They say, “You can’t take it with you.” I say, “I can and I MUST!”

“Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever” (Dan. 12:3)

What we send ahead of us into heaven are our good works (the definition of which we discussed yesterday) and the believers we are privileged to be used of God to bring to the Son. We must take everyone we possibly can with us to heaven. We MUST! I ran into this wonderful except from C. S. Lewis about this very subject. It says it all for me:

“It may be possible for each to think too much of his own potential glory hereafter; it is hardly possible for him to think too often or too deeply about that of his neighbor. The load, or weight, or burden of my neighbor’s glory should be laid on my back, a load so heavy that only humility can carry it, and the backs of the proud will be broken. It is a serious thing to live in a society of possible gods and goddesses, to remember that the dullest and most uninteresting person you talk to may one day be a creature which, if you saw it now, you would be strongly tempted to worship, or else a horror and a corruption such as you now meet, if at all, only in a nightmare.

“All day long we are, in some degree, helping each other to one or other of these destinations. It is in the light of these overwhelming possibilities, it is with the awe and circumspection proper to them, that we should conduct all our dealings with one another, all friendships, all loves, all play, all politics. There are no ordinary people. You have never talked to a mere mortal. Nations, cultures, arts, civilizations—these are mortal, and their life is to ours as the life of a gnat. But it is immortals whom we joke with, marry, snub, and exploit- immortal horrors or everlasting splendours.” (from The Weight of Glory)

C. S. Lewis tells us the only thing that matters is that we all are restored to the wholeness God intended when He created us. Our only worthy goal is for us to participate in redemption, to be clay in the potter’s hand to bring it about for each person for He is not willing that any should perish. These are the believers’ real crowns.

Seeing more clearly these days,

Dawn

8 comments on “They say, “You can’t take it with you.” I say, “I can and I MUST!”

  1. The sentence, “All day long, we are in some degree, helping each other to one or other of these destinations,” . . . this really stuck with me the past few hours since I read your post. I was sitting here, printing out some messages to put in my cards for the people in nursing homes, and I was thinking — would this little message help the one receiving it reach the destination of Glory?

    Back in the 80’s, it seemed that there was such a turn around in Christian teaching and thought. At first I thought it was a good thing because it helped ME! It was a turn to the more “psychological” — the digging inward, what’s the matter with ME, why am I like I am, etc. It was good in the sense that it helped to settle issues that have been buried under hardened scar tissue. But it has resulted in a Christian society that is all “What about ME?” instead of “What about my neighbor?” It’s hard to think of myself as a bridge — an instrument of God’s love to be used to as a bridge to help people leave the worldly side of sin and corruption and cross over into the Heavenly realm of Christ and everlasting life. Sometimes it feels like being a door mat and being trampled on, but we are called to lay down our lives for His sake. And if I was to do that as a lifestyle, then I wouldn’t have to worry about any kind of judgement day, would I?

    This has been a great study, Dawn. May we all be able to say with Paul at the end of our lives, “I have fought a good fight, I have finished the course, I have kept the faith. . . therefore, there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness.. . “

  2. Dear Cora,

    You said it all for me in your comment and other comments through this series. We are to be like the horse tamed by the Master. We are powerful because He lives within us, but we don’t use that power (all He has given us) until He gives us the “go ahead”. Completely controlled by Him Who can see all, Him Who knows all, we can ride valiantly into the battle. There is no fear, no hesitation, no regret. We move at His bidding. This is not doormat. This is Holy Spirit meekness. I want that.

    As a very wise woman once said,
    And if I was to do that as a lifestyle, then I wouldn’t have to worry about any kind of judgement day, would I?

    That, indeed, is the point,
    Much love as you finish your cards,
    Dawn

  3. Great quotes from C.S. Lewis, Dawn. I have been slowly learning over the years of walking with the LORD that I don’t need to have all the answers and I can’t fix everybody . . . nor am I called to. I just need to listen and do what He says, acknowledge and invite Him into all my doings and trust His Spirit to work in me, through me to touch those around me. Too many times in my younger years my “yes” to someone was born out of a need to please and not God’s directive.

  4. I chuckled when you said you can’t fix anybody. How well I know. I can’t even get myself in order most of the time, nor am I called to, as Susan reminded me
    “It is God who works in you both to will and to do of His good pleasure.” Philippians 2:13 I know that is a bit simplistic. There is a lot here, but listening, trusting and obeying are the ways to go. I am learning every day.

  5. I love C.S. Lewis – thanks for sharing this gem from him. I try to ask myself the question, “Does this matter in the sceme of all eternity?” As Lewis said, “You have never talked to a mere mortal.” People must be a priority, because they will either be eterally with God or eternally separated from Him.

    • Ann was making us think about living on earth when we are citizens of heaven. We must always live with eternity’s values in view. I think CS Lewis said it well.

      Thanks for your visit!

Leave a Reply

