The beginning of thanksgiving?

I stopped and looked long and hard as I read Genesis 4:26

And to Seth, to him also there was born a son and he called his name Enosh: THEN MEN BEGAN TO CALL UPON THE NAME OF THE LORD.

And then when I read Genesis 5:3, it names Seth as if he were Adam’s first son

and Adam live a hundred and thirty years, and begot a son in his own likeness; after his image and called his name Seth.

I never saw the implications of these verses before and so I surfed the Internet to see what learned servants of the Living God said about them. There was certainly a lot of commentary, but the gist of it all was that Seth replaced the godly Abel in the family of Adam and Eve, and through Seth God brought the redemption of the human race. It occurred to me that this might even feel a bit like a foreshadowing of the redemption plan that was perfected by Mary, Joseph and Jesus. I did say just “a bit”. R C Sproul says

Seth means “appointed,” and Eve knows this son has been ordained by her Creator to take the place of faithful Abel.

Verse 26, where the birth of Enosh and the start of true worship occur almost simultaneously, confirms her intuition. Abel previously offered true sacrifices (v. 4b), but with Seth’s sons this devotion becomes widespread. Moreover, the word translated here as “call” also means proclaim, and so verse 26 refers to men testifying about God to each other. True piety enters the fallen world through Seth’s family. http://www.ligonier.org/learn/devotionals/birth-seth/

So, in the true spirit of Seth, I call upon the name of the Lord and I give Him thanks

#949 for  the arbitrators who made the decision that my husband’s medications would be paid through his medical  insurance.

#950 that the Lord is good when He gives, when He takes away, when the sun shines on me and when the night gathers around me.

#951 that He loved me before the foundation of the world.

#952 that in love He redeemed my soul.

#953 that He used this year of grace to work on my hard heart.

#954 that His goodness has been with me all the year through.

#955 that He leads me, like Abraham, to places I do not know, and once there walks with me through the twisting wilderness.

#956 when retreating He helps me to advance.

#957 when beaten back, He makes sure headway.

#958 because, based on experience, I know He will be with me in the year ahead.

#959 while hoisting the sail and drawing up the anchors of my life, I have Him as the blessed Pilot of my future as He has been of my past.

#960 that He has veiled my eyes to what lies ahead.

#961 that He continues to bear with me to meet the appointed times of tribulation with grace.

#962 for past tempests of persecution and temptation. I have learned that I will not drown. He won’t let me.

#963 that I know when I die I will see Him.

#964 for grace to face ease or pain, acceptance or rejection, comfort or trial: all to the glory of God.

My thank-you list today was an adaptation of a prayer called ‘Year’s End’ found in The Valley of Vision: A  Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions by Arthur Bennett.

Walking with Ann’s community over at A Holy Experience today,

Dawn

7 comments on “The beginning of thanksgiving?

  1. “Jesus, Saviour, pilot me, over life’s tempestuous seas” . . . I have hummed this more than a few times in the last while. And such a gift that what lies ahead is shrouded in mystery . . . knowing only that He is good, only, always good.

Leave a Reply

