Simple Thanks

I cannot believe it is Friday. I feel like my young-mother-friend Andrea with her brood of 3 all under the age of 6. She sometimes posts her ‘thank-you’s’ on Tuesday with the Multitudes on Monday. I truly understand why, having had 4 of my own. Well, Dear Friends, I have no children in the home any longer and I am posting my gratitude on Friday. I want you to know, however, that I have been thankful ALL week. We had Hurricane Sandy bearing down on us and each and every little thing I pondered seemed to beckon, ‘be thankful’!

I work in an Information Referral Center which is the hub of a Home Health and Hospice service that covers 13 counties in my state. It is huge and so when Hurricane Sandy was headed right for us, we had to think about all our patients on oxygen and using electric beds, chairs, lifts and how to move them if they were in an evacuation area. We had to think about heat and water and light and medicine and and and… I marveled at my agency. All the administrators worked around the clock. They gave us their home phone numbers and personal cell numbers so we could reach them if we needed them. They staffed us very well and manned areas that needed shoring up themselves.  This  Monday I think back on the past week and I am truly thankful for

#870 Vickie’s constant smile and encouragement as she worked in the cubicle next to mine.

#871 Maxine’s calm, steady leadership.

#872 all the field nurses’ patience and willingness to go the second mile.

#873 the ancient words of the saints of God as I prepared for my shift of service.

“If anyone would tell you the shortest, surest way to all happiness
and all perfection, he must tell you to
make a rule to yourself to thank and praise God for everything
that happens to you.

It is certain that whatever seeming calamity happens to you,
if you thank and praise God for it,
you turn it into a blessing.

If you could work miracles,
therefore, you could not do more for yourself
than by this thankful spirit.

It heals and turns all that it touches into happiness.”

~ William Law, A Serious Call to a Devout and Holy Life

#874 offers of generators, refrigerator space, beds and more for our patients should the power go off.

#875 freedom from pain while I work.

#876 loving dog groomers who clipped my frightened little hospice dog and would not take any money for the clipping because he wasn’t groomed to their liking. They lovingly kept clipping away while he nipped at them in his terror.

#877 my children who called to see if mom and dad were ok in spite of the fact that they were more near the surge of the storm than we were.

#878 all of us are safe and sound and able to help others.

#879 good friends

I will continue on Monday. The grandchildren are coming tomorrow. It will be so good to see their wiggling, energetic bodies running all over the countryside here. #880 for the running.

Blessings,

Dawn

6 comments on “Simple Thanks

  1. Wow, lovely post. No wonder you’re tired! We in our houses don’t think about all that’s involved in safeguarding scattered patients in time of danger like that. Thanks for sharing.

    And you discovered a gem from William Law, and from his Devout Life book! He really says it wisely and beautifully about the blessing of giving thanks, doesn’t he?

    • I lifted that from Ann Voskamp. She really speaks to my heart many times and places just the right words from the classics in front of me. I am so happy they blessed you, too.

      Hugs!

  2. Dear Dawn . . . I didn’t face the same situations you did this week, but I echo your “cannot believe it’s Friday”. I have had this big grin on my face since Wednesday . . . the day Jesus came to work. When I was introduced to the new warehouseman, Jesus (hay-soos), I just knew that He was speaking to me. “I am here with you, everyday. So thankful for the many ways He showed Himself to you this week and that you and yours are safe and sound.

    • Andrea Dawn,

      He truly is with us – every day. I had a young man named Angel (hain-gel, hard g sound) who worked as a janitor in my building when I was a teacher. He truly was. I believed he watched over me personally, but he did the same for everyone. He was, well, angelic! Have a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

