institute studies as we go through this. I, also, appreciate the comment you made that it will do us good to review our ideas about this subject. I really love that you want to be involved in the discussion. I need you–your intellect, creativity, experience and your dear sweet heart, sold out to Jesus and radiating His love all over the place.

      Love you (to pieces),
      Dawn

  3. So much of what I embrace through faith has come from knowing God’s Word and hiding it in my heart. Added to that are those times I have had “encounters” with God. The most profound changes have come like with Paul on the way to Damascus. I was not blinded but I was embraced and encouraged and it had nothing to do with me except to be made aware as God showed me all of my life, that Christ was right beside me all the way… even before I knew Him… he was with me. When he revealed my whole life, it was not in shame, as some would have us believe, but in an amazing footage of “God behind the scenes” working all things out for good. The emphasis was not on my ‘works’, but on Christ’s working… not on my faith, but on His deliverance, not on my sin but on Him guiding my heart. As I watched my life Drama unfold I was in awe at this presence of Christ with me. He never left me and all the earthly sorrows were no longer sad. Victory reigned… my spirit soared. The woman caught in the act of adultery… the displaying of her sin had nothing to do with her but everything to do with Him who already had forgiven her. When we are before Him, we shall be changed, we shall see Him like He is and we shall readily worship Him… our eyes will be opened.
    It is God’s will that all shall be saved…
    I am the chief of sinners… if He can save me ….
    When I read in Ephesians 5 about all the things we can do so as ‘not’ to inheret the Kingdom of God… He also reminds us that we were sometimes darkness but now we are light. Romans 1:28-32 speaks about knowing the judgement of God but not walking circumspectly… always there is this pressing on to know the will of God and do it. It is because we see so dimly now that we need these reminders.
    I must remember it is no longer I that live but Christ that liveth in me and if I stand before a judgement seat I am covered in grace. It is “Him” they shall see, not me!
    For the unbeliever… do we know who that is? It is not Saul of Tarsis, God changed the heart of this chief of sinners. And like the parable of the workers that were hired the last hour and given the same wage as those that laboured long, like the parable of the prodigal son and the Father embracing him… what is too hard for our God. All of us once in darkness and now saved can be confident of this saving grace. Those still in darkness I hold much hope for. God wills that none should perish… but come unto repentance (1 Peter 3)
    The sea of fire and brimstone is prepared for death and hades….for Satan and his angels (Matthew), the beast and the false prophet and those whose names are not written in the book of life. Jesus knows who those are and that His grace, His amazing loving grace covers a multitude of sins. There is nothing too hard for our God! I will trust Him and meanwhile take heed to His Word that we might see Him more clearly…

    • What a beautiful response, and the light shining from your heart here is all beauty and grace! It made me think of that song about a man that dreamed that he had died and gone to Heaven and was standing at the gates, and the angel asked about why he should be let in, and the guy answers, “I come on the merits of Jesus,” and the gates flew open wide!” I remember as a youngster thinking I HAD to remember that answer, just in case we WERE asked that question! The longer I think about Dawn’s post, the more and more I could say. It is so good to have times of “review” like this. It solidifies our thinking so that that we will have an answer when asked. I only know, I can’t imagine having to answer for everything in my life. Makes me suicidal just thinking of it. . .!!!!!

    • Susan,

      This entry after your pensive period simply “blew me away”. I have so many thoughts about what you said and even had a complete paradigm shift. Now I am pensive. I got the idea from your comment that if Christ has us review our lives at the end that it would be a good and loving review. That’s a new idea for me. You say:

      “God showed me all of my life, that Christ was right beside me all the way… even before I knew Him… he was with me. When he revealed my whole life, it was not in shame, as some would have us believe, but in an amazing footage of “God behind the scenes” working all things out for good. etc etc”

      WOW! This was a complete about face for me thinking about a life review at the end. He WOULD be merciful and loving. He would lovingly bring me along. If a life review is in my future, I do not find it as intimidating as I did before I read your comment. By that, I mean I have foregone my thoughts of suicide, Cora, if, by my study, that looks like a possibility! lol

      You remind me, too, that I can trust Him. Yes, I know that. Why do I need reminded? It’s a good thing that He’s planned for us to live in community. I certainly need one!

      When I began to blog, I became so blessed when I began to meet women who knew the Word deeply and intimately. Susan, you lead the pack for me in that regard and suggested I get to know Andrea Dawn. Cora came over one day to make a comment on black raspberries and the rest…..is history. Thank you for all you are to me.

      Love you (with all my heart),
      Dawn

      • As I read your comment here, I thought that I, too, was amazed at Susan’s comments on a “life review.” Yet, when we think of Psalm 139 (a Psalm I had to memorize early in life in order to go to camp), God knew us intimately when?????? Long before we were even in our mother’s womb. He has known every thought, every step, every fleeing moment, every time I’ve hidden. . . Yes, He has been there and all of it just to draw me to Him. The horrible thought is, those who reject Him will have to see how much He loved them, give an account for the rejection and be separated forever from that love.

        Black raspberries!!!! Amazing how God brings people together, isn’t it????

  4. Had a very long and busy day today and I am too tired to string any thoughts together in a coherent fashion. Just want to say I enjoyed reading through the comments and replies and answers to replies and comments on answers. See what I mean, rather mixed up. Bless all you dear ladies, we will chat more about this I am sure. Night-night.

  5. Dawn, Do you remember the story I told you of Paul’s father…when he was dying and we were “allowed” to know that he was wrestling with something during the previous night? It was evident that the Lord was allowing him to view some of his past life and “gently” easing him into the kingdom of heaven…even though he had never appeared to us to be a man of God. In the end he said to my husband, “I know what it is, it’s love, it’s love.” Those words have echoed through our family and been such a witness to God’s enduring care and concern and the fact HE ultimately gives us the opportunity to review our lives, not as a punishment but as a cleansing period if we have not already done so. Does this make any sense scripturally?

  6. Dawn,

    Thank you for stopping by my little spot earlier and for the sweet invitation. I really like Susan’s analogy of the “life review” as well as Nancy’s experience. (Well…not her experience really…because it is sad to lose someone…but it’s wonderful to have a measure of peace that you’ll get to see that someone again someday).

Leave a Reply

