Prescription for fatigue: Waiting on the Lord

Yesterday I told you how tired I was and how I had so many things to do. Here was my Scripture for Bible Study this morning, Isaiah 40:

28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The Lord is an eternal God,
the Creator of the whole earth.
He does not get tired or weary;
there is no limit to his wisdom.
29 He gives strength to those who are tired;
to the ones who lack power, he gives renewed energy.
30 Even youths get tired and weary;
even strong young men clumsily stumble.
31 But those who wait for the Lord’s help find renewed strength;
they rise up as if they had eagles’ wings,
they run without growing weary,
they walk without getting tired.

Here is my prayer for this morning:

Teach me that I must act by a power supernatural.

whereby I can attempt things above my strength,

and bear evils beyond my strength,

acting for Christ in all,

and have His superior power to help me.

From The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions by Arthur Bennett, p. 185

He is with us no matter where we are,

Dawn

4 comments on “Prescription for fatigue: Waiting on the Lord

    • The whole movie is like that. This is a true story about Allied Forces captured in WW 2 and forced to build a bridge to move supplies for the Japanese in Burma. A physician friend of mine was mentored to Christ by one of the survivors in this film. He was the chaplain at Princeton at the time.

  1. “Strength to those who are tired” and the ability to love and minister in the face of deep darkness. Tremendously moving clip from the movie . . . have you seen the whole film, Dawn? I watched the trailer (a different clip) and it looks so very powerful.

    • I have a copy of it that I can borrow anytime I want from my physician friend (see the note to Susan). I have had it on my wish list for a long time over at Amazon. Someday someone will notice it and I will have my own copy at my fingertips. It is extremely powerful. It has some really tough scenes in it. The end is the ultimate, though. They didn’t have to show what actually happened. It was enough that it was insinuated.

Leave a Reply

