The great debate

So I’m sitting here this morning typing as the President and Mitt Romney are holed away studying foreign policy for the final presidential debate on Monday. Note that I am wearing red and blue with my white hair. On my left lapel is my “I pray for America” pin and I have my proverbial crease in my brow. It is the result of years of intensity, mulling over everything, striving and hounding and then today during my devotions with the Love of My Life these words were set before me over and over again.

First and foremost from the Scriptures:

The King of Babylon had a dream that terrorized him. He demanded that the wise men not only tell him what the dream meant but what the dream was. If they could not they would be killed. Daniel heard about the King’s demands and verse 16 of Daniel 2 tells us “Daniel went at once to see the king and requested more time so he could tell the king what the dream meant. Then Daniel went home and told his friends…and urged them to ask the God of heaven to show them his mercy by telling them the secret…That night the secret was revealed to Daniel in a vision. Then Daniel praised the God of heaven

He said,

“Praise the name of God forever and ever,
for he has all wisdom and power.
21 He controls the course of world events;
he removes kings and sets up other kings.
He gives wisdom to the wise
and knowledge to the scholars.
22 He reveals deep and mysterious things
and knows what lies hidden in darkness,
though he is surrounded by light.
23 I thank and praise you, God of my ancestors,
for you have given me wisdom and strength.
You have told me what we asked of you
and revealed to us what the king demanded.”  (Daniel 2:20-23, NLT)

Ah, yes, no matter who is president, Jesus is King. Ken Davis in his book Fully Alive says that rather than concentrating on what we desire, it would be better to concentrate on the One who is the author and perfecter of our faith.

Finally, the Preacher and I closed our morning devotions with prayer from The Valley of Vision

Lord Jesus,

I am blind, be Thou my light,

ignorant, be Thou my wisdom,

self-willed, be Thou my mind.

And so, Dear Readers, I begin my weekend focused aright, but you know how I am. Like James 1:24 “[I] see [my]self, walk away, and forget what [I] look like.” James continues as if he is speaking right to me in verse 26

But if you keep looking steadily into God’s perfect law–the law that sets you free–and if you do what it says and don’t forget what you heard, then God will bless you for doing it.

Well, I’m going out the doors to have a day with my two sisters. I am the oldest. Right now I am focused on Jesus and see myself aright. May the Lord, in His mercy, be with me all the day long.

Focusing on Jesus,

Dawn

5 comments on “The great debate

  1. Love this truth, Dawn . . . He IS in control. As I read your last sentence I remembered the last thing I read before sleep last night. “The earth, O LORD, is full of Your mercy; teach me Your statutes. Ps. 119:64

Leave a Reply

