What does it mean to grow in grace?

In I Peter 3:18 we are instructed to grow in grace: to be more full of God’s live-giving power and more familiar with His ways. Titus 2 tells us how:

11 For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation to all people. 12 It trains us to reject godless ways and worldly desires and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age, 13 as we wait for the happy fulfillment of our hope in the glorious appearing of our great God and Savior, Jesus Christ. 14 He gave himself for us to set us free from every kind of lawlessness and to purify for himself a people who are truly his, who are eager to do good.

I think that about sums it up: growing_in_grace_together_by_unsoundtransient

Reject godless ways and worldly desires

Live self-controlled, upright and godly

Wait for the glorious appearing of Jesus, our great God and Savior

He freed us from every kind of lawlessness and purified us for Himself so we are

Eager to do good

He is with us both to will and to do His good pleasure (Philippians 2:13),

Dawn

One comment on “What does it mean to grow in grace?

  1. and whatever state we are in … to do the good pleasure of the Lord. Sometimes I think it was easier to serve God being unmarried but I know that in the state I am in, married, it is harder to serve myself (selfishly) because I am in a position to always be serving those around me. I have more opportunity to learn patience, longsuffering, kindness…. and on and on in my married state.
    I sense His abundant grace moment by moment … His chisel works on 🙂 in love

Leave a Reply

