Trust determines thrust

This week at Multitudes on Monday with Ann Voskamp I have had lessons in trust. Trust is just so basic to the Christian life that, I think, God takes us back to the trust primer from time to time just to keep us ‘on our toes’ so to speak. One of my favorite verses in the Bible is Romans 8:38

And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.

Well, I have been called according to His purpose because I have received Christ as my personal Saviour. The Life Application Study Bible says that good does not mean comfort or happiness, but it means that [believers] trust in God, not life’s treasures; they look for their security in heaven, not on earth; they learn to accept, not resent, pain and persecution because God is with them.

This week I have been reminded of this and I thank Him for continuing to let me in on the special way He ministers to each one of us. I am thankful

#1061 God allowed me to introduce two beloved [non-related] sisters in the Lord. They have the same genetic eye disease and now they support one another in the journey.

#1063 I got a job for my sister’s friend at a local urgi-care center about 6 months ago. Now my old family doctor is there and we are all encouraging him and his partner to set up their own private practice. And…by the way, when I need good care now, I know where to go! Gina is now trying to get a nurse just fired from the hospital a job there as an RN. Go figure. It is just so FUN to watch all this unfold.

#1064 I got the names of two children from the Ravine [tented housing along a garbage dump in Port au Prince, Haiti] to support. Christian Light School of Haiti feeds them every day, getting them ready nutritionally and spiritually to attend the school when they are old enough. I couldn’t believe their names. They are twins: Emanuel and Emanuella! How appropriate that I should have them in this my year, Emmanuel.

IMG_0016

#1065 my six-month evaluation is coming up at my work and they say I have absolutely nothing to worry about.

#1066 my wonderful friend, Barb, enters her pictures in photo contests and all her winnings go to the Haitian school. She won first place this year!

raccoon

#1067 my family got a $6000.00 tax refund this year. Our income is the same as it was before I lost my job because my husband is retired and on disability now. His salary as a quarter-time pastor is still under the minimum needed to exempt him from taxes and I got unemployment for 9 months last year. Everything we paid in quarterly we get back. This is truly a gift. Now that I get insurance through my work, we no longer have to pay over a thousand dollars a month for insurance, either. We feel like we’ve won the lottery.

#1068 that I was able to hear a nurse I worked with at St Anthony’s Free Medical clinic on Wednesday tell a student nurse who was shadowing her the vision the hospital has for creating a new work ethic. “If we could just get rid of all the old nurses and start fresh, it would be so much easier.” I wish I had had that on tape, but I was able to reassure her that she’d have her wish soon enough because they were systematically taking care of that “old” problem.

#1069 I was asked to set up a Facebook page for the Lycoming-Clinton Breastfeeding Coalition. I had to decline, but I was able to give them a contact that is super good with such technical things and they are all set. Such energy, I remember it well.

#1070 I have met some of the most inspirational writers I have ever know through this community. I made 4 greeting cards today and used the work of both Cora Eelman and Susan VanDijk.

#1071 I saw this commercial and now I am dreaming. My next car? I love how they advertised this. “No thanks, Devil, I can do this on my own.” I’d only add “because of Jesus.”

Thrust is a reaction force. It is invisible, but you can feel it. It is the power you feel when you are the passenger in a car and the driver suddenly stops. You are forced forward. The thrust pulls you forward or pushes you horizontally if you round a corner fast. Trust determines a Christian’s thrust. Well-trained and with the armor of God (Ephesians 6:11-18) in place like a plane has rudders and curved wings and a car has seat belts, we can stay balanced–react in a way that is pleasing to the Lord and in a way that keeps us on the right path.  Without trust, James says, we waver. James says that one who wavers “will not receive anything from the Lord. A double-minded man is unstable in all his ways” 1:7,8.

This past week has strengthened my trust and as I begin a new week, I know He is with me no matter where I am thrust,

Dawn

8 comments on “Trust determines thrust

  1. No matter where I am thrust….He is with me… a great comfort as I head out to meet the night, to rest in Him, lift all my beloveds, meditate deep on all His love Words to me today.
    Your twins have me smiling big! I know these were hand picked for you from our Abba Father. For me, the little boy Shoshanna has welcomed into her home this year with her mother, is named Mario EMMANUEL.
    Smiling double here. God has a great heart and sense of humour.
    All my love dear friend!
    We are indeed blessed!

  2. Wow! What a lot of beautiful “coincidences”! Blessings, blessings, blessings! And what good thoughts and words about trust and thrust. Wonderful post. Wonderful, wonderful Lord!

  3. Emanuel and Emanuella in your year of Emanual? Signs everywhere! He speaks to us from every advantage! Lord, help us to see you everywhere!

    What IS that raccoon eating?? NO! Don’t tell me! I loathe the food chain! But without the agony and terror of it, life could not be nourished and replenished. And then 1062 and 1068 catch my eye. Another kind of cycle. It fills me with some of the same revulsion as the food chain. The pain. The massive control to the end. The lack of feeling for the victim. No honor.. Just snatch out of existence and toss down the bones. Pondering the food chain and the employment chain with regard to changing work ethics. Hmmmm….

    We will be ” thrust!” May God increase our “trust.”

    • Sue Lingg’s husband’s funeral today was a testimony to the leadership of the past. It was so completely awe-inspiring–and, for me, such a contrast to the work world that I had been involved in. Strange that it was in the same exact place where she had led just a couple of years before. What a radical change leadership can make. Your link of the raccoon with the [now absent] #1062 was really amazing to me. So appropriate!

      Dawn

  4. The highlight here for me Dawn, is your “God with us” twins . . . how precious they are and such a tangible reminder of your word and focus for the year. So much to be thankful for here.

  5. Dearest Dawn…. I’ve been unable to comment because of technical problems BUT your blog comes to my phone via e-mail every time you post and you’ll never know how you’ve blessed me these past 3 months…. from hospital to nursing home for rehab to hospital to nursing home finally home and through almost 50 days of intense IV therapy. And trust. How important it has been. How grateful I am for your openness, your honesty, your love of our Savior. Thank you !!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Liz,

      You have been through so much. I am so sorry. I bet you will have lots to share as you ponder back over those 50 days and ruminate on the truths confirmed and promises made real in the midst of trial. I am so glad you figured out a way to leave a comment and let me know that you are still out there and are home. God bless you, Liz. You are an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

