Meekness: Learning the Spiritual Practice of Quiet Strength

So what happened as I gave thanks through the wasteland? Practically I was giving thanks for everything. I was making lists of things I was thankful for and I was beginning to use my camera to notice things that had escaped my appreciation in the busyness of life. I was also reading biographies of those who really made a difference for the Lord in the lives of people on this earth to see what made them able to make those differences. I memorized the book of Colossians and I began to attend to prayer more diligently. I.began.to.blog.

The whole year of 2011 as I worked in the wasteland, I blogged about it. I was able to analyze my work, get community opinion for strategies to try in it and received spiritual support as my soul was stretched beyond tolerance. My blog was the only place where I could lay out my issues. I could also write until I got my thoughts together clearly before I published. Since I don’t think well on my feet, I loved being able to re-write and edit till I got it right. Not much happened to me that year because I was not listening to God. He was telling me to leave the wasteland, but I insisted I could make the wasteland work. I couldn’t, but the time was not wasted because now I KNOW I couldn’t have changed things in the wasteland, only He could. He had other plans for me.

God has me in Meekness School. The school is founded on grace and teaches its students how to practice with quiet strength. Cora of http://www.hiddenrichesinsecretplaces.com said, “”Right isn’t always right, is it? Grace always fits, even in the hard places.” The end of December 2011, I named 2012 the Year of Grace. I am just beginning to learn what that means. I have had to overcome what St John of the Cross in his book Dark Night of the Soul called the lust of wrath

If one becomes irritated at the sins of others and “keeps watch on others with a kind of uneasy zeal” and the impulse becomes so great that they reprove them angrily, this wrath needs purged. What the Lord wants is meekness

Everything was becoming increasingly wrong in the wasteland and I became increasingly irritated.  I tried to be self-controlled, but God had to remove me. On January 6, I flunked out of wasteland brainwashing and entered Meekness School. These past 5 months I have been learning how to fill my “new land” (my promised land) with good fill.

A thank list, a camera, a cyber-sphere of great friends, a loving, supportive family and the Word are reshaping the way I respond. I had all these in the wasteland, but I didn’t get it. There was so much wrong and so much injustice that I could not be quiet. I had to be removed. Overcoming the lust of wrath in a wasteland not fit for human habitation is like trying to stop drinking while tending bar. You are too enmeshed to problem solve. Once out of the wasteland, I could obey totally because there was no din.  I have learned to be quiet. In the quiet, I can hear and I wait for His prompting and seek His timing for everything. God’s will is for a person to know what is right and to use that knowledge gracefully for the good of all. Cora said it well.

So, Dear Readers, I am filling in the land. I had a word from the Lord that confirmed this to me just this morning while reading Isaiah 40

Fill in the valleys,
and level the mountains and hills.
Straighten the curves,
and smooth out the rough places.
Then the glory of the Lord will be revealed,
and all people will see it together.
The Lord has spoken!”

“We spend our brief lives any way we choose, but we can spend them only once.” ~ Moishe Rosen

From The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions by Arthur Bennett

I thank Thee for the patience that has borne with me so long,

and for the grace that now makes me willing to be Thine.

O unite me to Thyself with inseparable bonds,

that nothing may ever draw me back from Thee, my Lord, my Savior.

Walking with Him Wednesday,

Dawn

9 comments on “Meekness: Learning the Spiritual Practice of Quiet Strength

  1. Oh Dawn i feel the peace flowing… this is such a delightful and hopeful post. What a story of praise! I love your verses chosen and quotes! the photo of the winding road and golden colours is perfect! So glad I came by today and I can see the Lord is helping you to fill your ‘new land’ with good things!

  2. It’s one thing when circumstances change our position in life — whether it be our jobs,
    an illness, a loss, etc. We can go through these, forced by the flow of things beyond our control, and still not be changed — except perhaps to become hard and bitter. It’s another thing when our eyes our opened as well as our hearts, and we allow God, through our circumstances to change who we are, little by little, day by day, until we come to . . . . this place you are now, Dawn. A place of meekness. I feel the peace, too. But I also feel the strength. There is something wonderfully assuring when you are with a “meek” person. They are strong, they are confident, but it is a controlled strength and a guided confidence. And you have learned these.
    The word, “meek” isn’t used much today, and when it is, I’m afraid most people think of a doormat that everyone walks over, someone who flip-flops, a people pleaser, one with no backbone. But the original greek for the word is interesting and was only used of two people in Scripture — Moses and Jesus.

    THE WORD WAS ONCE ASSOCIATED PROMENANTLY WITH HORSES. A HORSE WAS MEEK WHEN IT WOULD TAKE TO THE BIT. WHEN THIS HAPPENED THE HORSE AND THE RIDER BECAME ONE. THE TWO OF THEM REACHED THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF SYMETRY TOGETHER.
    In this situation the horse is completely under control of the rider and perfectly collected. The two become as one. The horse is meek because he is submissive for a purpose, and as long as he is treated well. He is completely under control.
    What Jesus is saying is Happy is the person who with the Inner strength which comes from God has their life under control for they will inherit the earth.

    I love what you said about the wastelands. Sometimes it seems we think we have to stay there because at one time, we were led there of the Lord. And it was right — at that time. It’s always a struggle to know when to change and when to leave. I guess maturity, wisdom from Him, and guidance from His word all help us to accept the bit, to be led, and use our strength as He sees fit. So much to think about here, Dawn. Thank you for all of this!

    • I know so much more, now, about what is happening to me. Thanks for taking the time to pull this “mass” apart and illuminate for me each part. It really increases my faith and leaves me in awe of our Creator God. Knowing what He’s done for, and given, little old me in light of His majesty strengthens me even more. This state of being makes it easy to feel the pulse of the Father and submit to the slightest tug on the reins of my life. He probably won’t give me much power until I am domesticated more, but I am on my way.

      So much to think about here, yes!

      • Cora what a beautiful response and I love the part on meekness in regard to the horse…The horse is meek because he is submissive for a purpose, and as long as he is treated well. He is completely under control.
        May we all see the reason for our submission to a great and loving God…

  3. Again as I was reading this, I start hearing scripture . . . “trust in the LORD and feed on His faithfulness” Psalm 37:3. I opened up The Message Bible lying here on the desk and this translation is almost a perfect paraphrase of what you wrote about.

    “Open up before God, keep nothing back;
    He’ll do whatever needs to be done:
    He’ll validate your life in the clear light of day
    and stamp you with approval at high noon.

    Quiet down before God, be prayerful before Him.
    Don\t bother with those who climb the ladder,
    who elbow their way to the top.

    Bridle your anger, trash your wrath,
    cool your pipes – it only makes things worse.
    Before long the crooks will be bankrupt;
    God-investors will soon own the store.
    (Psalm 37:3-9 The Message)

    So rejoicing that you have learned to quiet down before God and that you hear Him and follow His lead as He shows you how to fill your land with good things.

    • Thank you, Andrea Dawn! This is PERFECT!

      I have committed to 5 minutes of silence before I do anything else in the morning. This morning it was 15 minutes before I was released for the day. I never thought I could be still 15 minutes! I loved Ann’s blog today, It was all about how amazing His grace is. I cried my way through the whole thing. Her circumstances were very different, but I know of what she speaks. So amazed…

  4. Susan,

    I LOVE that the horse lady loved Cora’s comment. Your experiences with horses must make what she explains so much more vivid. Holding babies, riding horses, writing poems, singing in the moonlight–how much better does it get? Not much better, Dear Friend, now on to world peace! wink!

    Dawn

Leave a Reply

