All means all

John 16:7-11 (Jesus speaking)

If I don’t leave, the Friend [Holy Spirit] won’t come. But if I go, I’ll send him to you.8-11 “When he comes, he’ll expose the error of the godless world’s view of sin, righteousness, and judgment: He’ll show them that their refusal to believe in me is their basic sin; that righteousness comes from above, where I am with the Father, out of their sight and control; that judgment takes place as the ruler of this godless world is brought to trial and convicted.

As the world becomes increasingly irrational, as right becomes wrong and bad is made to sound good, a Christian can become very confused. “What in the world is happening?” we may cry out. Jesus told us that the Holy Spirit will expose error, show people that their refusal to believe is sin and judge the godless world. As the Holy Spirit presses in on the perversions of the world and they have to face their perversity they will attack those filled with the Holy Spirit. Jesus promised this. Those of us who live by the Spirit ought not be surprised. Jesus said, “All who live Godly in Christ Jesus will suffer persecution.’ 2 Timothy 3:12

All means all.

The Good News is that He promises to walk with us “through the valley of the shadow of death” and comfort us there Psalm 23. We will be able to bear up under persecution because He will be with us in the measure we need. Romans 12:3 He will not give us more than we can bear.I Corinthians 10:13 We must be ready for the battle each and every day.  Make sure you have your Ephesians 6 armor on! You never know when you are going to need it. Rachael (above) was working at a drive-thru window when she needed hers. Thank you, Rachael, for the shining example!

8 comments on “All means all

  1. Deacon Morris Smith this past Sunday at the Church of the Resurrection, as part of his homily, told us that, “There is no greater nakedness than not being clothed in Christ Jesus.” He said that in reference to Matthew 25 and his mission at the Shepherd of the Streets, but I couldn’t help but think of it when I read this post. I was taking notes during his homily, as I do when a homily is particularly helpful, which is why I was able to quote verbatim. Watching the video, I also thought of the upcoming Life Chain and how there will be some who will drive by and make less than kind gestures at those of us who are prayerfully and peacefully taking a stance on the Golden Strip on October 7th. Yes, He did say ALL – and I am happy to be included in the ALL for ALL that He has done for me and for ALL of us who have accepted Him!

    • Being clothed with Christ entails wearing armor. Without it, we are naked. It takes some doing to get armor on and keep it on, but it is so worth it when we are under attack. I am reminded to put forth the effort to be fully dressed. I want to be in the Word and fervent in prayer so that I am clothed with Christ.

      Alleluia,
      Dawn

  2. Rachael was a shining example! As I listened to the news last night, I thought of your Good News above. We will need to know our scripture to encourage people. We will need to be clothed in the armor of Jesus Christ. Lord help us to forget about our fears in the troubled times ahead… and to be encouragers for others struggling to see a light. Clothe us in the armor of your Word and help us to be Rachaels at the windows of other peoples reactions.

    • Dear Carrie,

      In response to your comment “Lord help us to forget about our fears in the troubled times ahead…” I just want to share with you what a missionary friend of mine in Belize, Central America (who is in the midst of a land issue) wrote to me just today

      Since I was a baby Christian (1971) I felt like the Lord showed me that one day I would have the great honor of being a martyr for Him. It seemed very unlikely until the world started tipping over in the last few years. I didn’t doubt it, I just didn’t see how it would/could happen in the kinder world we all lived in. I will be honored to give my life (and death) for the Lord as a martyr. I tell Him a lot when I pray for protection. Lord, I don’t mind being persecuted or killed for You but not over a stupid land issue! Ha

      Karol, like you, Carrie, comment in the midst of prayer. Living while praying: a trait I would do well to emulate,
      Dawn

      • Thanks for sharing this, Dawn. Martyrdom was never on my bucket list. But then, God has put me many placer that weren’t on “my” bucket list. May it all be for God… and not over anything stupid.

  3. Thank you, Carrie! I wish that you could be here, too! When I think about martyrdom, I think about dying to self as well. We give up ourselves to be more like Christ. Yes, I would give my life physically for Christ. But, I also need to give my life spiritually. Of course, when I am outspoken, I take a fair amount of criticism (some of it from my own family – I am too “self-righteous” – so I need to work on the presentation), but Jesus said that we would not be popular! Suit up, sisters, and march into the fray! We have the Lord – what more could we need! “The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom do I fear? The Lord is my life’s refuge; of whom am I afraid?…” Psalm 27

Leave a Reply

