What type person are you?

So I’m sitting here on Thanksgiving Day, for the first time in 42 years, not having to make a dinner or entertain. I have pieces to 135 Christmas cards in various stages of preparation and a couple of phone calls to make, but I have a whole day at my disposal to do what I want to do, at my own pace. I decide to watch the M. Night Shyamalan movie Signs. I have a copy of it and I remembered I liked it so much that I wanted a copy, but I really couldn’t remember clearly why. Here is the clip that reminded me why.

I am in the group that believes that whatever happens there is Someone there to help me and believing that gives me hope. It is what I am most thankful for on this Thanksgiving Day 2012.

oh, and I am thankful I am not a turkey, too!

Blessings,

Dawn

11 comments on “What type person are you?

  1. I have never heard of this movie Dawn… thanks for sharing this little bit of it!
    Indeed there is such a feeling of peace knowing Someone is watching out for us… no coincidences… all in a Master plan. One day our Heavenly vision will make clear all the reasons and our hearts will simply overflow in gratitude to the Lamb who was slain, who lives and keeps us, to share eternity with Him.
    We have had much wind a few days ago and my good ear started hurting( I am deaf in the other). Today is a Ladie’s tea day, always a house bustling with joyous busyness but all were called elsewhere with appointments and I lay down for a rest at 10:00 AM to wait if others should show up (I had been up and about the farm since 6:00 AM) and I only now awoke 2:30 PM. I feel totally renewed~ a marvelous God gift from He who orders our days! I was so blessed to see you had a day off to choose something special to do … mine was a siesta, which I seldom ever do!

    • Dear Susan,

      As I type Sebastian is lying by me under my arm. What a precious gift of God at the end of a blessed day! I will try to type without disturbing him. Manoj Night Shyamalan was my son’s friend before he hit it big with his movie “Sixth Sense” starring Bruce Willis. Once he made millions in the film industry he used my son to build a communications system and home theater in his home in Philadelphia. I went with my son when he was doing the design. The house was as big as an elementary school in suburbia. Anyway, I have followed this young man’s career for several reasons: he’s a friend of my son’s, he followed his dream to make films even under great criticism from his family, and he makes good, meaningful, thoughtful films. His films are always thrillers and full of suspense so I really have to be in the mood for that genre to watch one, but, if I am, I am never disappointed.

      Signs is A War of the Worlds of sorts, but more multi-faceted. The war inside the father in the family is as prominent as the alien invasion. Oh, and just to let you know…the Indian man who has a very minor role in the movie is Shyamalan. He cameos in all his films. If you watch it, let me know what you think.

      I’m so glad you had a siesta. I love that whole concept. It would suit me!

  2. I never heard of this movie either, Dawn. Now I REALLY want to see it. It is no coincidence that you shared this today. It was only this week that I had the opportunity to tell someone of my own “hope.” That God is El Elyon, the Most High God in charge of ALL things. That nothing happens to me as His child except that it first is filtered through God’s fingers of love. That everything that comes and goes in my life has a definite purpose — to conform me more and more into His image. And lastly, that I am to to use it all to comfort others in the same way that He has comforted me.

    I’ve been taught a lot of things in life, heard a lot of messages, read a lot of books. But I find as I get older, there are certain principles and truths I hang on to with every fiber of my being. That “Someone” is watching out for me is one of those things. Thank you for that beautiful reminder.

    I loved that you are doing just what you want to do today. I had my big bird meal yesterday —- just because I felt like it. Today was a day to relax and again, do what I felt like doing. Hope you got your cards all done. Wish I could have been there to see what you are doing and see your creative juices at work!!!!!

    • Dear Cora,

      You shared about El Elyon and His place in your life. I sat across from a Vietnam-era vet when Russ and I went to a church in our city for Thanksgiving dinner at noon. He was saying how he was happy the church walls hadn’t fallen in on him when he came in (meaning he didn’t go to church usually). I was able to share about the grace of God and how He loves us. I told Him that’s why I was there–because of grace. I hope it was an encouragement to him.

      The church was REALLY beautifully decorated and the food was out of this world. Not cooking was a true gift. They even had a man playing the piano while we dined. I knew him and we had a great time reminiscing.

      y cards are about 75% complete, but I ran out of adhesive. I’ll probably finish them on Saturday. We are decorating our church for Christmas Saturday evening. We call it hanging of the greens. We have a meal, crafts for the kids and adult decorating. Hopefully one of my sons’ families will be here. ~heavenly!

  3. Is it possible that there are ever ANY coincidences? That is the question. (Since He knows even the numbers of hairs on our heads.)

    So glad you had a restful and productive day. So much to be thankful for. I am filled with awe.

  4. Dear Dawn:
    I am a big fan of M. Night Shyamalan’s work . . . so full of symbolism and deeply thought-provoking. Enjoyed seeing this clip again and glad you were able to get some time to just be and do something just for fun. Happy, happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

