If you won’t give this up, I will take it away from you

I knew that the Temple of God in Jerusalem had been destroyed twice and that a new temple is being planned for rebuilding as I type this and that there is a school to teach the new generation of Jewish young people how to sacrifice again. What I didn’t know is that God had the temple destroyed because the people saw it as a place to go to have their sins forgiven so that they could go right back out to sin again. They saw the Temple as their source, not a heart-felt life change, as a place to wash up to go out into the filth again.

14 So just as I destroyed Shiloh, I will now destroy this Temple that bears my name, this Temple that you trust in for help, this place that I gave to you and your ancestors. 15 And I will send you out of my sight into exile, just as I did your relatives, the people of Israel. Jeremiah 7:14-15

Whoa, He had to get rid of the place that was throwing the people off-course. He had to eliminate the symbol of cleansing so that the people could get the cleansing principle into their hearts! Wow! This really spoke to me. January this year God had to get rid of my job so that I would have to depend on Him as my source. As long as I had my job, I was not listening to Him. I would make excuses, “Not right now, God, I have to do this. Not right now, God, you know I have to work. No, you couldn’t mean this, God, you know I need this money. You know I must have insurance.” Yada, yada! Well, since I wouldn’t leave, He had me removed, but in His great and tender mercies, He had also prepared, ahead of time, for my needs and the needs of my family to be met. That is the heart of my Father. Since then, I have been privileged to lead many down-sized families on the path to total dependence on God. Last night my husband and I were sitting around a table with just such a family. I leave a copy of Reflections from one thousand gifts: Finding Joy in What Really Matters for each family. It is innocent enough to leave on their tables and ask them to read a page a day for comfort knowing that after I leave it will cause an explosion in their lives if they read it. This was in my e-mail box today from the couple who received their copy last night:

Thank you for our new homework we read the book last night like kids with a new reader!

I say all this to make a point: My job was my temple. Once my job was removed, I could really hear God. If memory serves me right, once the Temple was removed and the people were held captive in Babylon, they began to hear God again. In the stillness of your time alone with God today, ask Him if there is something in your life keeping you from hearing Him. If He points something out, get rid of it. He’ll get it eventually, anyway! I know!

In this with you,

Dawn

2 comments on “If you won’t give this up, I will take it away from you

  1. Great post!
    My “self-sufficiency” was my temple! So you can guess what a state of abject over-my-head helplessness in self He had to put me in! A “momentary” nightmare, and hard lessons after that sometimes, but how different my approach to life has been ever since then. And oh, the incredible experiences of His provision, just when I needed… whatever, just like you. That’s our God! Tough when He has to be, but that too is sooo good!

    • Oh, Sylvia, I know self-sufficiency well, too. I hope to know it less and less without losing the sense of stepping up to the plate when I really should.

      Bless you,
      Dawn

Leave a Reply

