Are we letting the rocks do it?

37 When he came near the place where the road goes down the Mount of Olives, the whole crowd of disciples began joyfully to praise God in loud voices for all the miracles they had seen:

38 “Blessed is the king who comes in the name of the Lord!”

“Peace in heaven and glory in the highest!”

39 Some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to Jesus, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples!”

40 “I tell you,” he replied, “if they keep quiet, the stones will cry out.” Luke 19:37-40

The past two weeks I have been reading John 8. In that chapter there are two “stone” victums. The first is quite familiar. Jesus is teaching in the synagogue and a woman is brought into the temple area accused of adultery. The Pharisees ask what should be done to the woman and Jesus gives His famous answer, “He who is without sin, cast the first stone.” After everyone has dropped his stones, the Master Teacher Jesus continues his “chat” with the Pharisees.

Having lost the argument concerning justice for the adulterous woman, the Pharisees keep pestering Jesus. After a sequence of questions, the Pharisees deem Jesus demon-possessed and proceed to pick up the very stones they had just released from their hands that they hadn’t used against the adulterous woman. This time their target was Jesus.

Innocent bystanders, these rocks? Jesus seems to indicate they are not. If we, His servants, aren’t crying out the message, will He have to breathe life into the rocks like He did the dust to get us going? And, perhaps even more importantly, if we are not crying out the message of God’s glory through Christ, are we the same as the Pharisees standing around with stones in our hands? If we are not for the message are we against the message?

Still pondering here and crying out joyfully that He is my Rock!

Dawn

6 comments on “Are we letting the rocks do it?

  1. Dear Dawn . . . this is what I find myself shouting out multiple times a day . . . at home, in the car, etc. We sing this at my church and I often wake up hearing it in my spirit.

    You are Good
    Brian Johnson, Jeremy Riddle Bethel Music Publishing c 2010
    ccli:5191806

    I want to scream it out
    From every mountain top

    Your goodness knows no bounds
    Your goodness never stops
    Your mercy follows me
    Your kindness fills my life
    Your Love amazes me

    I sing because You are good
    And I dance because You are good
    And I shout because You are good
    You are good to me to me

    Nothing and no one comes
    Anywhere close to You
    The earth and oceans deep
    Only reflect this truth
    And in my darkest night
    You shine as bright as day
    Your Love amazes me

    With a cry of praise my heart will proclaim
    You are good You are good
    In the Sun or rain my life celebrates
    You are good You are good
    With a cry of praise my heart will proclaim
    You are good You are good
    In the Sun or rain my life celebrates
    You are good You are good

    You can listen here (it’s a little rocky at first)

    Hope you are blessed by it.

  2. you know me on, you know I’ve thought about this – I think about how the molecules are swimming around in everything that seems so solid – nothing is solid – and how our Lord, without ever having read a physics book, he knew this – and I think the swirling quarks and protons and electrons, they sing a kind of praise that we can’t hear – yet. But he could – the universe sings praise – we just can’t see it like our Lord did… Yet. It’s good to read again – although it’s really hard to force myself to stay “here and now” it’s good to read Christian friends – thank you for bearing with me – God bless and keep you each and every one of yours Dawn.

    • He is. It is so good to have you join with me as I think about all He is to those of us who love Him…frankly, I think about all He is to everyone.

      That the world may know Him as Immanuel,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

